We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in the middle of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada San Francisco Old San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Posada San Francisco Old San Juan to your Saves list
Posada San Francisco Old San Juan
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   405 San Francisco Street | 5th floor, San Juan 00902, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Bucharest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place in the middle of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Posada San Francisco is located in the Plaza Colon. The building is wonderful, has a history and a terrific view. The rooms are normal size, nothing too fancy. The bathrooms are located outside, but they are very clean and usually you don't have to wait because they are a lot. It is perfect for your budget and for the location.

Pros +
+ great location
+ clean
+ host is very helpful
+ good view
+ a very very big kitchen with everything you need
+ PRICE is very low

Cons -
- some of the showers didn't have a good pressure, but it only happened once.

Room Tip: Enjoy your breakfast on the balcony. Very nice view and a great way to start your day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    79
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
31
107
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have stayed in many hostels throughout Europe and by now I know not to expect much of the accommodations, but this place didn't disappoint at all. I stayed here with my hubby May 2011. We were specifically looking for a hostel because most of what San Juan offers is huge hotels/resorts on the beach east of the city, but we preferred a smaller place with a little more local charm and this place has it all. Location is perfect. Rooms are basic with bed and small fridge. Bathrooms are shared, but were very clean when we stayed there. A couple time we bumped into the owners cleaning up. The hostel is located on two floors in a perfect location--the view is amazing. We met a lot of great people here, mostly young travelers from around the world. Everything is close to this hostel and just sitting on the balcony offers some great people watching. If you like hostels, want to meet great people and dont really care if you have a private bathroom or tv in your room then this is the place for you. If you're looking for some fancy getaway then head east to the beach hotel zone.
We had breakfast each morning at Cafe Mallorca and walked everywhere. We plan to stay here again on our next visit to PR! The price is affordable. I booked through hostelworld.com

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I booked a private room, because even paying for 2 in the room was cheaper than a hotel room in OSJ. This place is definitely more of a hostel than a hotel. It is a small family ou go up in an original 1930's elevator to check in on the 6th floor. Private rooms are on the 5th floor. There is a full kitchen and a balcony overlooking the Plaza de Colon. THe location is pretty good, right next to the Fortaleza, and about 1 mile to El Morro, the farthest point in Old San Juan. It is a very walkable area.
Check in was easy. I was led to my room by the manager. The door to the room did not have a door knob, just a handle to pull it opened/ closed. You had to use the key to close/lock the door after you step out of the room. The room was adequate. It had an a/c unit, and also a window that opened to an interiorventilation shaft. There was a door within the room which I thought was the bathroom, but it was a closet with shelves, no hangers. There is a small refrigerator. There was no tv, nor a desk/ table to put things on.
There were 3 bathrooms on the hall, only one of which had a shower that worked. One had an old bathtub, and the other was just a toilet and sink. All three had all the original tile, which had been abused quite a bit. It was cracked, and actually worn down in places. I think it was somewhat clean, but it was difficult to tell from looking at it. The toilet area did look clean, at least. There was a basket of washclothes for people to use, as well as 2 towels in the room.
There is no a/c or other ventilation in the bathrooms. Make sure to use shower shoes! * Unfortunately, I did not take pics of the bathroom- probably a good thing for the hotel!
Oh, and there are advertised activities, but it really just depends if anyone shows up- on the days I was there, nobody else showed up to do the activities ( Bacardi Distillery, trip to a beach), so I was on my own.
If you are looking for a cheap hotel room, I would encourage you to spend a few extra dollars and stay in an actual hotel. This place was definitely more of a hostel than a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanfranciscodeasis, Owner at Posada San Francisco Old San Juan, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
You paid the cheapest room we had $40 a night ( might I add we do have rooms with satellite TV for $5.00 extra ) And other review mention this . We are a super expensive Island but we can afford our prices because our whole family works for the business. You also booked through Hostel booking site which is specifically for hostels. This site says all common areas including bathrooms are shared; In fact the room you booked is called Budget Basic private with shared bathroom. That gives you the clue we are a pension/ guest house; Not a 2 or 3 not a 4 or 5 star place. Our Tripadvisor listing is on the specialty tab; meaning we are not advertising as hotel.

Yet Your whole review is based on how we are not a hotel; and things we are missing to be one. I think the best advice for you is that you should not shop by price but what you like.

And some people enjoy the relaxed; Homey feel of a Hostel / guest house with sleep privacy or Dorms where than can meet travelers from all over the world and keep a budget. You can save By cooking..as in Most restaurants a meal for 2 is more than a nights with us. People enjoy to group up and when they get along naturally......they travel together and share cost. I am sorry you were not able to make a group or find other guest that you liked to share this experience.

I also took time to read all your other reviews and noticed very rarely are you happy with your choice; unless a global brand several stars up hotels. So this should always be your choice.



We work very hard to have the rare budget place in Puerto Rico were all hotels exceed the $100.. We are very transparent with our place and always upfront about the type of place we are a simple basic ; clean affordable place in a Old Historic town with its quirks; We hope future guest that come understand this and dont just shop by price; because to be unhappy why even travel if you can do this from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The ocean somewhere
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Really cool hostel in the centre of Old San Juan. I walked everywhere, hassle free; beach, city, bus, castles and food joints. Hostel is clean, a really amazing view and cheapest I have found on the island. Definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have only good things to say about this great find. Can't beat the location and the price is terrific, especially if you are on a budget. Accommodations were very clean and comfortable. This is a no-frills hotel, so don't expect a plush, five-star experience; what you do get is a great deal and loads of charm, even down to the old-style, European elevator. Special kudos to the mom and daughter team who run the Posada San Francisco; charming and efficient--who could ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel over labor day weekend 2012. It was very easy to find since it overlooked Colon Square. We checked in early on Saturday morning, placing our luggage in the storage room. The owner recommended a cafe down the street for lunch and wa very helpful with recommending places for us to try. We came back later in the day when our room wa ready. We had a private room with a king size bed, a refridgerator and a flat screen satellite television. We didn't really use the tv, however the fridge was very handy. We were able to always have cold water this way. Also, the air conditioning worked great! I want to stress this is a hostel...there were others staying who were expecting the amenities of a hotel, and were not happy. I would definitely stay here again based on location and price!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a beautiful place! We stayed on the 6th floor (private). Our room was simple, clean and had small touches that made it very comfortable. The common areas were perfect to enjoy a view of the bay and really get into vacation mode. The owners were so sweet and worked so hard to make the place run. The location couldn't have been better. It was only 2 blocks away from the main strip of restaurants, street food and cafés all around, and only 6 blocks away from a beach, directly next to Castillo de San Cristobal. When checking in, take the old elevator up to the 6th floor (you may need to call the owners if they are not at the desk). You won't be disappointed here.

Room Tip: 5th and 6th floors are privates, 4th is the dorm. The balconies are on common areas, not rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada San Francisco Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada San Francisco Old San Juan

Address: 405 San Francisco Street | 5th floor, San Juan 00902, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Posada San Francisco Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location for budget travelers that want to experience living in the Old Town. Emphasis on cleanliness and daily up keeping of all common areas. We are 15 min walk to the beach, 5 min walk to bus terminal and 10 min walk from Old San Juan pier. Very close to all historic sites and restaurants. The accommodation is overlooking the plaza Colon and bay. There are 9 rooms / 6 shared bathrooms. Prices fluctuate $45-$55 (per room, max 2). Newly renovated interiors. All rooms have AC and clean white sheets and comforters. There is a common kitchen and 2 common TV areas w/satellite. 2 balconies and wireless internet in the floor + the cafes underneath offer free wifi also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Posada San Francisco Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada San Francisco Old San Juan Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada San Francisco Old San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.