We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Adventure

Aqua Adventure
San Juan Bay Marina | Ave Fdz Juncos PDA 10.5, San Juan 00902, Puerto Rico
+1 787-636-8811
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aqua Adventure brings fun to your vacations. Our SNUBA, SCUBA, Snorkeling and Sea Trek adventures will give you the awesome opportunity to explore the underwater universe. Don't miss out on the tropical islands, magnificent coral reefs and amazing sea life that Puerto Rico has to offer.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went SCUBA diving from the Copamarina Resort to a nearby reef. Our guide, Alex was very knowledgeable and highly informative about the do's and don'ts whlie diving. He led six of us down (2 certified, 4 non) in the water and we had about an hour-long session exploring the picturesque coral reef and marine life surrounding it.

Satisfactory company with helpful staff and good tours. Recommended.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    34
    3
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, VA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was not sure how this would turn out since it was at 3:30 (noon is best) and it was inshore near the Hilton Caribe. Basically it was just some rocks in about 12 feet of water. The guide Veronica was great and was able to take some great pictures with some animals in hand.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake, Iowa
1 review
“Snuba with Veronica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Awesome snuba experience with Veronica at the Hotel Lagoon. We first decided to rent snorkeling equipment and made arrangements for a guided snorkeling tour that afternoon. Alejandro recommended the snuba experience with Veronica. It was a windy but warm day and we didn't want to spend time driving somewhere else and found that Veronica was a great teacher of snuba. I felt confident going snuba diving with my 12 year old daughter. It was worth every penny. She lead us around the bottom of the lagoon always checking that we were okay. She took some wonderful photos of us under water and showed us some of the curious sea creatures that were living in the lagoon. A tiny crab with tiny blue pinchers, a sea urchin, a sea anemone as well as providing food to feed the fish so that we could really have an up close experience. It was thrilling. I would highly recommend this experience with Aqua adventures. It was worth the money.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We did snuba with Veronica at the hilton and it was amazing. It was the first time we were doing so. She coached us well. Five stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice snorkeling trip, but not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This review is for the snorkeling trip to caja del muerto.

We were looking for something to do on Christmas Day since most of San Juan closes down. We found aqua adventures online, and booked the tour for 145/person for transportation from San Juan to the dock, the trip to the island, lunch and snorkeling gear. We did a number of similar trips in st thomas and always had a great time.

We were picked up on time in a white van. But unfortunately the trip got off to a sour note right away - the last family of four to arrive had to squash into the back seat of the van, which although has four seats, is not really meant for four grown adults. They elected to skip the trip altogether rather than sit their for the hour+ ride each way.

The rest of the day was very nice and we enjoyed ourselves, however for the price we were paying I really would have expected much better service! The boat was cramped and uncomfortable ( and not even filled to max capacity!) and the lunch was horrendous. Cheapest bread, cheese and deli meat for a tasteless sandwich, some chips and fruit. Also one of the guides was really immature and didn't even know any information about the fish and island - and then spent half the trip talking on his phone. They also left the snorkelers without any guide during the optional joke, which doesn't seems safe to me.

Overall we enjoyed ourselves, however for the cost it just wasn't worth it. If they could improve on a few things they would have a great trip.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaAdventure1, Manager at Aqua Adventure, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Alexandra,

Although we are glad to read that you enjoyed your snorkeling trip to Caja de Muerto, we must clarify certain aspects of your review.

Our transportation vehicle, a Ford E-350 econoline van, is rated by the Puerto Rico tourism company to carry up to 17 passengers. Keeping in mind that we will carry passengers of different sizes we never fill the van to its maximum capacity, instead we only seat 14 passengers for more comfort. By the time the last family to be picked up entered our van there were 10 people in the van with plenty of room for 4 more people. So where was the problem? Our vehicle wasn’t suitable for their “bigger” needs.

On the day of your tour our boat had 19 passengers, including yourselves. Our boat, which is a Delta 42 footer for snorkeling and SCUBA is fully certified by the US Coast Guard and rated to carry up to 30 passengers. This type of boat has few luxuries, and is made to handle adverse ocean conditions while still being able to transport divers and snorkelers with their gear. Nowhere in our hotel publications or Internet site is it marketed that we use a catamaran or yacht for this trip. If you are accustomed to the luxury catamaran tours of St.Thomas, we are sorry, but unfortunately it is not our case.

In regards to our lunch: our food is much more than “tasteless sandwiches some chips and fruits”. Our lunch is composed of either rotisserie sliced chicken, honey ham, or sliced smoked turkey sandwiches. We offer an assortment of potato chips, granola and fruit bars. Fresh fruits are always offered like strawberries, bananas, and grapes and on your particular tour, Alejandro our main guide, cut up a fresh pineapple for everybody. The bread that we use in our sandwiches is picked up everyday at 5am from local Puerto Rican bakery shops and is made fresh into sandwiches. We are having a hard time trying to understand how you can find this horrendous when we always receive complements on the taste of bread and meat slices. In fact, you are the first person EVER to complain about our food.

Unfortunately, we did have a guide who was having trouble answering questions about the local marine life and spent an awe full amount of time on his cell phone. We thank you for bringing this matter to us so that we can promptly correct that situation. For that we truly apologize.

Our second stop in caja de muerto is NOT a snorkeling site. That is clearly mentioned in our briefing on the boat. Although it is not a snorkeling site, the snorkeling gear is offered to our guests since the water is so clear. The area is extremely safe and shallow. No guide is needed. On this particular beach our past participants have been lucky enough to see stingrays, manatees, and even dolphins. For our guests and us, this is no “joke”; these are experiences that become once in a lifetime events for many of our customers.

We thank you once again for reviewing our excursion to caja de muerto and we are truly glad you and your husband enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Aqua Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.