We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food very pricey.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Lola Criollo Kitchen

Casa Lola Criollo Kitchen
1006 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
787-998-2918
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 578 restaurants in San Juan
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Fort Stockton, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food very pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We ate here with our two children. The atmosphere was nice. The bar area was very nicely done. The lights are dim and its a more calm place to eat. Nice casual attire is fine. There are no smaller meals for children. So our two shared a plate of chicken and rice. They weren't impressed. I had mofongo and beef. It was a beautiful dish. The flavors were rich, savoury, and sweat. I liked the dish but it was a bit too rich for my taste. It was difficult to finish without sips of water. My husband had the cornish hen. He enjoyed it. We also had an app and two drinks. Both were good but nothing special. The price was the only real disapointment. We often eat at establishments in this price range, so it wasn't sticker shock. It just thought the food we ate cheaper elsewhere was better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    245
    141
    49
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, NH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing experience! A must while in Puerto Rico!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just finished dinner at Casa Lola and had to write a review immediately! First off, our waiters Mario (and Pedro - can't recall if i got his name correctly) was excellent; he made the dining experience truly fantastic! He recommended all phenomenal choices, which included the House Sangria which had tamarind and the Mofongo with three types of meat, both of which were delicious. The rice and beans with the Casa Lola hot sauce was to die for! After dinner my husband and I were completely stuffed but could not pass on dessert, I got the creme brulee trio and my husband got the fried bread pudding - both the best we have ever had (Note: I am extremely particular about creme brulee and have a high standard for quality). Woukd definitely recommend saving room for dessert!

Casa Lola was phenomenal and I would highly recommend to anyone who wants amazing food and a great dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best meals, period”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife, son and I went to this restaurant twice on a recent vacation. Twice because the first visit was so fantastic. Between us, my wife is a veggie no fish, so eating out is always a challenge for her
The standard vegetable plate or pasta and vegetables just does not cut it at most restaurants. Its lazy

Her only success tends to be Indian

Quote about Casa Lola Vegetarian Mofungo
Wife-This is the nicest Vegetarian Entree ever
Me-Over Indian
Wife-Yes

White Sangrai good
My son (15 and promised to try new things ) and I also had the Apetizer Beef carpachio.....yummy

Hope to see you again in 2014

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Authentic Puerto Rican cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Pricier than some of the other restaurants along Ashford Avenue, but well worth it. Darkish, romantic, beautiful view of the water, also good for large groups. Full of locals-- which shows the food is authentic and delicious. The menu has all sorts of delights with a Puerto Rican spin. We especially enjoyed the filet mignon on garlic bread, with local veggies and seasonings, and the creme brulee trio. One of the two best meals we had on the island (the other was at "311," a French place in Old San Juan.) Come here!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lola esta buena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We ate last saturday at Casa Lola in Condado in San Juan-----the food was good and the place is nice --the Sangria was excellent----the only drawback is the prices are high----the bill for my wife and I with the tip was about $146.00

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Lola Criollo Kitchen also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Casa Lola Criollo Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Lola Criollo Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.