We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mo-fongo, less problems” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar

Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar
307 Calle Fortaleza | Rooftop Hotel Milano, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
+1 787-725-4860
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 627 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Located on the rooftop of the Hotel Milano this lively rooftop restaurant & bar serves up great and authentic Puerto Rican food in an informal atmosphere at great prices. The best Mofongo in Old San Juan. Buy 1 Get 1 Free Mojitos every day from open to close! Come check out the best rooftop view of the Old City and enjoy great local food. Family Friendly!
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mo-fongo, less problems”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Mofongo with camarones in criolla sauce is the best mofongo I have ever had (ok, out of maybe 20 ever). I feel bad for people who eat their first mofongo here, because it's all down hill after PdV. Super friendly staff as well. I look forward to going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    182
    51
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The food is amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The food is amazing and the mojitos are great, great location and A+ service. Most plates are bellow $10

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pocket book friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

On Nov 10 ,We went to this restaurant based on previous reviews and found that staff were friendly and helpful when we placed our order.The dinner was very good and the price was reasonable compared to other local restaurants.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Long wait and raspberry mojito that tastes like Robitussin!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just had dinner here with my partner, not sure what all the fuss is about. First of all the place is more like a bar than a restaurant. We waited over an hour to get our food! And it seemed like most other tables had the same problem. Their excuse is that everyone came at the same time, what?! Maybe they should not have so many tables set up outside if they cannot get the food out to the patrons in a timely fashion. And the food was mediocre at best, nothing to write home about. I have had better Puerto Rican food in NYC.

To add insult to injury, the raspberry mojito did not taste like raspberry at all, more like Robitussin syrup! Gross!! Definitely do not recommend this establishment at all.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdvosj, Owner at Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hi dknlin, I completely understand your frustration & remember you and your guest. As you recall the night you visited there was a sudden rainstorm and we had to reconfigure our outdoor seating as well as 15-tables of customers appeared within a 5-minute period. Rather than create a 'false' wait for tables we kindly advised a few guests there would be a delay in receiving their meal as we have a small kitchen which cooks meals to order. Therefore there was a delay vs. waiting 45minutes to receive a table and then your food in a 20-25minute time period. My staff always does their best to ensure guest satisfaction. I am sure they would have replaced your Black Razzberry Mojito should you have asked or expressed your dissatisfaction. As always we do our best to clarify that we ARE the corner BAR offering great food at affordable prices. Thank you for your review as it will assist future guests as well as assist us in streamlining our efficiencies in communication when we have a rare occurwnce such as the one you experienced. .. Ciao, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best quality for the price!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Punto De Vista is amazing food and very authentic. My favorites are the Mahi Mahi and the Churrasco skirt steak. You can never go wrong with either or especially with their blended rice! I highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for real Puerto Rican food. Not to mention buy one get one free mojitos all day everyday. Enjoy!!!! =)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.