We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Ave. Condado, San Juan 00908, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I chose this place because of the price and decent reviews and am happy with my decision. Check in was easy, however I was not able to get an ocean view the first night due to being overbooked, even though I reserved it weeks before. But they gave me a pretty good discount for the inconvenience of having to move rooms after the first night, so no big deal. The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout the stay. I will say that the partial ocean view really wasn't worth it. There was only a small view between buildings and I actually like the regular room better.

The room was a basic Best Western room, which was fine with me. Decent size and was clean. I was worried about the loud music from outside after reading some reviews. There was some loud bass at times, but it never bothered me and I was only on the 6th floor. Housekeeping wasn't super great about keeping things stocked in the room, but minutes after calling the front desk, they brought what we needed.

The breakfast was not all that great, but pretty much what I expected from a free breakfast. Toast and breads, eggs, bacon, pancakes, juice. Good enough to get the day started.

The pool was shaded when I went, so it was colder than what I wanted, but I personally don't care much about the pool so it wasn't a big deal to me. Those that like to sunbathe would probably have to go to the beach to do that.

The $0.75 bus ride to Old San Juan was easy. Kind of a long wait to get back, but better than $15 cab ride.

Good selection of restaurants nearby, so you really don't need a rental car unless leaving Condado and OSJ. I had a rental car the whole time, but wish I had gotten one just for one day to go to El Yunque rain forest and just walked or taken the bus the rest of the time.

Having the Walgreens right across the street was great. It was nice to get bottled water and other items and only have to cross the street.

The gym was pretty decent and never anyone in it. There are a few treadmills, bicycle, dumbbells and a machine. Good enough to maintain while on vacation. If you are a body builder, then you probably won't like it.

The drinks at the bar were really good, and at a decent price, especially during happy hour. The coconut martini was great. There weren't many people in the bar each time we went though.

If you want to be right on the beach, then consider another property, but if you are okay with a one block walk and don't want to spend a fortune, this place is great. I would stay here again next time for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    223
    81
    36
    15
See reviews for
137
212
33
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LaGrange, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Nice, roomy but the toilet stools are very low to the floor. People were very helpful and gracious. Good continental breakfast. Close to the beach, if interested. Several restaurants nearby. A Walgreens across the street, selling almost anything you might want. We found you can even get a prescription through the Walgreen system, in an emergency.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondadoPalm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hola Carolyn F,
Thank you for staying with us prior to going on your cruise. I was happy to read that you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast, and that our staff was helpful with restaurant recommendations. As you mention we are only 2 minutes from the beach and we have a 24-hours Walgreens just across the street. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bbramsen@condadopalm.com if I can be of any further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
General Manager
bbramsen@condadopalm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were taking a cruise out of San Juan and decided to stay a couple of days before the cruise and a day after. We booked into this hotel and it offered an excellent stay for us all. The location was close to dining, entertainment and taxis or location transportation. It was a $20 cab ride to either the airport or the cruise port.
The hotel was clean and the staff went out of their way to make sure that their guests were happy. We did have a faulty air conditioning unit in our room, but the service department were prompt on their repair. The front desk offered a few free drinks in their lounge as compensation for the minimal disruption.
A minor downside is that because of the hotel's location, the street noise could be heard well into the night. But we would book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Upper floors with partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondadoPalm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hola TorontoChip,
Thank you for your kind review. I was thrilled to read that enjoyed the hotel and the close proximity to restaurants and Old San Juan. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your A/C, but I am happy that our maintenance staff were quick to fix it to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guests. Please feel free to contact me directly at bbramsen@condadopalm.com and I will be happy to assist you with any future reservations.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
General Manager
bbramsen@condadopalm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I liked this hotel very much. Very clean. We stayed on the 11th floor, it had a partial view on the ocean. 1 short block away from a nice beach. We were getting beach towels at the hotel, but had to pay extra at the beach to rent a beach chair and umbrella (later we stopped paying for an umbrella because of a shade from a building close to the ocean). The receptionists at the hotel gave us good recommendations for local restaurants close by and helped us book a trip to luminous waters (by the way, it was not impressive in comparison to the luminous lagoon in Jamaica and the ride was too long). The toiletries at the hotel are organics (for people who care, but I really do not). Also I liked that they serve coffee and tea even past breakfast time. I wish they had a coffee maker in the room, but they do not. However, other things such as fridge, safe, iron, microwave, hair dryer, big flat screen TV, music player are all available in the room. There is no DVD player, but good TV channels make up for it. I used the gym, it is clean and had everything I needed. The swimming pool is kinda small, but I am not a pool person anyway. As I read from other people's reviews, there is Walgreens across the street where you can find homeless persons :( Overall, it was affordable and very good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Best Western on Condado and we enjoyed our stay. The location of the hotel is actually pretty great, right in the heart of Condado and two minutes away from the beach. We were lucky enough to stay on the 14th floor with a great view of the beach and San Juan.
Condado is a pretty happening place with lots of restaurants and bars and generally speaking the area feels very safe, even at night.
The breakfast at the hotel is not bad either. It has everything you need and apparently the menu changes every day which is great if you staying for a longer time.
There's a bar at the hotel as well. It's kind of small, but it has a nice intimate atmosphere and friendly staff. Overall, the hotel staff was also very helpful and friendly.
I would recommend the Best Western. Especially if you want to go out in the evening as there are lots of cool places and a casino within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights and we had a great time. The beach is only steps away from the hotel and our room had a nice view. The room was very well decorated and the beds vey comfortable. Breakfast was includded and was really good with bacon, eggs, fruits, etc. There is a pool in the hotel, free internet and also computers available next to the lobby. Although there is no restaurant in the hotel, there is a bar with happy hour and nice atmosphere and it is plenty of affordable restarunants in the area. The people from the reception was really nice and helpful and they gave us good advise about excursions and they also provided us with beach towels. It seems they are comfortable with one guest at a time, but if you come in the rush hour there might be some delays so don't expect to solve anything in a second. The people there take every guest very serious and they take their time to make sure that everything is done.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights during Valentine's week. This hotel was an unexpected surprise! The beach was only steps away from the hotel. I didn't expect to have ocean views, but from my 12th floor room the ocean vistas are really amazing. Nice restaurants and shops within walking distance. I enjoyed the hotel's free breakfast buffet which had everything from scrambled eggs, yogurt, to pancakes. The hotel decorated my room, per my boyfriend's request for Valentine's day, rose petals dropped on the floor and bed, and swan towels. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean. There is a nice fitness and business center located on the 1st floor. There is also a small bar that serves nice tropical drinks also located on the 1st floor. It was a great hotel and I will definitely come back for another stay in the future.

Room Tip: Oceanview suite above the 12th floor can view the ocean at affordable price. There is a street belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites

Address: 55 Ave. Condado, San Juan 00908, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#8 Business Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites – a modern hotel nestled in one of the most exclusive areas of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Peaceful, affordable and just steps away from a powdery-white beach, we pride ourselves on providing the best value at the best location. Our 151 rooms and suites feature contemporary decor and an array of convenient services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Palace Hotel And Casino
Diamond Palace Hotel Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.