We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciqala Luxury Suites

Save Saved
You added Ciqala Luxury Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ciqala Luxury Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   752 Manuel Fernandez Juncos Ave. | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 Nights Special Offer!
Ranked #3 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Alexandria, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The staff was great. They were very helpful. The breakfast was above average. Room was great and clean. The only downside is the area. We went for a walk and were a little concerned about the area. It wasn't so terrible that I would say don't stay at this hotel because of it. Just be aware.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Karina,

Thanks so much for your time taken to share your review with us in this channel. We are very happy to read once again that we continue to exceed our guest’s expectations, that you loved the breakfast with us as well as our staff delivering the best service. In regards to our area, Miramar is the second historic zone in San Juan, the building are under continues maintenance but they are kept in their original structures as part of our history.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to have you as our guests on your next visits to our enchanted island. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
The Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    46
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
80
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Phenomenal customer service, employees take pride in making their guest feel special and accommodated. Quiet at night, amazing complimentary breakfast. The suite made us feel like we were back at home for it was our honeymoon away from our children. The only downfall is that there is not a swimming pool and that the location seemed as if it were in an area of property. Taxi cab was with in reasonable price range and were at your service within 5 minutes of calling them. Bus fare was also reasonable (.50¢) if you are a walker like my husband and I, the walk to old San Juan took about 45 mins but we got to see a lot in the area. Old san Juan was beautiful. The jacuzzi was a great addition once we got back to the room from our walk back. The kitchen had all the cooking supplies and utensils. The room was very clean and well put together. And I would highly recommend the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Shanaedr,

Thanks so much for your review, we appreciate taking of your precious time to share your experience with us and other travelers looking for a place to stay in our enchanted island. We are honored to read that you loved your room and about that our staff exceeded your expectations as it is our main goal to make our guests to feel at home and pampered at all the time. We are also glad to read that you were able to explore around our location as well as your nice walk to Old San Juan. Miramar is the second historic zone in San Juan, yes we are located within minutes from the main attractions as well as we don’t have a swimming pool and this is why we include the transportation to/from the beach to all guests.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to have you as our guests on your next visits to our enchanted island. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
The Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Husband and I were on our honeymoon. Ciqala is close to downtown and vegetarian restaurants in Hato Rey. Christina, Ricardo, Lola and Daniel and others Im unable to name were friendly and the service was wonderful. Get the Presidential Suite if you can- it has all amenities and feels like home away from home. Jacuzzi, Marble floors, wifi, and full kitchen with snacks in the fridge. Met one of the owners - Lisa who made sure our experience was perfect. Concierge gave us tips about biking in Old San Juan, ziplining in El Yunque, laundry service, local restaurants, dancing, and traveling to Culebra. And free breakfast made to order each morning. This place is a gem and a great value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Jessica H,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to Puerto Rico, it was an honor to have you and your husband as our guests. It was very delightful to read your review about how you enjoyed your stay with us, our guests exceeding your expectations as well as that you were able to enjoy of all services added to your stay. We also hope you enjoyed your chosen tours. We are also glad to read that you were able to explore beyond the shores as well as around local attractions.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to have you as our guests on your next visits to our enchanted island. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
The Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Best hotel experience we ever had. Everything from the staff to the location was on point. Only issue was with the power on our last day and that was out of their control. Will make this our regular place when we visit Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear J. Vazquez,

Thanks so much for your review, we really appreciate you taking of your time to share your experience with us and other travelers in this channel. It is always an honor to know how we are doing and who is best than our guests to let us know. We are happy to know that we continue achieving our main goal which is to exceed our guests expectations. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as that you were able to notice that our location is very accessible to get to many places.

During your stay there was a failure in the public electrical system that caused damage to our hotel system. However, we continued to operate thanks to the emergency power generator that provides power to the entire property. In the process of fixing the flaws, there were setbacks but everything was resolved. We all put 24 hours of hard work so that our guests may have the best stay under the circumstances and we are glad that it all worked out well as expected.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to have you as our guests on your next visits to our enchanted island. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
The Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Excellent hotel!! The room was very nice. The free parking and coplimentary breakfast was a very big perk!! The staff was awesome, there was a problem with the electricity and they were very helpful and did everything to help!! We got lost on our way to the hotel and I called and the person at the front desk stayed on the phone with me until we pulled up in front of the hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Vickie,

Thanks so much for your review, we really appreciate you taking of your time to share your experience with us and others in this page. We are so glad to continue reading about how we are doing as well as how our guests enjoy all services included to enhance your experience and about our staff exceeding our guest’s expectations which is one of our top #1 goal.

During your stay there was a failure in the public electrical system that caused damage to our hotel system. However, we continued to operate thanks to the emergency power generator that provides power to the entire property. In the process of fixing the flaws, there were setbacks but everything was resolved. We all put 24 hours of hard work so that our guests may have the best stay under the circumstances and we are glad that it all worked out well as expected.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to have you as our guests on your next visits to our enchanted island. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
The Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Suites are very spacious and bed was like sleeping on a cloud - super comfy. An this was definitely excellent value compared to Isla Verde hotel rates. Complimentary robes in rooms big plus. Location was not great for any nearby walking/sights - you do need a car but they do have complimentary garage parking. We showed up late in the day after our arrival that day and relaxing on the beach. We had a super early departure the next morning for a day trip to Culebra so fine for us and we didn't mind driving to our selected restaurant although staff did have suggestions for places within walking distance. Welcome reception was eager and friendly. Requested directions were left on the counter for our early morning departure (which precluded complimentary breakfast).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Nop_12,

We want to thank you for your review, we appreciate our guests taking time to share about their experience and our services. All of our bedding feature memory foam mattresses which are excellent for a good night sleep or just a very well needed nap. We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, that you were able to have breakfast with us and of course, that our staff exceeded your expectations. We are located within walking distance from the attractions located on our zone (Miramar), but yes, other attractions such as Old San Juan are located about 3 to 5 minutes drive, it is also a pleasant walk for sightseeing for people who love to walk around.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to have you as our guests on your next visits to our enchanted island. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
The Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were quite surprised at the exceptional value of this hotel. IN addition to fantastic rooms, excessively big, especially for Puerto Rico, they have "happy hour", fresh prepared to order breakfast and 2 nights a week - SERVE DINNER. Have never seen these amenities in a small hotel. The location is excellent - away from the bustle of old San Juan and Condado, but close enough to get to these areas very quickly.
If you are taking a flight from Isla Grande airport or boarding a cruise ship, this is the place to stay. No worry about traffic to get to these locations. Good restaurants within walking distance.
We plan to make this our first choice when we stay in the San Juan area, which we do often. Just hope it does not get too popular and we cannot get a room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Twoscratchy,

Thanks so much for your review. We really appreciate your time taken to share your review with us and other travelers who are looking for a great experience in our beautiful island. It was very delightful to read that you were able to enjoy of all of the services that we have added to enhance our guests ‘experience. We are also happy to read that you were also able to notice that we are only minutes away from all the attractions located in San Juan as well as all great restaurants within walking distance. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to have you as our guests on your next visits to our enchanted island. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
The Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ciqala Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciqala Luxury Suites

Address: 752 Manuel Fernandez Juncos Ave. | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#5 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ciqala Luxury Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Rooms – One queen size bed, microwave oven, small refrigerator, coffee maker withComplimentary coffee, HDTV and private bathroom.One Bedroom Suites – One king size bed in master bedroom, microwave oven,small refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, HDTV and private bathroom with jaded tub.Two Bedrooms Suites - One king size bed in master bedroom, one full size bed in second bedroom,microwave oven, small refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, HDTV and 2private bathrooms with jaded tub in master bathroom.One Bedroom Presidential Suite – One king size bed, living room, fully equipped kitchen (microwave oven, stove, large refrigerator, cookware and cutleries), dining area, HDTV and private bathroom with jaded tub and HDTV.Two Bedroom Presidential Suite - One king size bed in master bedroom and 1 queen size bed in room additional room, living room, fully equipped kitchen (microwave oven, stove, large refrigerator, cookware and cutleries), dining area, HDTV and two private bathrooms with jaded tub in master bathroom.Three Bedrooms Suites - One king size bed in master bedroom and 1 queen size bed in each roomadditional room, living room, fully equipped kitchen (microwave oven, stove, large refrigerator, cookware and cutleries), dining area, HDTV and two private bathrooms with jaded tub in master bathroom.All suites include daily full Breakfast, Native Puerto Rican dinner every Tuesdays and Thursdays, access to our fitness room, wireless high speed internet and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ciqala Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciqala Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciqala Luxury Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.