We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verde Mesa

Verde Mesa
#107 Calle Tetuan | Corner San Jose, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
7873904662
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 578 restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Organic farm veggies and market fish arrive daily. Our main attraction is the chef's crew production which changes daily according to availability. Organic wine list and Botanical Bar. No reservations. Limited seating.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely and Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had dinner there on my first night in San Juan. It was a lovely experience. The interior was deco red with antique French furnitures. The girl waitress who served my table always had a smile and was super nice. Everything on the menu was healthy and made from fresh local food, they were very unique and creatively designed. I ordered the swordfish dish from the daily special menu and their top berry dessert. It was so fresh and delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    158
    26
    11
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millburn, New Jersey
1 review
“Best meal we had in Puerto Rico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

There were 7 of us - and it was refreshing to find this slightly out of the main tourist area restaurant with absolutely exceptional cuisine. Everyone had a great meal - start to finish including the drinks. We even reordered two of the appetizers for the table that were so incredible - the scallops and the ceviche. It is a small restaurant so go early or even wait if you have to. Definitely worth it! Ambience was eclectic, fun and casual.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enchanting, creative and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

In San Juan for Christmas week with a list of the best restaurants from several sources. Verde Mesa tops them all in every way: creative and unique in both ambience and menu. I loved it from the moment we stepped inside through to the amazing mango tarte at the end of our evening. There are too many delicious food choices to list here, but suffice it to say that we are eager to return for at least one more visit before we leave. The wait staff is charming and friendly, the wine list is wonderful, the food is beautifully prepared and delicious. Our fish entrées were fresh and cooked to perfection. We come from Charleston, SC, and are used to top notch cuisine. We found Verde Mesa to be our all-time favorite. Now that is saying a lot! Kudos to chef and staff.
Julia and Tomás
Charleston, SC

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A shining star of a restaurant in a vast area of commercial run of the tourist mill food store.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

The sign on the door clearly posts the hours and "no reservation policy". Since the restaurant is adjacent to a little park, I suggest getting there 15 to 20 minutes before opening and getting on line.
Once inside enjoy the bright, cheerful and cleaver decor.
All of the tables and chairs are different and the eclectic mix only adds to the sense of joy in this restaurant.
The staff was welcoming, knowledgable and very helpful. The regular menu would have been enough but the special menu was a great treat.
We started with a lively bruccetta of Kalama ta oluves, mango, cranberry and machado cheese. We also had magnificent scallops and vegan lentil soup. Entrees of salmon over greens were cooked to perfection over farm to table fresh vegetables. Tuna and red snapper were also ordered and we're perfectly cooked and presented. We ended our meal with pineapple crumble, a mango tart and gluten free rice flour cookies that were just delicious.

We have been a bit disappointed in our food choices this trip to Puerto Rico. This restaurant changed all that in one meal. We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fresh, Creative Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Best dinner we had in San Juan PR. After eating some boring meals we were ready for them to bring out the creative cuisine, and they did! Each bite was bursting with flavor and freshness.

Location, decor and service are all eclectic but charming.

Highly recommend at least one meal at this refined place for refined taste buds.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verde Mesa also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Verde Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verde Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.