We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casita Suite: Historic House - SJ Arts District

The sliding door to your bedroom.
The sliding door to your bedroom.
The sliding door to your bedroom.
Casa Museo de los Santos: Historic house with 3 one-bedroom rental suites, museum & art gallery.
Reception and office is located in 'Museo de los Santos'.
Entry lobby shared by all three suites, museum and art gallery.
Lobby has 24/7 coffee/tea available. Extra linen and emergency supplies if you forget something.
San Juan
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LadyPR201...
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Repeat customers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have stayed in the different room options Richard has prepared, and whenever we are in San Juan, we would stay nowhere else. Richard is a wealth of information about the latest in the island, from restaurants, the economy, cultural events and I can go on and on. He has transformed this unassuming place into a small castle, with the conveniences of modern day life.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
fyrkit10
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This was my 1st ( and my husband's 2nd) visit to Puerto Rico. Not having any expectations, but knowing how we like to 'explore' when traveling, we decided to take a chance and stay outside of the touristy confines of Old San Juan. So glad we did! We saw this gem, were intrigued by its charm, great price and the good reviews. It exceeded our expectations!

Our host Richard was exceptional, prompt and a great storyteller to boot! We received an unexpected, yet fascinating tour of the neighborhood of Santurce from an experienced Santurcian! it included excellent recommendations on where to hang out, and eat! The Mercado, and Jose Enrique's....

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, and would definitely stay there during future visits, which we are planning.;-)


An artsy blossoming area near both OSJ and the beach.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The balconies!, and of course, Richard!!!!
Liked least: The water pressure in the shower...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Itzrin
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The apartment and the owner … soooo good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The location is right in the middle of San Juan, so everything is accessible.
The apartment was huge (we rented the second floor apartment) with fully equipped kitchen and a king size bed.
Richard, the owner, was most hospitable and cooperative. When we arrived he gave us a "tour" in the apartment and then he gave us a real tour of the neighborhood. Everything we needed (info and so) he was happy to provide.
We Recommend and we'll stay there again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The look, atmosphere
Liked least: shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DrPatty
Arkansas, U.S.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“perfect location; knowledgeable host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Arts district is not Condado or OSJ but a perfect location for the adventurous traveler who wants to have access to northern PR and a host that really knows the island. Richard sent loads of materials after booking. The house is lovely and right off Ponce de Leon about 3 miles east of OSJ--but you can catch the bus to OSJ within a block and have the added advantage of access to the free beach, museums and the Market. If you love learning about the culture and want to visit many restaurants outside condado or OSJ this is the place to stay. A 20 minute walk to La Casa Blanca, about the same to Jose Enrique and the bus ride to OSJ gives you access to a myriad of top restaurants--prices vary from the inexpensive local spots to the elegant, pricy top spots. I stayed in the penthouse suite, but all the room options are charming. The price was exceedingly reasonable since San Juan in general is very expensive. Although it is not a B & B Abracadabra just 2 doors away has awesome breakfasts and you can be in OSJ in about 15 minutes by bus (at 0.50 a ride far better than the "interesting option" of cabs, which I found crazy. Note the free beach is actually much nicer I think than the options in Condado and there are no beaches in OSJ--just saying for those who are beach freaks--I am the foodie so this was a great jumping off point. If I did not have the obligations of the convention I later attended and the hotel I stayed at for convenience of meeting I honestly would have stayed here the entire time. A five star rating. Some might find the neighborhood a bit transitional but I felt safe alone on the streets. Only limitation I can see is 10 blocks to good restaurants in walking distance in evenings on Sunday and Monday given shut down outside Candado and OSJ--but just take the bus. Get to know the culture.

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
TerryandD...
LaSalle, Canada
1 review
“Superlative accommodations, host and location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

The owner, Richard, met us at the apartment and provided a quick tour of the facilities (we rented the top floor apartment) followed by a walking tour of the neighbourhood. All very informative and helpful!!! Very clean facility which left you wanting for nothing except a return visit. The only small negative was the water temp in the shower, which ran hot and cold. Overall we were very satisfied with this excellent rental facility.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
OttawaRev...
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great option to be in the middle of everything for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Richard did a great job. He was very helpful during the booking process and he took some time after checking in to show us around the neighbourhood. During the week he even brought us some treats!

We stayed in the Casita which was reasonable two people. A big bed with a big screen tv and a washroom. There was also a shared kitchen available and we cooked a lot of meals on site and saved a lot of money that way. Place was clean and within walking distance to the beach and Condado along with one bus ride to old San Juan. I'd stay again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Anthony M
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great stay in Santurce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Calle Saldana for a week in December and were completely satisfied with the accommodations. Open air kitchen fully equipped even with spices and a porch on both ends of our second floor flat. Richard was an amazing host and tour guide for the neighborhood. Abracadabra was on the corner and just deluxe for breakfast. Richard also gave us a tour of the neighborhood and the Plaza de Mercado Santurce, which was hopping on Thursday and Friday nights. Great restaurants nearby, especially Jose Enrique. Google maps make no sense because of the one way streets but the location allowed easy access to art galleries, performance venues, coffee shops, a supermarket, beaches and a short bus ride to Old San Juan. Richard also gave us directions to Camuy Caverns, El Yunque, Liquillo Beach and elsewhere. Cable tv and WiFi, we couldn't have asked for much more. When we come back to San Juan, we know where to book.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$89
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Richard H.
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2010
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 7 days ago
$10,000 Peace of Mind Guarantee
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing