We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santaella

Santaella
219 Calle Canals | La Placita de Santurce, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
787-725-1611
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 628 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, International, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: La Placita de Santurce
Transit: Stop #19. Bus lines: A5, B21, M3, B16
Description: Chef Santaella transforms what used to be his catering workshop into an architectural acclaimed space committed to offer a menu full of flavor using many local ingredients sourced fresh from a farmer’s market only feet away. The space is one full of history where green, brown and wood tones décor the place. An interior garden full of native plants and trees such as papaya and ornamental bananas serves as the focal point of the main dining room. Offering a 75-seat dining room and a a 16-seat bar designed for guests to eat in, Santaella celebrates the roots of the island's comida criolla, and incorporates techniques, flavors and fusions from around the world into its food.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

My first visit but certainly not the last one! Since the moment we arrived they greeted us with a warm welcome. Food was great, although if you do not like very seasoned plate combinations maybe you will find that particular plate just a bit over-seasoned ( filet mignon w/ parmesan potatoes, truffle oil) for me was great! We ate three appetizers: 1. quesadillas and 2. orzo risotto *favorites and the 3. cheese empanadillas were good! Dessert super delicious: nutella sandwich, although is just 2 breads w/ Nutella it was out of this world, the waiter told us it had a secret!! The other one was a dark chocolate cake w/ coconut ice cream delicious too! Alejandro our waiter was very attentive and nice, he even step out of the restaurant when we were leaving to say good night and provide us a fond farewell! Good job, Alejandro! Definitely, we will return! Very expensive, but worth it!! :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We look forward to having you back here for some more Nutella Sandwich. Maybe you can decipher the secret! ¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    46
    12
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Everything all around was beyond words. Juan Carlos our waiter was great and really helped with describing all the amazing food choices. Would eat here everyday if I could.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We look forward to having you back here at Santaella. ¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I, invited another couple, to this excellent and trendy restaurant in Santurce. From the appetizers all the way to the mouth watering desserts, everything was delicious, well prepared and presented. The restaurant is very nicely decorated and the service was outstanding. The empanadas, croquetas and malanga fritters were scrumptious. My hubbie and his friend, ordered the arroz con pollo, a special of the day, our friend's wife ordered the mesclum salad with salmon and I had the shrimp with garlic and mofongo. All were to die for...nicely presented and executed. The desserts were the piece the resistance...I am still savoring the nutella sandwich and the bizcochuelo. Of course, the flan (custard) was a favorite of some.
The restaurant offers valet parking, which we found useful. The background music was conducive to conversation and a complement to the fine food. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We're glad you had such a great experience. We look forward to having you back. ¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good-deserving at least one visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

First, make sure you take a cab, do not try to walk even if you are close. The area is not great. Secondly, if you are wanting a lot of food, you won't find it here. You will find great presentation, good but limited menu, would suggest tapas rather than an entree so you get more variety.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. Since your visit we've greatly expanded the menu and look forward to having you back. ¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I made reservations on June 7th the restaurant was packed, we waited for about 15 minutes at the Bar, we had the most amazing mojitos ever, after 15 mins the waiter showed us our table. I ordered the most amazing lamb shank!! It was seasoned to perfection my wife ordered Los clarinets al ajillo and it was also amazing!!! Service was great and the ambiance was really good to.. I will defintely go again!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We look forward to having you back for some more Mojitos. ¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santaella also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Santaella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santaella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.