We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, slow service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orozco's Restaurant

Orozco's Restaurant
1126 Ashford Avenue | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
787-721-7669
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 639 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Delicious food, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Definitely enjoyed lunch here. It was right across the street from our hotel so convenient. Not too expensive. The trifongo with shrimp was delicious especially when you added a little of their hot sauce. My friend had the vegetarian mofongo which she also loved. I would definitely come back again. Only detractor is that service definitely was a bit slow. There seemed to be a lot of waitstaff but for some reason drinks took a long time but service was never rude or horrible.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    232
    63
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Convneient local fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stopped into Orozco's based on a recommendation of a waiter at our hotel when we asked what restaurant had tasty local cuisine. We had the mofongo (camarones, beef and seafood variety). In case you don't know, mofongo is mashed plantains that is stuffed with meat, seafood, veggies. All were delicious and we were able to get in without a reservation even though the restaurant was almost full at * pm.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Went here twice it was so good and friendly staff. We tried their special rice dish, the Mofongo with beef(very filling) both very good. The second night we had a Puerto Rican combination dish which had pork, plantains etc and also a dish that was a plantain filled with chicken and cheese with beans and rice. Enjoyed every last bite. We tried to eat around 5 pm before it gets busy and had great service.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food but very busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed having dinner here. I had the mofongo with skirt steak and my husband had the smoked pork; both dishes were excellent! We were lucky that we got a table when we did since shortly thereafter a long line formed outside. I don't believe they take reservations so come early. The service could be a bit faster but given how busy there were I'll cut them some slack.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great for vegetarians!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was close to the Best Western Condado Palms - and I had their Mofongo with vegetables one evening. I went back the day I flew home and got an order of red beans and rice to eat on the plane - it was delicious!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orozco's Restaurant also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Orozco's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orozco's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.