We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza, Slow service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puttanesca Italian Trattoria

Puttanesca Italian Trattoria
1207 Fernandez Juncos, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
787 723 6666
Improve this listing
Ranked #219 of 578 restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta
Restaurant details
New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Pizza, Slow service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I think they make good pizza pies. The problem is the speed of the service, it took us 2 hours from start to finish. So if are planning to visit make sure you have enough time. Would I visit again? Definitely.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    15
    8
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Second visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had the fettucine amatriciana and it was very good and plentiful (couldn't finish the plate), plus the price was vextremely reasonable. Ideally the pasta plate could be smaller but adding a side salad and real bread (not the doughy pasta bread they serve) to make it a more complete meal. But I have to commend them on a mean amatriciana, which should make me return, and even give it a second shot at their pizza. The place was jam-packed, so it goes without saying this place has a clientele.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Saltiest pizza ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I know a little bit about pizza. Lived in NYC for 5 years, and have had pizza everywhere, and the Brooklyn pizza we got served at this place was the saltiest pizza I've ever had. Never have I stopped eating pizza because felt it was too salty (pizza is by itself a salty food) but this pizza was outstanding, unique in this sense here. The server told us it must have been the bacon, and when we told him the pizza had no bacon, he turned around and said it was the very cheap italian sausage. I believe it was the meats plus the crust plus the sauce plus the cheese, i.e., everything. It might have been an off night for them, since this place was packed and seems very popular, but I have no intention of going back anytime soon. The 2 stars are given because otherwise the pizza was well-made with nice crust, albeit nothing outstanding. And please guys, buy some good sausage. That stuff you are using is Pizza-Hut level. Again, the pizza we had yesterday was saltier than any meatlover's pie I've ever had. Incredible, how can you mess up with the amount of salt in the pizza?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Went here with 6 friends and the Mamma Mia pizza, medium size, was enough to feed all of us! Welcoming staff and good beer from Lousiana.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto rico
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Only good for pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Their pizzas are great-when you have time to sit and wait- we spent 2 hours on a friday night waiting for a pizza and our child was in a great mood you can imagine..just to hear our pizza was mistankenly given for take out. So take out us not so great and Avoid the Calzone they just don't know hiw to get it right its just a huge roll of burnt bread with a ball of mozarrella inside not evenly distributed and if you and an ingredient well that's what you'll get also and scarcely presence of it..just pizza at the place with plenty of time. It started put great now its just another place too bad

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puttanesca Italian Trattoria also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Puttanesca Italian Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puttanesca Italian Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.