We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty spot for coffee and meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caficultura

Caficultura
Calle San Francisco, 401, San Juan, Puerto Rico
787-723-7731
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 24 Coffee & Tea in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pretty spot for coffee and meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stopped here for an iced latte; we'd already had lunch, but the menu looks great. If we'd been in SJ longer, we definitely would have returned. The coffee was excellent, and is from a Puerto Rican farm. Our server was attentive and fun to talk to. The decor was very sweet, with marble-topped tables and art by Rafael Trufino on the wall. It's a wonderful spot to take a break while seeing Old San Juan!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    121
    38
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved the on street tables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stopped to have a drink one late afternoon and liked it so much that we returned the next day for lunch. Wonderful staff, outdoor setting and presentation of food, possibly enhanced because we're from the NE USA and it was December!.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing coffee, breakfast ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

i don't even like coffee, but their coffee drinks are delicious. i wanted to come back and try the specialty drinks on the menu. the food was a little above average-not amazing. my husband and i love brunch, and we had very high expectations of this place. the coconut/pineapple french toast was good, the eggs were ok. portions were small. i've heard lunch is great here, but didn't get a chance to try it. i will definitely come back for the coffee when i come back to PR someday. our server, roberto, was great and very helpful. the facility itself is so cute. note-we had to wait about 20 minutes for a table on a monday morning, this place always seems to be packed

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Late Lunch 2:00 pm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Place is not half full - it took 15 minutes to serve a lemonade and 20 for the papaya shake. We have been seated for 60 minutes and still waiting for our order, just a salad (they don't have aurugula nor spinach, so lettuce was accepted as a substitute) and the black bean burguers. I have seen at least 3 tourist couples leaving the place - this place is as good as slow. I hope it's because today us Monday! Anyway I'll give it a second chance before the end of the week. Just a bad day? But.... The best coffee, Yes!
I'll be back as this place was recommended by many friends.
Conclusion: Very Good - Very Slow!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caficultura, Owner at Caficultura, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to review us. I do hope you give us a second chance as this is not our usual service.

It would help us to make the necessary adjustments if you can identify for us the waiter or waitress who took care of you.

Regards,

Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Olde San Juan morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is a great spot for coffee and/or breakfast. Baristas are artisans with Latte and Capuccino and great food. The breakfast sandwich is one of the best and there is a perfect vegetarian egg dish - kind of between scrambled eggs and omelette

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caficultura also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Caficultura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caficultura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.