We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Night Pre-Cruise Say - loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciqala Luxury Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ciqala Luxury Suites to your Saves list
Ciqala Luxury Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   752 Manuel Fernandez Juncos Ave. | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“3 Night Pre-Cruise Say - loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

W e booked this hotel based on the reviews already posted.

We were not disappointed. The Hotel Accomodation is excellent and the service is Firts Class.

The staff really do go out of their way to make you stay special. "Thank You for everything Christina"

The location was ideal for us as we could access the Mall, Old San Juan and the Cruise Port quickly.

It only took 15 mins from the airport. Taxi fares anywhere seemed reasonable to us.

This hotel is excellent value for money.

The complimentary breakfast (cooked to order by the Chef Rick) was great.

We would recommend that you stay at the Ciqala.

If you need a base in San Juan for a short or long stay, the Ciqala would be an excellent choice

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciqala, Owner at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Stuarth family,

Thanks so much for your review; we really appreciate you taking of your time to share your experience with us and other travelers. We are honored to have you and your family as our guests and are extremely happy to hear that you had exactly what we intent to all of our guests to have “a unique vacation experience”. Please consider CIQALA Luxury Home Suites as your home away from home here in the enchanted island of Puerto Rico, your Caribbean destination in US territory.

We are committed to providing a high level of service and stay for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We also take this opportunity to invite you to continue visiting on your next trips to Puerto Rico, we will be more than happy to welcome you again at your home away from home in San Juan.

Warmest regards,
The Management
CIQALA Luxury Home Suite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    60
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
53
106
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Ciqala is a brand new hotel in the Miramar district. We only stayed 1night while waiting to board our cruise. From what I could see, the hotel in not within walking distance of anything you would like to see. There was one very small restaurant 1/2 block away. The wait was too long so we opted to order a pizza in the room. ---One more negative and then I'll get to the positives. There is a 7-11 type convenience store next to the hotel. We stopped in to pick up bottled water. The store was open, but the door was locked - we had to get buzzed-in. Just guessing here, but I think that speaks volumes to the character of the neighborhood! You also need to get buzzed-in to the Ciqala too. --Even though Ciqala is new, it already had graffiti on the face of the bldg. --Now, for the pluses: the receptionist was very friendly and offered us an upgrade without our asking. We were given a resident apartment - 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths (one with jacuzzi), full service kitchen - the apt was very lovely and sparkling clean. --A full breakfast is included with the room rate. -- Other than the location being a bit questionable, I do recommend the Ciqala for a visit to SJ.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciqala, Owner at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Joloughlin,

Thanks so much for your review; we really appreciate you taking of your time to share your experience with us and other travelers. Please allow us to inform that our concierge and front desk have all information regarding our location, things to do and restaurants in our area available upon request. We are located in Miramar, it is the second historic area in San Juan; it has antique architecture and is home to historic sites; we have documents with information about the area which will include information about the many different restaurant options as well as about all historic sites that Miramar has to offer to its visitors. There are many restaurants at walking distance from Ciqala

We are committed to providing a high level of service and stay for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We also take this opportunity to invite you to visit us again, please call us directly as soon as you set your plans to visit Puerto Rico again and allow us to serve you again, we will be more than happy to welcome you again at your home away from home in San Juan.

Warmest regards,
The Management
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This place was excellent for a bigger group. 6 of us stayed in one of the bigger suites and it was a perfect setting. Maybe not the best part of town and there were a few problems with the water pressure, but overall it was well worth the price we paid. The front desk is full of friendly staff and the complimentary breakfast is nicer than most breakfasts spots in town. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciqala, Owner at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Ms. Jadyn M,

Thanks so much for your review; we really appreciate you taking of your busy time to share your experience with other travelers. Please allow us to apologize for any inconveniences caused due to the situation with the water pressure, it is fixed now. In regards to our location and surrounding buildings, Miramar is the second historic area in San Juan; it has antique architecture and is home to historic sites.

We are committed to providing the best service and stay for our guest and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We also take this opportunity to invite you to visit us again, please call us directly as soon as you set your plans to visit Puerto Rico again and allow us to serve you again.

Warmest regards,
The Management
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We recently returned from a wonderful cruise vacation starting in Puerto RIco. WIth one exception. We booked a 3 bedroom condo for a night at the beginning and end of our cruise with Ciqala. When we checked they decided to add about 150-155 dollars of additional cost. The reservation for stated the cost was based on 2 but our reservation was based on 6. The refused to budge and since we got there late at night we were unable to travel elsewhere. They advised other people had had this problem too but they were not responsible.
As for the property itself. It was very out of the way, far from the beach, far from restaurant selection, and in a less than desirable neighborhood. Our room overlooked abandoned buildings and trash. It appears in the pictures it was recently remodeled. It was, but with poor workmanship. We cancelled our second night stay and moved over to the Holiday Inn Express in Condado for 150 dollars cheaper and were so happy we did. Holiday Inn was good lodging. Close to open stores, food, and beach was right across the street. Awesome. We would stay at the Holiday Inn again. Ciquala we would not.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciqala, Owner at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Dear Ms. Julie,

Please allow us to apologize for any inconveniences caused due to this misunderstanding. We have had different situations with this particular site (.com) in regards to the extra person fee that we have established on our hotel; they are currently working on finding a solution to this inconvenient as they don't have the system capable to add this fee on their guest's confirmation sheets, however, they do state on the units descriptions to go to the policy for more information in regards to extra person/beds fees as the rates are based in one or two adults. Our hotel is located within 5 minutes walking from two beaches The Escambron Beach and the small one in Condado best known as Condado Beach.
In regards to our location and surrounding buildings, Miramar is the second historic area in San Juan, it has antique architecture and is home to historic sites. Miramar has several restaurants and shops very close to Ciqala.

We are committed to providing the best service and stay for our guests; as you can see in the different pictures (ours and our guests) this is a new building, our units are thoughtfully decorated and meet the standards of a high end luxurious suites. Once again, we apologize for any inconveniences caused due to this misunderstanding and we take this opportunity to invite you to visit us again and give us the opportunity to serve you one more time. Please call us directly whenever you have your plans to visit Puerto Rico.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Me and my wife stayed for 2 nights before our cruise. I chose Ciqala because of the good reviews I saw on-line throught Expedia. com. The reviews were very helpful to me in making a decision of where to stay in a city I never stayed in before. There were cheaper places but "you get what you pay for", and I would defintely stay at Ciqala again. It is clean, spacious, safe, conveniently located, nice amenities, wonderfully decorated, and has a nice staff. I was "Very Impressed With Ciqala"

Room Tip: From what I saw all rooms are of the same good quality with views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciqala, Owner at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing Ciqala, we are committed to providing the best service and stay for our guests. We will be more than happy to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn,VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We found a great deal for air and 5 nights stay at Ciqala through Expedia.
The Hotel/condo property was absolutely great! We were upgraded to a 3 bedroom suite with 2 full baths and a full kitchen. All appliances were new and mordern. Loved the room decor. Very very clean. They have free parking as well. The staff and their service was excellent. Christina and Lolla were always willing and ready to help with any questions that we had. Joes was so good with helping us understand PR, the food, locations, family places we could visit with our baby. We had an issue with the in room phone not working, he was prompt and helped us immediately. Ricky- the chef who made breakfast was one of the nicest guys we ever met. He made pefect omlettes in the morning, the a la carte breakfast in the morning was awesome- included made to order eggs, pancakes,toast, croissants, muffins, juices, coffee, fresh fruit, yougurt, oatmeal, cereals, you name it- they had it. Ricky really started our morning off well for us everyday. His breakfast kept us going all day!
Everyone at the hotel was always ready to help. We really enjoyed our stay there and if we go back to vacation in PR, we will certaily stay at Ciqala. Location was good too. About 10 min drive from Old San Juan. Walking distance to grocery stores as well as some good restaurants. 5 minutes from Condado resort area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciqala, Owner at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
We are committed to providing the best service and accommodation to our guests. We want every one of our guests have an unforgettable stay. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

During my stay in San Juan PR, I had the opportunity of staying at Ciqala Suites for over 2 months. The hotel made me feel like I was staying at home. The parking lot is very safe and the hotels location is very safe. Shopping is 5 minutes away in a car and you are extremely near very popular restaurants. The hotel is conveniently located next to a 24 hour express shop which is well priced for emergency snacks and drinks. Very little hotels in today’s economy take the time to please customers. During my stay, Ciqala was always asking me how they could make my stay better. If it is your first time in PR or return visit don’t hesitate to stay at Ciqala home suites because your experience will be fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciqala, Owner at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Jose, It was an honor to have you in ciqala, you are part of our family. Always was a pleasure to serve you and make you feel at home. See you soon!!!!
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ciqala Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciqala Luxury Suites

Address: 752 Manuel Fernandez Juncos Ave. | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#5 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ciqala Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Rooms – One queen size bed, microwave oven, small refrigerator, coffee maker withComplimentary coffee, HDTV and private bathroom.One Bedroom Suites – One king size bed in master bedroom, microwave oven,small refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, HDTV and private bathroom with jaded tub.Two Bedrooms Suites - One king size bed in master bedroom, one full size bed in second bedroom,microwave oven, small refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, HDTV and 2private bathrooms with jaded tub in master bathroom.One Bedroom Presidential Suite – One king size bed, living room, fully equipped kitchen (microwave oven, stove, large refrigerator, cookware and cutleries), dining area, HDTV and private bathroom with jaded tub and HDTV.Two Bedroom Presidential Suite - One king size bed in master bedroom and 1 queen size bed in room additional room, living room, fully equipped kitchen (microwave oven, stove, large refrigerator, cookware and cutleries), dining area, HDTV and two private bathrooms with jaded tub in master bathroom.Three Bedrooms Suites - One king size bed in master bedroom and 1 queen size bed in each roomadditional room, living room, fully equipped kitchen (microwave oven, stove, large refrigerator, cookware and cutleries), dining area, HDTV and two private bathrooms with jaded tub in master bathroom.All suites include daily full Breakfast, Native Puerto Rican dinner every Tuesdays and Thursdays, access to our fitness room, wireless high speed internet and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ciqala Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciqala Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciqala Luxury Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.