We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel nice, breakfast not so nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciqala Luxury Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ciqala Luxury Suites to your Saves list
Ciqala Luxury Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   752 Manuel Fernandez Juncos Ave. | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
O Fallon,Il
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hotel nice, breakfast not so nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Ciqala for one night prior to a cruise. The hotel was nice, we were in a queen room, nice décor and amenities. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom very nice. We had the opportunity to go see one of the bigger suites and were surprised at the size. The only issue we had was after we ordered breakfast, we waited 45 minutes, never got it, and were told they lost our order, we never did eat as we had to leave to meet someone else for sightseeing. Other people we met from the cruise, told us the waffles they got for breakfast seemed to be the frozen type and just heated up. It was a quiet, residential type neighborhood, and it was a quiet area. About the same cab fee as going to the Condado area.

As far as comfort and room size and amenities, yes, I could recommend it, but not for the breakfast service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Scott K,

Thanks so much for taking of your busy time to share your experience with us. We glad to read that you were happy with your accommodation and that you were able to see one of our Presidential Suites. In regards to your breakfast experience, we truly apologize for that inconvenience. Our breakfast in freshly made every morning upon request, it is the first time we read a comment like this about our waffles.

We encourage you to honor us with your visit again and provide you the opportunity to serve you as well as to make sure your stay is a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Once again, thanks for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    63
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
55
109
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

-Friendly and helpful staff
-Clean and modern rooms
-3 bedroom suite is very spacious
-Free breakfast and dinner on certain nights was nice
-Comfy beds
-Free parking
-Reasonably prices for the food, drinks and alcohol stocked in the fridge

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear TommyHaley,

Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your experience in this review. We appreciate your selection of hotel during your visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico. We are glad that our staff exceeded your expectations and that you were able to enjoy of all services that we have added to enhance our guests experience.

We look forward to see you again soon at your home away from home here in Puerto Rico. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archdale, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We did a ton of research before choosing this hotel. This hotel was perfect for us and the type of vacation we planned. First of all, we rented a car because we wanted to see the island (they have FREE parking). If we wanted to lay around by the pool or the beach, we would have stayed at a resort. Some people go to just spend all their time in Old San Juan, which is wonderful, but you need to stay in a hotel there. Our room was beautiful! We had a 1 bedroom presidential suite that was 1300 square feet! This is a great place to stay for a group of couples or a family with adult children.
Every morning they have a complimentary made to order breakfast. Michael and his interns were wonderful and truly a big highlight of our trip. After breakfast everyday we would then go down to the front desk and Glenn would print out maps for us. We already knew where we were going for the day and Glenn provided supplementary information. She is wonderful and another huge asset to Ciqala. Just to let you know how much we travelled, we went to: Ponce, Old San Juan, Guavate, Arecibo, the caverns, El Yunque, Luquillo, and Fajardo (we stayed 6 nights there). We used our iPhones as the GPS in our car and it worked really well.
We were only able to attend one of the dinners and it was pretty good. I cannot attest to the cocktail hour because we were too busy seeing the island and eating with the locals.
I saw that some people had some concern with the location and walking, etc. We liked that it was in a residential area, it was quieter and less burdened with tourist traffic. Puerto Rico is a beautiful country but it's not a first world country like the U.S., Canada, or the U.K. So, I think that maybe some of these reviews are from people that have not travelled outside the U.S. much or they are just used to resort only vacations.
Lisa is the manager and fixed any issues we had from the inoperable tv remote in our room to the printer being out of ink on the SP floor. Lisa, Glenn, and Michael are fantastic! You should visit them, they will make you feel welcome and cared for.
Bottom line: stay here, see the island, park for free, start the day off with a great breakfast, and sleep in comfortable luxury!

Room Tip: Get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear TravellingFoodie77,

Thanks so much for choosing our hotel as the place to stay during your visit to Puerto Rico and for taking of your precious time to share your experience in this review. It is truly an honor for us to read that our hotel was just perfect for your vacation and exactly what you planned, we are also glad to read that you were amazed by our spacious Suite. We are glad to read that our Glen and Michael exceeded your expectations by delivering an excellent service as part of our commitment. We always work that extra mile to make sure our guests experience is the best.

We are glad that you were able to enjoy breakfast and dinner with us. It is also great to read about our Manager Lisa and our staff being able to assist with our guests needs. We are happy to read that you were able to explore within our location and see that it is a safe and quite area. You really had what we call the best vacation experience ever as you were also able to explore other areas outside San Juan.

We look forward to welcome you back home in a very near future. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Cyqala Suites (3 nights) for the last part of our trip, which included Luquillo beach and the island of Culebra. The hotel is located in the Miramar area, not too far from the action offer by Old San Juan but without the hassle of the cruise ships. The rooms are exquisite if you opt for a suite; however, the standard rooms are okay but on the small side. Breakfast and nightly happy hour are included in the rate. In addition,two nights a week, dinner is provided free of charge. The employees are polite, welcoming and very professional. I would definitely return to the Cyqala Suites.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear CesarJimenez,

We appreciate your hotel selection during your visit to our island. It was an honor to have you as our guests. We are so glad to read that you were able to stay at other areas of the island, Luquillo and Culebra are very beautiful. It is a pleasure to read that you also had the opportunity to enjoy all services that we have included on our rates to enhance our guests experience. Miramar is part of San Juan, it is the second historic zone and it is at only minutes to Old San Juan and it’s attractions.

We are truly honored to read that you will visit us again and we strongly look forward to continue welcoming you back home on your next visits. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We loved our experience. We had a Studio apartment. Parents if you want privacy, get an upgrade. It was plenty of sleeping room for us. But considering it was a studio. There wasn't any mommy daddy private fun times. Walmart is walking distance. But do not walk at night. Eat at Los Pinos it was great and inexpensive. It's walking distance as well. Better area than the Walmart. Don't take taxi, take city bus to Old San Juan. Only 75 cent and easy to find your way. Breakfast at Ciqala was the best!!!! Jorge, Glen, Sebastian and the manager (don't know her name) were all very helpful. We caught courtesy taxi to beach. But a pool would have made this place like ice cream with a cherry on top. I would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Nottoday-People,

Thanks so much for choosing our hotel as the place to stay during your visit to our beautiful island. You are absolutely right about your comment in regards to the mommy and daddy private fun time as this unit only has a black out drape which is basically a curtain. For couples traveling with children we strongly recommend our Two Bedroom Deluxe Suites or our Presidential Suites as they have separated rooms for more privacy. The bus ride is 75 cents to the Isla Verde area as well so you can enjoy the full experience of our local area in a cost effective way. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as breakfast. Thanks so much for your suggestions in regards to a swimming pool, that is a detail that we have under serious considerations for the future.

It is always to read about our staff exceeding our guests expectations, we always work the extra mile to make sure our guests have a memorable experience. We truly look forward to continue welcoming you back at your home in Puerto Rico on your next visits. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeoville, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Be prepared for a "not what you expected" Puerto Rico if this your first visit. Ciqala itself is a aesthetically beautiful place but it is not in the nicest part of town. PR is still in a deep recession so the hotel is surrounded by abandoned homes and store fronts. We felt safe but had to catch a cab or walk for at least 15 minuets to get to a nice restaurant (Casita Mirarmar, MUY BUENA). We were advised by locals not to go two blocks to the right to walk at night. Shopping or beach had to catch a cab (average $15 one way trip). Not complaining but it would have been nice to be aware of that before we booked this hotel. The front desk staff was nice, need some training on phone etiquette though. Made to order breakfast and cooking staff were AWESOME. They really were the highlight and made it worth the stay. Dinner and cocktail night very basic. No cocktails just beer and wine, which was fine they just need to be more honest in their advertising. Cleaning staff left much to be desired. On some days we would leave around 11 am after eating breakfast not return until 3 or 4 and our rooms were still not cleaned. When they did clean it wasn't a thorough job at all. I had hair in my shower that did NOT belong to myself or my husband for at least 2 days until I complained. They do a quick wipe thru of the suite NOT a full cleaning. Thank goodness we aren't messy people. All in all it was worth the money we paid but they should drop the word "Luxury" from their name and change it to "Very Comfortable" Home Suites. I think it is a great place for families, but if your looking for luxury, pampering and/or atmosphere it is NOT the place for you.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suite was very nice and comfortable for 2 couples. Stayed on second floor. Vey quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Ceata L,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico. It is so sad for us to read your review as we recall providing you the same services to you as we normally with all of our guests and we even went beyond by providing you arrangements with your transportation from the airport. As stated on our services descriptions we do provide transportation to/from the Condado Beach, all guests need to schedule this service the day before as explained upon check in. Our housekeeping staff provide their services on a daily basis from 8:00 am – 5:00 pm floor by floor until the end of the day. Our location Miramar is the second historic zone in San Juan and as part of our history, all buildings are kept as original and under constant restoration as required; it is safe to walk around within our location due to our local police constantly monitors the area.

We look forward to have the honor to serve you on your next visit to Puerto Rico. Once again, thanks for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

In a residential area, however close to Condado and Old San Juan. Free parking at the suites. Service was friendly and suites were very spacious. Would return and stay in this area. Convenient store next door. Breakfast was plentiful. If you need a pool for the children this is not the place for you; however a shuttle service to the beach can be utilized.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Maratin416,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience in this review. We are glad to read that you were able to enjoy your stay with us as well as services included to enhance our guests experience. In regards to our location, Miramar is the second historic zone in San Juan. For more information about our location, we invite you to view the video created and shared on our website by clicking on the YouTube icon.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests, we look forward to continue welcoming you back home on your next visit to Puerto Rico. Once again, thanks for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ciqala Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciqala Luxury Suites

Address: 752 Manuel Fernandez Juncos Ave. | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ciqala Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Rooms – One queen size bed, microwave oven, small refrigerator, coffee maker withComplimentary coffee, HDTV and private bathroom.One Bedroom Suites – One king size bed in master bedroom, microwave oven,small refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, HDTV and private bathroom with jaded tub.Two Bedrooms Suites - One king size bed in master bedroom, one full size bed in second bedroom,microwave oven, small refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, HDTV and 2private bathrooms with jaded tub in master bathroom.One Bedroom Presidential Suite – One king size bed, living room, fully equipped kitchen (microwave oven, stove, large refrigerator, cookware and cutleries), dining area, HDTV and private bathroom with jaded tub and HDTV.Two Bedroom Presidential Suite - One king size bed in master bedroom and 1 queen size bed in room additional room, living room, fully equipped kitchen (microwave oven, stove, large refrigerator, cookware and cutleries), dining area, HDTV and two private bathrooms with jaded tub in master bathroom.Three Bedrooms Suites - One king size bed in master bedroom and 1 queen size bed in each roomadditional room, living room, fully equipped kitchen (microwave oven, stove, large refrigerator, cookware and cutleries), dining area, HDTV and two private bathrooms with jaded tub in master bathroom.All suites include daily full Breakfast, Native Puerto Rican dinner every Tuesdays and Thursdays, access to our fitness room, wireless high speed internet and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ciqala Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciqala Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciqala Luxury Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.