We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Restaurant

Laurel Restaurant
#299 De Diego Avenue, San Juan Puerto Rico Museum of Art, Puerto Rico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 639 Restaurants in San Juan
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is absolutely amazing. The food was astounding. It was a little stuffy though, and we were totally unprepared for that level of restaurant in the Museo de Arte. We walked in in shorts and tank-tops and felt pretty out of place. But once we started eating the food, we didn't care! Definitely make a plan of it and save up to be able to try a variety of things--the tapas were superb.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    7
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Laurel does it better!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Last Thursday i was eating in this great restaurant... One of the great things it has is that it is in the midle of the Puerto Rico Art Museum, and it has a very nice view of the architectural and artistic garden. His owner Chef Mario Pagán is one of the greatest top 5 chef in the island. I ate the Cochon Pie with the Maduro Smokey Pudding with a red wine reduce sauce, It was amazing the taste between all flavors. The dessert was heavenly. It was a cold goat cheesecake with a warm guava mermelade uhmmm, I can taste it again in my mind just remembering the great taste!!!.. Well done Chef Mario...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We went here for a group dinner in a private room and the appetizers, the food, the wine, the drinks were all very well presented, tasty and creative. The Chef/Owner popped in to verify that all was well and that was a nice touch. We had a set menu of multiple courses and it was excellent overall. All of the fish dishes were cooked to perfection. A pork dish was not bad but was the weakest of the courses. The service was good to excellent. The outdoor terrace was a great spot for post meal cigars and after dinner drinks. The parking around the back of the Museo de Arte was a little difficult to find but that is a small issue really.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hearty Gourmet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Laurel is a beautiful space with great access through the back of PR's Museum of Art. Mario Pagan is among the island's top 5 chefs. His food is eclectic with Caribbean and Puertorrican influences. Portions are big. If you have been disappointed by meager portions in upscale restaurants, this is your place. Don't miss the appetizers that have fried local root vegetables as vessels for tasty fish, but share to save space for the main course and dessert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Flawless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Easily one of the top 5 restaurants in San Juan. From the drinks to the dessert, everything is amazing. The complementary fried cuajito blew my mind. Laurel has nothing to envy from other fine restaurants in major cities all over the world.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laurel Restaurant also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Laurel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.