We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multiple Suite Review (from very large to small)…” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciqala Luxury Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ciqala Luxury Suites to your Saves list
Ciqala Luxury Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   752 Manuel Fernandez Juncos Ave. | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save!
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Milford, MI
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Multiple Suite Review (from very large to small)…”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

During a week-long trip to San Juan, we had the opportunity to stay in (and rate) 3 different sized rooms.

ROOMS / DETAIL: All are new, quite modern, and tastefully decorated.

- The presidential suite (very large sized) felt more like an apartment than a hotel room: the master suite is large (there are 3 bedrooms total), the master bathroom had a bidet and hot tub, the kitchen was very spacious and well appointed, there is a laundry room with a good sized (stacked) washer and dryer, and the dining room (with balcony) and living room were roomy. This is an excellent room and good for a couple or a family / families to ‘live in’ and relax.
- The Penthouse Suite (medium sized) was a nice size and more like a regular hotel room with a small kitchenette – including a cook top, a full sized refrigerator / microwave, etc. - and good sized bathroom with hot tub. This is good for a couple who would like to relax.
- The Superior (small sized) room is quite small. It is one room with a bed and small bath attached, a mini refrigerator / microwave set in the corner, a wall mounted T.V., and not much more. This is a good room for one person or a couple who are looking for a basic place to sleep.

STAFF: They are very nice and you can tell they do strive for high levels of customer satisfaction by accommodating the guests (we asked to switch rooms once and they gladly obliged). They also securely stored our luggage, at no charge, for 2 days while we were away in Viequez for a short trip. We primarily interacted with Glen, Alex, Richard, and the owner and all were very helpful and nice. The only minor drawback was that sometimes small details were missed. For example, a few things were left undone even after asking (the living room t.v. was never programmed to work, we had to ask for batteries for the safe twice, and burnt out kitchen lights were not immediately replaced).

CLEANLINESS: This is one area that could use a small bit of improvement. Specifically, a few cleaning details in two of the three rooms were missed, necessitating us to wipe up the bathroom and kitchen counters before getting settled. To be fair, the 3rd room we had was spotless. Generally speaking, we will say that the overall room and hotel cleanliness is very, very good.

NOISE: The Presidential Suite we stayed in is located adjacent to a convenience store / café and on weekends, the people that congregate there can be loud. So loud that the A.C. unit in the suite did not drown out their partying. Expect this noise to last until 5 a.m. We were told that this sometimes happens on Friday and Saturday nights but were promised that if it happened again, the police would be called to stop it (note, it did not happen a second time). The Regular Penthouse Suite (medium room) we had was fine. The only thing you will hear is the elevator coming and going – no noise from the convenience store was heard. The Superior (small room) we stayed in is located on the same floor as the dining area / kitchen / work out facility and you will definitely hear the noise people make while in every one of those rooms. It’s almost as if you are in someone else’s house as you can clearly hear conversations and moving about. If that sort of noise bothers you, we would not recommend staying in either of the two rooms on this floor: 701 and 702. We actually asked to be moved and the staff were happy to oblige, kindly giving us a Penthouse Suite. We appreciated this very much.

AMENITIES: they were great: free parking, free basic breakfast, and a light complementary dinner 2 nights a week. The food is not bad at all... If you like straight-forward restaurant food you will probably like it. FYI: No decaf is provided. We will mention that the staff here are very nice as well.

LOCATION: it’s in a local neighborhood and it’s fine. We did walk around a bit without any problems or trouble at all but it’s certainly helpful to rent your own car, or get a cab, if you plan on exploring Old San Juan and P.R.

Aside from the few minor issues above, it’s quite a good place to stay and we really did like the hotel and staff. If Trip Advisor would allow, we would give Ciqala 4.5 stars. We really enjoyed the presidential suite that, again, was more like an apartment and if we return to P.R. we’d book that room (make sure to check their website for great specials – we got this room for a very good price). Please try this hotel – we think you’ll like it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Seeing whats next,

Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your review with us and other travelers who are in a search of a great place to stay while visiting San Juan, Puerto Rico. We really appreciate your time to fully review our units, amenities and overall services provided during your stay.

The complimentary coffee is only provided on the Superior Room and we are taking in consideration to offer the decaf as well as the regular coffee, thanks so much for your recommendation. In regards to the elevator noise (bell announcing its arrival), we have called the elevator company and adjusted the sound to be the lowest. We are glad to read that you as the majority of our guests enjoyed all of the services that we have added to enhance our guests experience as well as to know that you were able to walk around and notice that our neighborhood is safe.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests as well as exceeding their expectations and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in Puerto Rico. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    59
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
52
104
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed in total 6 weeks at Ciqala between two separate stays. My family began our first 4 week stay August 2012 at La Concha where we stayed for one week. While the hotel was nice, Ciqala was more comfortable and the staff was FAR more courteous and friendly. The breakfast is excellent with a lot of variety and the Tuesday and Thursday dinners are delicious. The location is close to Condado (short walk) and Old San Juan (short taxi ride). I travel to PR frequently and will not even consider staying anywhere else. Thank you Ciqala staff! I know I will miss someone but a special thanks to Olga, Glen, Lola, Ricardo, and Richard!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Jamie,

Thank you so much taking of your precious time to share your experience with us and other travelers who are currently in a search for a place to stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and are more than happy to know that you as most of our guests enjoyed while staying with us and all values that we have added to enhance our guest’s experience. We are also delighted to read that you were able to experience going to the nearby attraction located within walking distance as well as going to the ones located within minutes drive.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests as well as exceeding their expectations and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in San Juan. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slocum, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Ciqala Suites in December 2012. Although they are quite expensive, it was very nice to stay in such a beautiful room. The suites are more like an apartment than a hotel. They have full kitchens, a large living area, a dining area, and ours had a balcony with a table and chairs. The suites are not located in the best area, so it is best to have a rental car. We were able to tour much of the island and then come home to a luxurious suite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear GWPAUN,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience and review with us and other travelers who are currently searching for a place to stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our services as well as amenities. In regards to our location, Miramar is the second historic area here in San Juan; as part of our history, the buildings structures are kept as original. Some of the attractions are within walking distance as well as others are within minutes driving such as all the main attractions at Old San Juan as you said on your comment.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service and stay for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We also take this opportunity to invite you to continue visiting us on your next trips to Puerto Rico, we will be more than honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in the enchanted island. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
The Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for X-mas 2012. We had a fantastic time and hope to be able to return to Ciqala in the future. The suite was spacious, really roomy, very well appointed, truly luxurious, modern and beautiful. The young people who work there are so friendly and nice. They make every effort to help. Needless to say, everything is spotless. Yes, the workers told us not to take walks in the area right of Ciqala, and there was no need to be there, really. We had a car and were free to explore the island and the city, which are are beautiful. We went grocery shopping to the nearby supermarket. We went to Luquilla beach a few times, drove to Arecibo, saw the Botanical Garden and the Museum of Art, located in an amazingly beautiful new building. Coming "home" to Ciqala felt great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Ithacan,

Thank you so much taking of your time to share your experience with us and other travelers who are currently in a search for a place to stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was a pleasure to have you and your party here as our guests and are more than happy to know that you as most of our guests enjoyed while staying with us and all values that we have added to enhance our guest’s experience. In regards to walking on our area, probably our agent meant to say that it was too far to walk to where you were planning on going, but I am confident to say that our area is very safe to walk and even encourage you to do a walking tour in our area for you to enjoy visiting our historic sites in Miramar on your next visit. Our Suites are excellent for parties of 2 to up to 6 guests; it will really be a pleasure to welcome you and your friends and family again at our hotel.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in San Juan. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our stay at Ciqala Suites is due to an impromptu trip to escape the cold in NYC. We scored a great rate and was very happy I decided to stay here instead of a traditional hotel. My room was on the penthouse floor. This was a room and not a suite as my trip was for two days. However, the room more than met our needs...queen size bed, flat screen tv, large bathroom, two large closets, fridge & microwave, great mini-bar which was very reasonably priced, and awesome toiletries. Made to order breakfast is complimentary. Complimentary beer and wine is served on Monday evenings, and complimentary dinner on Tuesday and Thursdays. I did get a tour of the suites, which I LOVE. Upon my return, I will definitely book a suite and bring family and friends along. The suites are huge, full kitchens with granite countertops and high end stainless appliances, a large living and dining area, great bedrooms, and contemporary furnishings. I also must make mention of the sub-penthouse floor where meals are served. ..this is a great dining, lounge, and social area. I can't say enough good things about this place. I have no hesitation recommending this property.

A few helpful tips...the property is in a residential SAFE neighborhood. You may want to rent a car which is the best way to see the island anyway. Do book a day/overnight trip on Culebra or Vieques. Explore some of the other beaches outside of San Juan. I really enjoyed Luquillo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear 5daygetaway,

We truly appreciate taking of your time to share your experience with us and other travelers who are currently in a search for a place to stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was a pleasure to have you and your companion here as our guests and are more than happy to know that you as most of our guests enjoyed while staying with us and all values that we have added to enhance our guest’s experience, we are also glad to read that you noticed that our location is safe. Our Suites are excellent for parties of 2 to up to 6 guests; it will really be a pleasure to welcome you and your friends and family again at our hotel.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in San Juan. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We arrived after midnight, but were still very warmly welcomed to Ciqala Suites. This was the attitude during our three night stay - all staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our suite was HUGE! We reserved one bedroom, but our suite had two other bedrooms and another bath locked. There are only two suites per floor. We had an enormous living/dining room combination. The kitchen was beautiful with stainless steel appliances and granite counter tops. Included in our room was a laundry with a washer and dryer. The bedroom was big with a large walk-in closet. The bath was separated into a toilet/bidet/shower room and a jetted tub with two sinks in the other room. Complimentary breakfast and Thursday night dinner were an added plus. The dinner was pasta, chicken, and salad with wine or beer. The breakfast was made-to-order and delicious! The location is not ideal, but it is very workable.A convenience store is right next door, although the mini-bar prices are very fair here. The hotel has a free beach shuttle to Condado Beach. There was construction on the penthouse during our stay, but it did not detract from our enjoyment. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly to all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear LmCubs,

Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your experience with us and other travelers who are currently in a search for a place to stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico; we really appreciate it. It was a pleasure to have you and your couple here as our guests and are more than happy to know that you as most of our guests enjoyed while staying with us and all values that we have added to enhance our guest’s experience, we are also happy to let you know that we have completed the construction on our PH floor and it is now ready for the enjoyment of our guests.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in San Juan. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
The Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is great. I stayed for two weeks and they always treated me as part of the family. The rooms are huge. Great for a family stay. The breakfast and dinner were very good as well. The kitchen has top of the line appliances. I was able to do my laundry in the laundry room located in the room. Not too far from the hotel is a movie theater, plenty of places to eat, and a grocery store.

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor and was nice and breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Plcmar,

We really appreciate your review. Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your experience with us and other travelers who are currently in a search for a place to stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was a pleasure to have you here as our guests and are more than happy to know that you as most of our guests enjoyed your stay and all values that we have added to enhance our guest’s experience, we are also happy to know that you also enjoyed visiting the fantastic nearby cinema café as well as the large variety of restaurants and shops within our area.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in San Juan. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
The Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ciqala Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciqala Luxury Suites

Address: 752 Manuel Fernandez Juncos Ave. | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan
#5 Business Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ciqala Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Rooms – One queen size bed, microwave oven, small refrigerator, coffee maker withComplimentary coffee, HDTV and private bathroom.One Bedroom Suites – One king size bed in master bedroom, microwave oven,small refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, HDTV and private bathroom with jaded tub.Two Bedrooms Suites - One king size bed in master bedroom, one full size bed in second bedroom,microwave oven, small refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, HDTV and 2private bathrooms with jaded tub in master bathroom.One Bedroom Presidential Suite – One king size bed, living room, fully equipped kitchen (microwave oven, stove, large refrigerator, cookware and cutleries), dining area, HDTV and private bathroom with jaded tub and HDTV.Two Bedroom Presidential Suite - One king size bed in master bedroom and 1 queen size bed in room additional room, living room, fully equipped kitchen (microwave oven, stove, large refrigerator, cookware and cutleries), dining area, HDTV and two private bathrooms with jaded tub in master bathroom.Three Bedrooms Suites - One king size bed in master bedroom and 1 queen size bed in each roomadditional room, living room, fully equipped kitchen (microwave oven, stove, large refrigerator, cookware and cutleries), dining area, HDTV and two private bathrooms with jaded tub in master bathroom.All suites include daily full Breakfast, Native Puerto Rican dinner every Tuesdays and Thursdays, access to our fitness room, wireless high speed internet and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ciqala Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciqala Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciqala Luxury Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.