We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Old San Juan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terraza de San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Terraza de San Juan to your Saves list
La Terraza de San Juan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE CHAMPAGNE BOTTLE !
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
West Hempstead, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A hidden gem in Old San Juan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had a great time, enjoyed the fresh breakfast with homemade sweet treats brought to my room every morning. The staff was extremely knowledgeable and very helpful. Always service with a smile. Great restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    43
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
101
197
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

La Terraza is the perfect place to stay in Old San Juan. The location is great, near good restaurants and tourist attractions. The staff is very welcoming, nice, and very attentive. Breakfast is good and they will accommodate special requests in advance. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The property is very charming and the view from the rooftop is amazing, a perfect area to enjoy the scenery or read a book. If you are either coming to Old San Juan for a night or for a week I highly recommend staying in La Terraza.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hempstead
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel in Old San Juan has the old world charm of the area. The staff if very attentive to all the guests needs. The hotel is within walking distance to historical attractions, dining and anything else you might want to do. I would definitely come back and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately I have to be one of the few black sheep among the flock of those reviewers who have raved about La Terraza.

But first some background information.

OSJ is a pleasant 15 minute taxi ride from the airport and if you are as lucky as us, we had a nice driver who also played tourist guide and pointed out various landmarks. Cost was $25 plus bags and tip extra.

For the uninitiated La Terraza is situated on the high side of OSJ. As most of your day (apart from viewing the forts) may take you to the waterfront/downtown area it can be a slightly strenuous walb back at night. Very safe and pleasant however.

Back to the Inn.

Check in was very easy and Devon was both welcoming and informative. The Inn itself is a beautiful building and our room exemplified the best of the casa with its space and charm.

After arriving around midday we spent the rest of the day exploring the city. We love to walk and had no trouble covering all the perimeter and most of the core of the town in the rest of the day. Dinner was at Cafe Berlin.

We were looking forward to breakfast the first morning after reading all the reviews. However we were underwhelmed more than anything. Fruit salad was nice and this was combined with some cold meat and cheese and a couple of bread sticks. Would have preferred maybe a choice of cereals or eggs??

That day was spent walking the towns sights again and an obligatory tour of the Bacardi factory.

Now the next morning was when the trouble started. La Terraza have a building being renovated right next door and construction began before 7am. 'Construction' is maybe a misnomer. Should have said 'destruction' as they were dropping large blocks of rubble down a shute to a skip four storeys below. Further sleep was impossible. (For those contemplating a stay in 3a be aware that the room has open timber shutters rather than windows so street noise can be a problem. So we decided to get up and wait for breakfast which had been arranged for 8am. After waiting for 40 minutes we gave up and found a pleasant cafe serving a simple breakfast.

To Devon's defence she did approach us and offered compensation (which we had not mentioned to her) for the disturbance and lack of sleep. That was kind of her but we mentioned that perhaps it would have been courteous to let her guests (specially those staying in 3a) know of the building works next door.

So to sum up.....the building itself is absolutely beautiful, the staff are welcoming and pleasant, the breakfast just so so and wait until at least February until the building work next door is completed.

Thanks for reading

Cheers

Dave

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abiquiu, Nm
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This charming boutique hotel is clean, comfortable, safe and accommodating, right in the heart of Old San Juan. Devon helped us plan our short stay and was a wealth of information on the culture, history and politics of Puerto Rico. It was as if we were taken in by family, and made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Breakfast (lots of fresh fruit) was perfect to get us on our way to see the sights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

La Terraza is the BEST place to stay in Old San Juan!!! Home away from home – fabulous, modern, nice, great location, safe, comfortable, clean, fabulous breakfast that they bring to you in the room, washer/dryer – great coffee – stay for 2 nights.
One of the managers, Joseph, was a delight with a wealth of information. This is THE PLACE you want to stay at!!! It feels like your own apartment right in the heart of Old Town. The décor is beautiful and up to date. They said they were planning on doing an addition next door and expanding their space including a roof top pool. Sleeps 4 comfortable but we had 6 and the pull our sofa in the living room was just fine, we had plenty of pace. The full kitchen would have been great but we didn’t stay long enough to cook – I can’t wait to return for a few days and make this place home!
Don't look further - this is where you will want to stay!!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and the elevator is slow but the stairs are great and if you look up there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We chose to stay at La Terraza for the week leading up to our wedding in Old San Juan and it was fabulous! Joe, Devon and crew made our experience great and even made our lives easier- from finding a room for my family last second when the apartment they original booked was a total bust to providing advice for things to do/booking tours for us & our guests. It’s a beautiful place with old world charm and modern conveniences with the best of a hotel & apartment combined—more personal attention, at least 2/3 times more room than a standard hotel and you feel you are really experiencing the city. Breakfast was AMAZING- fresh breads, fruits, pastries/cakes, cheeses- hands down fantastic to wake up to. All you have to do is just let them know what time and they will bring to your room. Pretty sure no other place in Old San Juan can match their breakfast and personal interest in making sure you get the most enjoyment out of your stay. Highly recommend to anyone coming to Old San Juan and we will definitely stay there again when we go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Terraza de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza de San Juan

Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza de San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites, as well as suites with balconies. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza's trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan's historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters. La Terraza is San Juan's newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Terraza de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terraza de San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.