We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old San Juan Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terraza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Terraza Hotel to your Saves list
La Terraza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct for Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Greer, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Old San Juan Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in excellent/quaint hotel. The room and the bath was great and the staff top notch. The continental breakfast was a little more than expected and is served either in the reception area or at the nice rooftop terrace. One advisory is to be careful on the stairs. Best stay in SJ yet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    26
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
82
151
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We found this gem through tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. We were upgraded to a spacious and comfortable suite on the 3 rd floor overlooking the street that was a short flight of steps from the rooftop terraces. Breakfast on the roof was great and we also enjoyed the views with a glass of wine up there after dark. La Terraza is in a great location just a short walk from many restaurants and the historical attractions. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We willl definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

I cannot say enough fabulous things about this hotel! It is in the heart or old San Juan so easy access to walking around the streets and going to great restaurants. The staff is wonderful! Melissa gave us many recommendations to awesome local eateries as we chatted and enjoyed a latte with her. Islander (I think that's his name) allowed us to check in early and was very kind to recommended that we see the sunrise on the roof deck... More like a compete terrace with infinity pool and Bluetooth speakers! I could go on and on, but definitely the place to stay! The rooms were clean and modern, staff was incredible, breakfast was delicious. I wish I didn't have to leave!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel was everything we wanted and more. The staff is friendly and very helpful. We stayed here the night before our Carnival Cruise that left on a Sunday. The decor is beautiful with wonderful Caribbean colors and tile. Our room was great and the shower was amazing. We were within walking distance to all local tourist attractions in Old San Juan. We even walked to the pier with our rolling luggage and did not have to pay for a cab. Breakfast on the terrace is a MUST. The view is wonderful and food is delicious. I recommend eating at Mojitios for a great authentic Puerto Rican food. We cannot wait to go back and spend more time in Old San Juan as a day was just not enough. We will be staying here when we return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We only stayed for one night and wished it was for longer. The hotel is in a fantastic location in the old town. It has a lovely balcony to chill out on and see the sunset. The pool is small so not great for keen swimmers but perfect for those that just want a dip.
We had a lovely room with a big balcony with two chairs. We were lucky with the room as I suspect it was one of the best.
There was a hair dryer and iron in the room and the shower was really good.
They were really helpful when we turned up and told us all the best places to go. The breakfast was really lovely, fresh fruit and warm bread. Can't fault it at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We booked this for a 6 night stay and I was keen to find a boutique hotel with a bit of character. I wasn't disappointed! The hotel is in a lovely part of Old San Juan, lovely narrow cobbled streets, brightly coloured houses, very near to restaurants and quaint little bars.The hotel is really quaint, nicely decorated with local art and very comfortable. The staff will serve amazing locally grown coffee and gorgeous little cakes biscuits if asked. Our room (221) was on the 2nd floor overlooking the street. Although past reviews have mentioned noise, we weren't really aware of this as the bed was very comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. The many staff were always happy to help with booking taxis or trips around the island and we organised a fantastic trip through them to the island Vieques (a day trip on a small plane!) and also a rental car. We had breakfast there on some mornings which fairly basic but lovely but sometimes we had to miss out as the earliest you can have it is 8am and we were keen to get out and make the most of our holiday! If you can wait until 9am breakfast on the terrace at the top of the hotel makes a lovely change. There is a plunge pool up there too although we didn't use it but it looked lovely. Thanks to Sofia, Princess and all of the other staff who were so great (but who's names I didn't catch) you made our trip to Puerto Rico really memorable and we would highly recommend a stay here!

Room Tip: Our room was 221, on the 2nd floor with four windows and a long narrow balcony overlooking the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

On our way back from our timeshare in the Caribbean we had an extra day in San Juan due to flight schedules. We had chosen this boutique hotel based on its reviews, and it did not disappoint. The staff was EXCEPTIONAL and the room was extremely comfortable. The roof terrace with the plunge pool was a nice addition. The hotel is pretty much in the middle of Old San Juan and we walked from one end of OSJ to the other. We are looking to bookend our Caribbean trip next year at La Terraza. Hope to see you there!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Terraza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza Hotel

Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza’s trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan’s historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters.La Terraza is San Juan’s newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest’s needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Terraza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terraza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.