We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Little Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Puerto Rico

Cafe Puerto Rico
208 O'Donnel Plaza Colon, San Juan, Puerto Rico
(787) 724-2281
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 639 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Little Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were told to try this little place by an employee at our hotel. Her recommendation was spot on! This place was great! Awesome food and wonderful service. Puerto Rican cuisine at its best!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    238
    63
    32
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

While on vacation my fiancé and I were in search if authentic Puerto Rican food and stubbled upon this place. I have had outstanding puerto rican dishes in NY, so i was hoping that this place would satisfy my craving.

I ordered Arroz con Pollo (chicken and rice) and was extremely disappointed. Both the rice and the chicken were dry and flavorless. The wait staff were attentive and nice, but the food was terrible. I would not recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Always Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

For the best experience of puerto rican food in Old San Juan you may try Cafe Puerto Rico. Their specialty is the mofongo in different components and stuffed with whatever you want. Chicken, vegetables, beef or seafood. Prices are moderate and atmosphere is good. They have other dishes, lunch specials, and even salads. Desserts are home made and are delicious. When in San Juan let Cafe Puerto Rico be your first stop for lunch or dinner. Service is very friendly and the owner-manager is always on site for assurance of good servce and quality. You will have a choice of dinning indoor or outside. We prefer outside because the city square across the street is awesome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The food was okay...not so authentic. We were a party of 12 and we were treated quite well but the food was not all that. I enjoyed my fare but several in our party found it unappetizing. Sorry...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Best mofongos in Puerto Rico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We loved the crab mofongos with yucca, and the shrimp yucca mofongos. They were simply out of this world!! The. mojitos were delicious too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Puerto Rico also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Puerto Rico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.