We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old San Juan Hidden Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terraza Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Terraza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Terraza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates Starting @ $105 !!
Ranked #1 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old San Juan Hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We were looking to sat at Old San Juan during spring break and we were lucky enough to find La Terraza de San Juan Hotel. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment/suite and it was gorgeous... tastefully decorated...simple and yet elegant. Huge kitchen, beautiful bedrooms with extremely comfortable beds & pillows. Last but NOT least… the terrace on the top floor had an amazing view; it was a delight to sit up there at night and enjoy the astounding Caribbean breeze. The location was perfect! Close to many restaurants & attractions & plenty of shopping locations. Zsaritsa, the manager, was very charming and extremely helpful and knowledgeable of the area and made us feel right at home. We would recommend this to anyone and look forward to visiting and staying at La Terraza de San Juan again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    16
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
67
91
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Arriving at this hotel was a pleasant surprise. We ended up arriving to San Juan several hours before check in and Szaritsa(sp) made it possible for us to put our luggage in the room so we could explore town. We were a family of 3 adults and 2 children and there was plenty of room in the 2 bedroom unit #5. The place is a mix of old style and modern. The kitchen was beautiful and the living room had 2 large couches with a flat screen tv. The beds were comfortable and very nice bathrooms. The upstairs patio is beautiful amazying views and beautiful plants. The place is just a few blocks away from the main shopping area and restaurants. We could walk to the forts and the free trolley. Whenever we called Szaritsa quickly responded. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

My husband & I stayed two nights at La Terraza Hotel before we boarded a Southern Caribbean cruise for our honeymoon. The hotel is fairly new and we took a gamble on staying there, as there were no online reviews at that time. It was a gamble that paid off!

Szaritza, the hotel manager, is energetic and friendly! Before our trip, we chatted on the phone and via e-mail and her correspondence was prompt and informational. Upon our arrival, she provided us with a map and made recommendations on some local bars, restaurants, site, etc.

The hotel is gorgeous - beautiful tile, bright colored stucco and hand painted wall designs/borders. Our apartment had a full kitchen and living room and Szaritza even left us a bottle of champagne, a sweet treat and rose petals on our bed as a special honeymoon surprise.

The hotel restaurant wasn't yet opened when we arrived, but we were within blocks of some great restaurants and bars and never ONCE needed a cab (aside from the ride to/from the airport). We even walked (with our luggage) to the cruise ship port with no difficulties. We felt completely safe walking the streets, at any hour of the day/night.

We will DEFINITELY be back and we hope to bring our family and friends. This hotel is a gem in Old San Juan!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

I found this absolute gem of a hotel on Tripadvisor. Fairly new to the BNB hotels I decided to give it a try and book my stay. From the first phone call to my day of departure Zeritza was amazing!! She made sure to book my stay and re-confirm a few days before. When I arrived she made me and my friend right at home. She gave us a tour and answered all of our questions. The building is absolutely gorgeous. The architecture is rustic and authentic spaniard style with a modern flare. We stayed in the one bedroom apartment. My room was equipped with extra linens and the bed was ultra comfy. The terrace offered breath-taking views of the island. It was very quiet at night even though we were at the heart of it all. The restaurant, not open at the time, will be a big bonus offering authentic puerto rican cuisine. I am looking forward to returning to the island and will definitly stay at La Terraza. Thanks to Zeritza and the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

This is a fantastic hotel. Me and my partner have been to Puerto Rico several times and have stayed in several different hotels.

We can honestly say this is our favourite by far. It is a boutique hotel in one of the best locations in Old San Juan. Close enough to all the best restaraunts and sights (3-5 mins walk to be exact) yet located far enough away from the main route where all the late night revellers disturb your sleep with their 2am walk home (which we have had in the past at other hotels).

The accomodation is all high spec with only the best appliances in the fully stainless steel kitchen and the beds are very comfy with all brand new linens. It really is a high end home away from home.

When booking ask for Zaretsa who made our stay extremely comfortable, and was there when ever we had any questions about restaraunts we had not tried or directions to places we had not been before.

If your used to the finer things in life and appreciate cleanliness and upmarket accomodation and want stay away from the souless big corporate hotel chains this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Terraza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza Hotel

Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza’s trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan’s historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters.La Terraza is San Juan’s newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest’s needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Terraza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terraza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.