We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Search no more- This is where you want to stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terraza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Terraza Hotel to your Saves list
La Terraza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Book Direct for Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Search no more- This is where you want to stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

La Terraza is the BEST place to stay in Old San Juan!!! Home away from home – fabulous, modern, nice, great location, safe, comfortable, clean, fabulous breakfast that they bring to you in the room, washer/dryer – great coffee – stay for 2 nights.
One of the managers, Joseph, was a delight with a wealth of information. This is THE PLACE you want to stay at!!! It feels like your own apartment right in the heart of Old Town. The décor is beautiful and up to date. They said they were planning on doing an addition next door and expanding their space including a roof top pool. Sleeps 4 comfortable but we had 6 and the pull our sofa in the living room was just fine, we had plenty of pace. The full kitchen would have been great but we didn’t stay long enough to cook – I can’t wait to return for a few days and make this place home!
Don't look further - this is where you will want to stay!!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and the elevator is slow but the stairs are great and if you look up there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    25
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
82
150
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We chose to stay at La Terraza for the week leading up to our wedding in Old San Juan and it was fabulous! Joe, Devon and crew made our experience great and even made our lives easier- from finding a room for my family last second when the apartment they original booked was a total bust to providing advice for things to do/booking tours for us & our guests. It’s a beautiful place with old world charm and modern conveniences with the best of a hotel & apartment combined—more personal attention, at least 2/3 times more room than a standard hotel and you feel you are really experiencing the city. Breakfast was AMAZING- fresh breads, fruits, pastries/cakes, cheeses- hands down fantastic to wake up to. All you have to do is just let them know what time and they will bring to your room. Pretty sure no other place in Old San Juan can match their breakfast and personal interest in making sure you get the most enjoyment out of your stay. Highly recommend to anyone coming to Old San Juan and we will definitely stay there again when we go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

After seeing many negative reviews for accommodations in San Juan, I was pleased to find positive reviews for La Terraza. I booked our room, Two B, from their website and hoped for the best.
This hotel is in an ideal location for a home base in Old San Juan, Our room was charming, comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really good and brought to our room exactly at the requested time both mornings. We spent our mornings and late afternoon/evening out and about and returned to the air conditioned room during the heat at midday.
This room has a large bedroom, bathroom and kitchen, with breakfast bar, but no actual seating area. A shared seating area was outside the front door. I would definitely stay here again if we returned to San Juan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at this B&B for one night on our way back home after 8 days touring other parts of the Puerto Rico and Vieques. I was really looking forward to it based on the reviews, and feel bummed to even write this, but it didn't live up to our expectations. In short, we were glad we were only there for one night.

Pros:

The location of this property is terrific - wonderfully easy to get around Old San Juan and easy to find. Feels safe and secure (you are given a gate code).

The proprieters of the B&B were extremely helpful, almost to a fault. While they spent a tremendous amount of time acquainting us with our environs and giving recommendations on places to eat and things to see, it was almost information overload and got to the point where we were politely looking at our watches, trying to subtly get out of there. The local guide that they e-mail you before arrival, however, is terrific.

Cons:

We stayed in a smaller one bedroom unit that can be part of a larger apartment (which we did not see). There is a common foyer that had very thin walls, so you could hear anyone outside of our door. This would have been annoying had we been there for more than one night.

While the room was nicely furnished, the linens felt somewhat cheap, and there were no windows (despite lovely tall ceilings - the history of the building is pretty neat).

The bathroom seemed clean, but just barely. The bathroom mat looked like it had had better days, and overall, the bathroom seemed to need a deep clean, rather than a cursory once-over between guests. Worst of all, we couldn't get any hot water during our stay, only barely lukewarm showers.

Breakfast was just ok - great coffee, but we didn't think the spread was anything special to write home about.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I booked this room prior to a cruise. We stayed three days and found the room clean quiet and peaceful. I really enjoyed the way the room was decorated it was very comfortable. It's located in Old San Juan which let us explore on foot the entire area. The morning breakfast was good I enjoyed everything about it. The owner was very cheerful and willing to assist you with your needs. When I return to San Juan I will stay at the La Terraza it is that nice. Off all the places I have stayed this is one of the best if not thee best. If your looking for a great place to stay in San Juan this is it.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter which room I booked the double room as the others were sold out. It cost more but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Perfect place to stay in Old San Juan! Walking distance (minutes) to the main strip of restaurants and stores in Old San Juan! Devon and Joe were extremely accommodating to our needs of staying one night (pre-cruise) for our family of 4. The hotel was very beautiful and clean. The balcony was great for looking out into the street. The roof-top terrace was great for taking pictures of Old San Juan. When we booked our reservation, Devon sent me an email with a concierge book attached with great ideas on places to visit and eat at during our stay. The continental breakfast served in our room was fantastic and quite delicious! Next time, we will definitely stay longer than one night!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Let me just start out by saying, that this, small charming hotel, is the warmest, most quiet hotel I have ever stayed. I have traveled to many places throughout the world, and stayed at some nice hotels, but this one, is just like being at home, but You are thousands of miles away. It's hard to pinpoint exactly why that is, but let me say it begins, by the friendly staff, fom Joe, Devon, as well as the rest of the staff. When You enter the hotel, it's subtle colors, make You feel right at ease. It has such an overwhelming clean quality to it, that it stands out above all other hotels in Old San Juan. This was my second time being in Puerto Rico, and I stayed at the El Convento, as well as the El Conquistador in Fagardo. While they were nice hotels, La Terrraza stands out well above them. From the freshly made breakfast, delivered to Your room daily, to the nightly pleasure of a bottle of wine on the Terrace, this is the best of the best. When Your looking for a hotel to stay, while in Old San Juan, do Your research, and You'll find out why so many people stay here, when they return. It is a convenient walk to anywhere in Old San Juan.....P.S. I stayed here for 10 days in early January, and am just finding the time to right this review. The good thing to know, is I try to get away every 3-4 months from work, for a relaxing weekend. I will be back in Old San Juan, staying at La Terraza in May.......Can't Wait!!!!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in a one bedroom, with no kitchen, and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Terraza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza Hotel

Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza’s trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan’s historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters.La Terraza is San Juan’s newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest’s needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Terraza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terraza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.