We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, better prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Manolin

Cafe Manolin
251 San Justo, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
7877239743
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 639 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, better prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My girlfriends and I were taken to this cafe' by our tour guide from Natural Wonders PR. The place is not "fancy" as far as decor, but the food was absolutely FABULOUS. The prices were just where they needed to be, MODERATE. I had eaten mofongo at other places around town, but this was probably the best. It may have been the cost, but my girlfriends raved over their steaks, rice and beans, and even the sweet tea.

Trust me, this place is a must to get full on moderate prices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    146
    35
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The absolute best mofongo in San Juan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

You must eat the mofongo here. This may be the best Puerto Rican food I have ever had. The prices are also very good. It is busy and seating is limited but just wait it out. If there is just two of you, grab two empty seats at the counter. Otherwise, you queue for a table, but it is worth the wait.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great local morning food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Locals fill this place from early morning to closing time of 4pm. Wonderful espresso/cappuccino made from Puerto Rican coffee beans ($1.65). Two eggs and curly bacon or ham plus toast ($3.95). Friendly, english-speaking staff. We felt like familia.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent for Informal Local Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Fast service. Hectic, busy at lunch time. This food joint has been around for many years. I visit weekly . They have a special lunch menu, but sometimes you have to ask for it. The food is tasty and features local dishes. Breakfast is efficient and the mood is relaxed compared to lunch time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Try the tres Leches cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great cafe. Try the coffee w/milk and the Tres Leches cake. It's the most delicious dessert I have ever eaten.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Manolin also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cafe Manolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Manolin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.