We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Puerto Rico

Cafe Puerto Rico
208 O'Donnel Plaza Colon, San Juan, Puerto Rico
(787) 724-2281
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 639 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Seattle
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“What a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We has a great Puerto Rican dinner at Cafe Puerto Rico. The staff was incredibly friendly, and the food was delicious and reasonably priced. The chicken and rice was great. The 3 milk cake for dessert was also very delicious. The best part was the warm and friendly service we received. A delightful memory of a night in old San Juan.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    238
    63
    32
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acampo, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place for a large group too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Excellent food with local flair, great drinks, awesome appies & the service team was very attentive & allowed our group of 12 to enjoy the evening there after the restaurant had closed for the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittstown, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Not sure what to expect in old San Juan for restaurants...what a find!! Had a group of 15 upstairs ...the food is incredible , fresh , cooked to order and large. Equally as impressive is the staff..professional , warm , funny and quite frankly made our dinner an experience rather than just a meal ....highly recommend !!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A real disappointment.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The hotel concierge recommended this place for a typical Puerto Rican meal. It's in a nice section of the old town. Perhaps had I reserved an outdoor table I would have liked it more but there was no space outside when I got there. The inside was crowded and really noisy. The service was shabby. It took ten minutes to get a beer. My fried chicken nugget appetizer was so overcooked and dried out it was like chewing on flavorless leather. I complained to the waitress and she said that's how we eat it here. The mafongo was also tasteless though the garlic shrimp on top quite tasty. I just hated the place and couldn't wait to finish my meal and get out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
“Great food, great service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I had no prior experience in Puerto Rican food so I wont be able to say if it was authentic or not. But the taste was great with awesome portions!! I had yellow rice with sausages and my wife had the eggplant staffed chicken. Both dishes pretty much topped whatever we had anywhere in Puerto Rico. The service was pretty good too considering the lunch hour rush. I also loved the old world ambiance and decor of the place. Highly recommended from a very satisfied customer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Puerto Rico also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Puerto Rico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.