We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, Food okay, nothing to right about” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abracadabra Local Counter Cafe

Abracadabra Local Counter Cafe
1661 Ponce de Leon Av. | Santurce, San Juan 00909, Puerto Rico
7872000447
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 24 Coffee & Tea in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: ocal porducts, organic products, support small farmers, artisan bread baked everyday exclusively for Abracadabra, best gourmet cofee in Puerto Rico by Cafe Hacienda San Pedro...no hormones, no pesticides, no artificial flavors only local craft beers and local artisan wine.Free wi-fi
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good service, Food okay, nothing to right about”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Overall 7.5. Food a bit above a dinner, decoration refined enough to be a restaurant. Clientele consists of 30+ yrs old and familiy. They dont serve bacon (instead they have canadian bacon--not the same). Parking hard to find unless pay $5. On sundays show up at least 40 mins prior to ensure first seating call as the place gets full. Located in Ponce de Leon near First bank.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    32
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eclectic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I thought this resturaunt was awesome because if the fact that it had many healthy and organic options which isn't common in Puerto Rico. The crowd is young and hip with the apparent dress code for workers being : hipster. The service was excellent for me because everyone spoke enough English for me to order without a problem. The food was delicious. Oh, and on weekend mornings there's quite a line to get in. I think if you dig healthy food and live music with a hipster feel this is the place for you. Even if you don't they have some of the better French toast on the island so it's worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arecibo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, no service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Let me start out by saying they have awesome pancakes! THE best I have had in my life.

I tried the Croque Madame and the Champignon Omelet.

Skip the omelet, its nothing to write home about. The Croque Madame is really good but way WAY overpriced if you choose the "brunch" option. Just wait until they have the special, I believe it runs for 7 dollars with juice or water.

I wouldn't recommend this place to a friend because:
they are very disorganized, most of the time the door is closed with no one to greet you or explain how their complicated system work (you cant make reservations and on weekends it gets intolerably crowded)

Our server was horrible, took our order and never came back again except to bring us our food

It is worth noting that the salad, while it is organic, it is not locally grown like they say it is. It is from Sams.

Great food, bad service. Not worth it in my honest opinion. Will not return

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food, but overpriced and forgettable service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I went to this joint to see what all the fuss was about. The decor and theme was superb, and the food exquisite. However, paying $15 for a cup of coffee, a small bowl of fruit and a glorified ham, cheese and egg sandwich would've been great if the service was the added value. The waitress was nice but non-existent and pretty much every one that worked there was serious (like they didn't like their job), except an awesome black guy with glasses and a really cool afro who flashed us with a couple of smiles and bid us farewell. We spent $50 for breakfast for two adults and a toddler, and honestly, it wasn't justified. It was a good one-time experience at best.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

A different place to have a great breakfast. The theme is circus type and all decorations are related but in a good taste. Very artistic. The line to wait usually is half hour, but is worth the wait. They have vegetarian options too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abracadabra Local Counter Cafe also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Abracadabra Local Counter Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abracadabra Local Counter Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.