We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip Puerto Rican Cuisine.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Jaquita Baya

La Jaquita Baya
Ave. Fernandez Juncos Esquina c/ Estado #801 Miramar, San Juan 00927, Puerto Rico
+1 787-993-5359
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 639 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking
Description: We focus on reviving forgotten dishes from our delicious puertorrican gastronomic culture. We sponsor "lo nuestro" You should do it too. Eat local, Eat fresh!
Saint Cloud, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hip Puerto Rican Cuisine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The menu for this restaurant offers a mix of Puerto Rican food accents. Plate presentation fabulous. Definitely not kid friendly, but great for an adult dining experience. It's a tapas menu, so don't come in hungry, unless you are ready to order a lot of plates and pay a lot of money. Unique wine menu. Loved the classy atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    29
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plattsubrgh
1 review
“Do not miss this hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic. A splendid blend of bold new ventures, right-at-home treatment and tradition! We ordered pasteles off menu and they leapt at the opportunity to please by satisfying our requests. If in PR this place is a must-stop on your itinerary.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“2 lovely evenings here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We visited Jaquita Baya on two consecutive nights during a brief visit to San Juan. It is indeed a very local spot and not easy to find, but the neighborhood is fairly upscale and safe (when your taxi driver drops you off, get his number so you can call him to pick you up). Our first dinner was wonderful...great conch ceviche, a very nice steak which was HUGE, a white fish entree served atop a plantain and root vegetable puree, and the best mojitos we've had. Second evening we sat at the bar for quite a while (the bartender is a love) and had a nice dinner, but less impressive than the first night. The service here is very friendly, very helpful, and accommodated my gluten allergy very mindfully. Menu is in spanish but they will translate it all for you. YUM, recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connellsville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stopped here for dinner on a Saturday evening without reservation and the manager was able to juggle seating arrangements to make room for our party of 8. Service was incredibly friendly; our server was able to answer all of our questions and offer very personalized suggestions. Despite being a busy evening, our server was very attentive.

The food itself was visually appealing and presented well; everything tasted great. The drinks were also very good. I loved their sugar cane sangria, as a matter of fact, the best sangria I've ever had!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Expensive, small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We ate here in April 2012. The portions were very small, and price too high for small portions. I ordered the calamari because it was a dish others liked in their reviews, but I thought it was pretty bad, overseasoned and overcooked. The fish had good flavors but very small portions. Drinks were expensive. Atmosphere was ok, restaurant is small. It needs improvement. I rather would eat a Cubano Sandwich or Paella or Caldo Gallego in Casa De Espana, en Isla Verde.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Jaquita Baya also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Jaquita Baya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jaquita Baya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.