We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terraza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Terraza Hotel to your Saves list
La Terraza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Book Direct for Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Goshen, Kentucky
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

After arriving in San Juan for the start of our vacation/cruise, we were told that our reservation at our hotel had been canceled two months prior, which was not the case. However, we were so blessed to have landed up at the La Terraza Hotel. The staff was so gracious to accommodate the six of us and our rooms were fantastic. We arrived hot and tired with the La Terraza our third try to find rooms for the night. We were offered refreshments right away and were thrilled with our rooms. The terrace was great for enjoying the 4th of July fireworks and we could not have been more happy with the La Terraza. You can't go wrong with staying there and we certainly will in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    25
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
82
150
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I always look to stay at places with local charm and character. We definitely found both at La Terraza. Our room had all of the local architecture with modern amenities. Absolutely beautiful. The roof top terrace and pool were much appreciated after a hot day in Old San Juan. Great location, walking distance to the local attractions, restaurants & museums. While all of the staff was helpful, Jose, Naya & Princess took especially good care of us. We can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We, family of four, stayed at La Terraza overnight prior to a Carribbean cruise. This was truly a unique stay for us as normally we normally stay at bigger resort type properties however as we wanted to be close to the cruise terminal and the reviews were so good we opted for La Terraza.
As soon as you set foot in this place you feel instantly welcome being offered a drink/coffee and pastry upon arrival. On checking-in you are taken to a table in the dining room and given a one on one overview of the hotel facilities and the staff are happy to point out points of interest and places to eat on a map. It really puts you at ease having a local recommending restaurants etc. Our room had 2 double beds and was only a few months old. The bathroom was exceptional and well appointed. The room itself was not huge however we did not feel cramped. The bed was very comfortable and the aircon worked well. The hotel is an easy walk to the impressive forts and restaurants.Our rate included breakfast consisting of pastries and fruit. There is a rooftop bar, lounge chairs and a small infinity pool providing great views. WIFI was included and worked well. I would certainly stay here again and would have like another night or two pre or post cruise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

La Terraza Hotel exceeded my expectations with their staff support, kindness, clean rooms and beautiful terrace. My friend and I stayed our entire trip at La Terraza and never once were in need of anything. They took care of us when we had a question or wanted advice or needed a booking. It goes without saying that returning to Puerto Rico will be at this hotel. This hotel is phenomenal and deserves every one of my 5 ratings. Thank you Eslander!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Beautiful, romantic hotel. Excellent service and location. Close walk to the forts which were amazing. Loved the rooftop and the constant breezes. My husband and I preferred this location and street over the busy Fortelaza (shopping) street where we stayed on a different night. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This unique, authentic hotel was perfect our one night in Old San Juan. I cannot say enough about the employees - ALL of them are offer top notch service all the time! There is delicious coffee and pastries available all the time, and a simple, fantastic breakfast in the morning. The old building is gorgeous with it's wooden shutters and colorful tile floors. They graciously upgraded our room when we arrived at no extra charge. The hotel is within easy walking distance (even for our 3 young girls) of El Morro, restaurants (go to El Jibarito right next door!), and shopping. I can't recommend La Terraza enough!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Trip Advisor does it again! I went on a family vacation and dragged my sister here for the first two days. She was NOT into it, and wanted to hang out at the beach in "new" San Juan in a big new hotel.
She changed her tune when we entered through iron doors into this charming hotel and we saw the impossibly high ceilings with massive wooden beams, and then our room, with French doors out to our own private balcony overlooking the rooftops of old San Juan. We were both smitten with Old San Juan--the narrow streets with blue cobblestones, great restaurants, and friendliness of the locals!
All the front desk people at Le Terraza were OUTSTANDING (shout out to Princess--our favorite!) Great breakfast on the rooftop deck included with fresh fruit, ham, cheese, strong delicious coffee, and homemade bread and jam. Tip: Get the front desk people to make you a café con leche--delicious.
The only complaint from my sister was that the beds were a little soft--though I usually like a firmer mattress, I felt like I was sinking into a feather bed and didn't mind at bit!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 324--quiet, one level from the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Terraza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza Hotel

Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza’s trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan’s historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters.La Terraza is San Juan’s newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest’s needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Terraza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terraza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.