We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & Cheap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Manolin

Cafe Manolin
251 San Justo, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
7877239743
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 684 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good & Cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We found this while touring Old San Juan. We asked a police officer for a good breakfast spot and he told us about this place. Nice and cheap. No wait. We ate breakfast twice here and really liked it. It was very cheap as well. Also, my fiance, having no Spanish in his life, learned what huevos & tocineta was. LOL

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    146
    35
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Windsor, Maryland
2 reviews
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is an excellent place for breakfast and lunch. The locals frequent here- the food is great and cheap, and the service is wonderful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

There's a reason that folks wait for a table here -- this place is AMAZING! I've eaten here several times and it is always delicious! Sit at the counter for faster service (if there's a line for tables) -- but really, don't rush through this excellent meal....I highly recommend the shrimp mofongo but it's all great, reasonably priced food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great lunch at great prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Daily lunch specials are all good. Do expect lines to get in at lunchtime because of the great values. Limited hours.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Puerto Rican Diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

we were there for lunch after we saw people standing in line at the entrance .
Menu is simple nothing exciting , we took mofango (local dish from plantain mash I and meat - was too heavy and thick and chicken with rice and beans -too salty more bones than meat .
was average and below . we skipped dessert
Service was old fashioned and slow .
Nice atmosphere like 60's diner (probably actually from the 60's)

Bottom line : ok food , don't think we would come back .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Manolin also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cafe Manolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Manolin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.