We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico to your Saves list
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   109 Ave. Universidad, San Juan 00926, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

It is a good place. A great variety of food is near the place. The service is excellent and the rooms are great: room, kitchen, and a small living-dinner room. **Thursday night it is a really noisy place.**

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    42
    17
    6
    10
See reviews for
25
39
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is the best value in San Juan. The room had a separate bedroom and living area and a decent bathroom. The living area had a small dining table, a refrigerator, a microwave, and a sink, along with a bench for seating. The bedroom had a small flat panel television with many cable TV channels (TNT, TBS, ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN, many others, but no ESPN). The bedroom also has an air conditioner that works well. It cools the entire place fairly quickly.

The staff are the nicest people in the world and were very helpful to me. All of the staff I encountered spoke perfect English.

The area is fun. It is very near San Juan University Rio Piedras, which is very large and has many students, so nearby are food and drinks and other things students want. Actually, attached to the hotel downstairs was my favorite spot for a beer and a bit of food. It is a sport bar and grill that has Medalla beer for $1.25 and $2 chicken pinchos (look them up - they are more like a brochette, or a skewered grilled chicken). They always have ESPN and other sports on, which makes not having ESPN in the room not a big deal.

There is a Walgreen's pharmacy maybe 200 meters away that is open until 10 each night. There is also several restaurants (many Puerto Rican, many chain - Quiznos, Subway, Denny's) within walking distance.

Parking is in a secured, small church parking lot directly across the street. It is open in the day, but the gate closes at night. The hotel worker can open it for you.

I had a car, so I used the hotel as a home base to explore San Juan and many other parts of the island (Fajardo, Naguabo, Juncos, and others). I didn't have a GPS, but managed. I would recommend a GPS, though, and will get one if I return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Went with friends. Stayed here for two days. Totally value for money. Decent room with AC, microwave, water, shower, parking and wifi. Staff were very friendly. They recommended what all we should do while we were there. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

i was flying in nov 2 shortly after the storm sandy, there were flight problems in philadelphia so i never made it to the hotel i also knew there was no refund because of such a late date but the hotel tried to offer me a different night if i was there but i was taking a cruise and didn't have any other nights planned, but i thought it was fair of the hotel to try to make it work and since the price was not that expensive it made it easier to accept the loss, if i go back to puerto rico i will definitely look at booking at that hotel again

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

A comfortable, secure place to stay, with very friendly and helpful owners and staff. Secure parking is across the street. This is not a street where you expect to find a hotel, so pay attention to the address!

The wi-fi didn't work well in the bedroom, but it was fine in the kitchen/living room. It is completely different from staying in, for example, Condado. It is located a short walk from the main entrance to the University, and also is near the walking street with the mercado. And it is only two miles from the airport. There are lots of local transportation options.

The only downside for us was a lot of nightclub noise on Thursday night. But for any other night, a good choice if you want a different perspective on Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Good Value for Money..........very central location, restaurants and Walgreens nearby....not far from Las Plazas de Ameicas...Staff very helpful and the surroundings are safe....would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The staff are very friendly and hotel was very clean. The area was a little off. If I was younger it would have been better. The area is very entertainment oriented with many clubs nearby that play music into the wee hours of the morning. Not great for sleep.

The nightly rate was very fair with trade offs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico

Address: 109 Ave. Universidad, San Juan 00926, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem for the budget traveler. Centrally located in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Not in the touristic area.Very clean, comfortable and recently renovated rooms. Nearby Int'l Airport, University of Puerto Rico, Plaza las Americas Shopping Center, VA Hospital, Paseo de Diego, Piers. Old San Juan and Puerto Rico Convention are 4 miles away from us. Exceptionally warm, friendly and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.