We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit bar in Old San Juan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nono's

Nono's
100 Calle San Sebastian, San Juan, Puerto Rico
+1 787 725 7819
Improve this listing
Ranked #258 of 626 Restaurants in San Juan
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The oldest bar in Old San Juan.
Panama
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A must visit bar in Old San Juan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nonos is one bar worth visiting. With a very well stocked bar and charming ambiance, it is located in front of a park and is vibrant with conversation and good music.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Perfect Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

If you're any kind of fan of the Old Caribbean (Hemingway, Key West, Havana) this place is a must. Architecturally--there. Other than the television, it could be 1926. Awesome. Bartender knows the difference between a Rum-and-Coke and a Cuba Libre. Double awesome. The beer is cold.

Located amongst many other bars and restaurants on Calle San Sebastian, this is a great place to people watch in Old San Juan; this bar is almost a reason in itself to come to Old San Juan.

On my list of Top 100 Bars of the World.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“Had a horrible experience.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The service was terrible, mojitos had hair inside, and the price was outrageous. Bums entered the bar and started to beg for money, horrible experience, also there were bugs in the place, it was disgusting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to refresh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

After a hot afternoon of walking up and down the cobblestone streets of old San Juan, Nono's appeared like an oasis in the desert. Nothing special about the place--it's just a bar--but the location is great, across from a little plaza where on this Sunday a mini-symphony orchestra was giving a show. Despite being on duty alone, the bartender took pity on us and let us order some snax from the restaurant next door, which we ate @ the while the Spurs/Mavericks game played on the TV. And the snax were amazing. Sometimes a good bartender is all you need to make a difference.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gause, TX
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nothing Special, But Good Place to Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

My wife and I stopped here for a late lunch. We went to the bar first, but wanted lunch so were directed to go next door to the restaurant part of the place. We were met promptly and seated. The waitress was very friendly and helpful. We had mofongo and trifongo. Both were good and are good examples of local foods.

Our food came without much delay and the portions were large. They were well prepared and we enjoyed both of them. The dining area was well lit and decorated. We were pleased that we ate there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nono's also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Nono's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nono's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.