We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing value in San Juan, great location, extra perks,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciqala Luxury Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ciqala Luxury Suites to your Saves list
Ciqala Luxury Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   752 Manuel Fernandez Juncos Ave. | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“amazing value in San Juan, great location, extra perks,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were quite surprised at the exceptional value of this hotel. IN addition to fantastic rooms, excessively big, especially for Puerto Rico, they have "happy hour", fresh prepared to order breakfast and 2 nights a week - SERVE DINNER. Have never seen these amenities in a small hotel. The location is excellent - away from the bustle of old San Juan and Condado, but close enough to get to these areas very quickly.
If you are taking a flight from Isla Grande airport or boarding a cruise ship, this is the place to stay. No worry about traffic to get to these locations. Good restaurants within walking distance.
We plan to make this our first choice when we stay in the San Juan area, which we do often. Just hope it does not get too popular and we cannot get a room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Twoscratchy,

Thanks so much for your review. We really appreciate your time taken to share your review with us and other travelers who are looking for a great experience in our beautiful island. It was very delightful to read that you were able to enjoy of all of the services that we have added to enhance our guests ‘experience. We are also happy to read that you were also able to notice that we are only minutes away from all the attractions located in San Juan as well as all great restaurants within walking distance. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to have you as our guests on your next visits to our enchanted island. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
The Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    60
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
53
106
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We we delighted with our recent stay at Ciqala Suites. The suite was pure luxury and the price was very reasonable. It is located in the area of Miramar which was very convenient to the places where we wanted to go. Food sources were not close enough to walk to and parking on the streets was a constant challenge. They solved both of these with a secure parking garage and a cook to order breakfast. The desk staff was ever helpful and spot on with their suggestions for activities and restaurants. If you are going for the beach this is probably not your best selection but we did not go to the beach and we liked the quiet neighborhood atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Rebecca,

We really appreciate you taking of your time to share your review with us. We always get very happy to received and send response to our reviews as they help other travelers in their search for a place to stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. We loved to read that you enjoyed of our services added to enhance our guests ‘experience such as our cook to order breakfast. It was also an honor to have you as our guests and also to read that our staff exceeded your expectations.

In regards to restaurants in the area, there are over 14 restaurants within minutes walking from our hotel. We are not located on the beach, this is why we offer the transportation to/from the Condado beach. There are also two beach options within walking distance, the Escambron Beach and Condado Beach.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests as well as exceeding their expectations and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in San Juan. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ciqala, is hands down one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The 3 bedroom suite is perfect for a family vacation, of small groups of friends. The decor is beautiful and looks just like the photos. The area has a few restaurants and stores we walked to, which we found to be very convenient. The staff is very hospitable and breakfast in the morning is great with friendly chefs. Thank you again for a wonderful experience, I shall return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Jefferson,

Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your review with us. Your review is very important for us as it helps other travelers who are currently searching for a place to stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. We loved to read that you were able to walk around our location as well as that you enjoyed of our services added to enhance our guests ‘experience. It was an honor to have you as our guests and are very happy to read that our staff exceeded your expectations.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests as well as exceeding their expectations and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in San Juan. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locke, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at Ciqala Suites for one night prior to a Royal Caribbean cruise. I chose the hotel based on reviews in TripAdvisor and was completely happy with the choice. The room we booked was upgraded to a beautiful suite, Room 602. It was Holy Week so several businesses were closed, but the front desk staff sent us in the right direction to find both dinner and some additional cruise supplies. Upon returning, we had a great night's sleep in the quietest hotel room I can remember. In the morning we tried out both the fabulous rainhead shower and the jetted tub with wall mounted tv. Breakfast was on the 7th floor and we enjoyed ours on the open air balcony. My husband and I had time to kill so we took a walk down to the Pan American Pier. It's not a long walk, but you'll want to take a taxi with bags because of road access to the pier. There isn't a ton to do right next to the hotel, but if you aren't opposed to a little walking or a taxi, it's all good! The place is simply beautiful and the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Previous !reviews said not to get a room on the 7th floor because that is where breakfast is served...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Edhelper,

Thanks so much taking of your time for sharing the experience at our hotel with us and other travelers who are currently in a search for a place to stay during their visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was a pleasure to have you and your husband as our guests and for us is an honor to know that you as most of our guests enjoyed while staying with us and all of the values that we have added to enhance our guest’s experience as well as that our staff exceeded your expectations. We are also delighted to read that you were able to explore around and see the short distance to other places as well as to the piers from our location. We are sure that you also enjoyed the lovely view while having breakfast from our SP Floor’s terrace.

In regards to our neighborhood, Miramar is the second historic area here in San Juan; as part of our history, the buildings structures are kept as original. Some of the attractions are within walking distance as well as others are within minutes driving such as all the main attractions at Old San Juan as well as over 14 restaurants.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests as well as exceeding their expectations and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in San Juan. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Ciqala the week before thanksgiving in 2012. the hotel and the staff are amazing. They bend over backwards to ensure your stay is comfortable. I asked the front desk for some info about ferries to go to the bio bay and by evening I had a print out with information, maps, time tables. I was very impressed. The suites are beautiful. We stayed in the 3-bedroom suite. It had an awesome kitchen (with a blender!) which was convenient with two young children. We could eat in. The breakfast buffet is nice too. The chef makes it to order. the staff is very friendly. Rooms are upscale. Only drawback is the the neighborhood is a bit rough. It's not advised to walk there at night. there is a walgreens a mile away (again if you have young kids, its convenient). It's not close to a beach either. But we were very happy and would go there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Savani,

Thanks so much taking of your time for sharing the experience at our hotel with us and other travelers who are currently in a search for a place to stay during their visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests and for us is an honor to know that you as most of our guests enjoyed while staying with us and all of the values that we have added to enhance our guest’s experience as well as that our staff exceeded your expectations. We are also delighted to read that you were able to explore around and see the short distance to other places as Walgreens from our location.

In regards to our neighborhood, Miramar is the second historic area here in San Juan; as part of our history, the buildings structures are kept as original. Some of the attractions are within walking distance as well as others are within minutes driving such as all the main attractions at Old San Juan and over 14 restaurants.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests as well as exceeding their expectations and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in San Juan. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place was state of the art! Very clean, very elegant, spacious. All of the amenities of home. My daughter and I stayed here from march28,2013 to April2. Everything was so nice. We stayed in the one bedroom presidential suite. Living room, dining area, fully equipped kitchen with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances. All floors throughout were marble. Two full bathrooms,one with jacuzzi tub with overhead TV and a peek a boo stand up shower. King sized bed in bedroom, very comfortable. Balcony. Washer and dryer, priceless especially after the beach. Another priceless feature was after a long flight and check in free dinner buffet of Puerto Rican cuisine was offered from 6-8p. On Tues and Thurs. evenings only. Along with all you can drink wine or beer. Happy hour Monday-Thurs. 6-8p. My favorite amentity was free made to order breakfast each morning. The breakfast was wonderful and one less worry while on vacay. The only thing about this hotel is that I love being on the beach front but sacrificed a view for free delicious breakfast to get us started and washer and dryer as to not cart dirty clothes back home. They do offer a free beach shuttle to and from the beach,drop off at 10a and pickup @3p. My suggestion is definitely rent a car to really get a real personal view of the island. Old San Juan is right down the street about ten mins. Isla Verde is about 14 mins car drive. There is no action in this area, just a regular neighborhood. After a long day of exploration, we appreciated the quiet. Free parking is offered at the hotel.Otherwise you will pay $20 cab ride each way. I just used the map on my iPhone to navigate around. The kitchen area where breakfast is serve also has a lounge area where guests can convene. Also, you have the option of enjoying breakfast on the balcony with a beautiful view. The staff was very friendly. The front desk staff was helpful, except if you needed to use the telephone in your room, had alot of trouble dialing out and their suggestions for this didn't help. I had to use my cell phone to make local calls. The shuttle offered at the hotel was driven by Carlos who is very helpful and also does tours if you like. The only free shuttle service is for the beach. Carlos will take you where you want to go, for a fee similar to taxi service. If you want to buy snacks and water there is a gas station/ convenience store right down the street. A grocery store is around the corner called Pueblos. Had a wonderful stay here and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Phrogie L,

Thanks so much taking of your time for sharing the experience at our hotel with us and other travelers who are currently in a search for a place to stay during their visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was a pleasure to have you and your daughter as our guests and for us is an honor to know that you as most of our guests enjoyed while staying with us and all of the values that we have added to enhance our guest’s experience. We are also delighted to read that you were able to explore around and see the short distance to main attractions from our location as well as read that you enjoyed the lovely view from our SP Floor’s terrace. In regards to our neighborhood, Miramar is the second historic area here in San Juan; as part of our history, the buildings structures are kept as original. Some of the attractions are within walking distance as well as others are within minutes driving such as all the main attractions at Old San Juan and Isla Verde as you said on your comment.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests as well as exceeding their expectations and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in San Juan. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I went to Puerto Rico for a Easter weekend and had a great time! We loved the Ciqala Luxury Suites! The staff was wonderful, the rooms were EXCELLENT, huge, clean and very nice. If the beach is top priority for you then this is not the place for you. That was the ONLY bad thing but our agenda was full there was no time for the beach anyway! Thank you Ciqala!

Room Tip: We had the Presidential Suite room and we loved it! Big room, very nice full kitchen, wonderful soa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Kristy,

Thanks so much taking of your time for sharing the experience at our hotel with us and other travelers who are currently in a search for a place to stay during their visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests, and for us is an honor to know that you as most of our guests enjoyed while staying with us and all of the values that we have added to enhance our guest’s experience as well as that our staff exceeded your expectations.

Our location is on the second historic zone in San Juan and this is why we offer transportation to/from the beach to all of our guests. There are also two other beaches within walking distance as well as other attractions nearby.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests as well as exceeding their expectations and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in San Juan on your next visits to our beautiful island. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ciqala Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciqala Luxury Suites

Address: 752 Manuel Fernandez Juncos Ave. | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#5 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ciqala Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Rooms – One queen size bed, microwave oven, small refrigerator, coffee maker withComplimentary coffee, HDTV and private bathroom.One Bedroom Suites – One king size bed in master bedroom, microwave oven,small refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, HDTV and private bathroom with jaded tub.Two Bedrooms Suites - One king size bed in master bedroom, one full size bed in second bedroom,microwave oven, small refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, HDTV and 2private bathrooms with jaded tub in master bathroom.One Bedroom Presidential Suite – One king size bed, living room, fully equipped kitchen (microwave oven, stove, large refrigerator, cookware and cutleries), dining area, HDTV and private bathroom with jaded tub and HDTV.Two Bedroom Presidential Suite - One king size bed in master bedroom and 1 queen size bed in room additional room, living room, fully equipped kitchen (microwave oven, stove, large refrigerator, cookware and cutleries), dining area, HDTV and two private bathrooms with jaded tub in master bathroom.Three Bedrooms Suites - One king size bed in master bedroom and 1 queen size bed in each roomadditional room, living room, fully equipped kitchen (microwave oven, stove, large refrigerator, cookware and cutleries), dining area, HDTV and two private bathrooms with jaded tub in master bathroom.All suites include daily full Breakfast, Native Puerto Rican dinner every Tuesdays and Thursdays, access to our fitness room, wireless high speed internet and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ciqala Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciqala Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciqala Luxury Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.