We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad room location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton to your Saves list
Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$159 (USD)
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Austin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad room location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

While the hotel itself is nice. Great location and amenities, nice pool, private beach and more, our stay was horrible due to our room location. We were right next to the housekeeping closet, which they started banging around around 6am and also as late as 11pm. Aside from this, it was also located next to the elevator, which added to the noise levels. I spoke to the front desk, but they said they couldn't move us since the room we book, a villa, were all taken. Considering the price we paid and the constant noises we heard, either waking us up or keeping us awake, it was definitely not worth the stay and price. At checkout, I complained again, but they couldn't remove anything from our bill to accommodate us. I asked to speak with a manager, but they just gave me an email to contact. I did, and he was nice to offer me a free 2 night stay at the hotel, but honestly, I'm not sure I'll make it back out to Puerto Rico again, making the vouchers almost useless.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience and I will keep your review in mind as we look towards refresh options.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    113
    77
    40
    24
See reviews for
102
130
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caribe Hilton, San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We experienced several problems, the worst of which was, after several hours of waiting, we entered into our ocean view villa room which was supposedly made ready and clean for us, but clearly had been left untouched for days, if not weeks, after the last guest vacated. In the sitting room, the garbage left under the sink stank beyond belief; dust, food, and dead bugs were everywhere, notably thick on the top of the fridge; and, there was food and a struggling cockroach on the floor. At that point, we didn't even bother to check the bedroom/bathroom, but promptly removed our luggage and went straight for the front desk. Upon checking out of the hotel, it was then we were told that the room we were given was in fact an "upgrade" from the room which was originally assigned to us. We could not believe it and wondered what the first room could possibly have looked like!! Apparently there was only one other possible room available, 10 stories up, with a view of the city....not at all what we had paid for and expected. And I am not comfortable with heights! This was our first time out of our country on vacation and we were very excited to be staying at "The Hilton". It seems an understatement to say that we were unimaginably disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your input and apologize you were disappointed in your stay.
We work hard to ensure our guests are comfortable. I will share your feedback with our maintenance team to work on improving their performance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great place great service! Jodie the bellman was the best! He accommodated all of our needs above and beyond expected! Room was great with excellent view. Pool is beautiful with lots of activities to do on site! Food at the swim up bar is good!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton while visiting beautiful Puerto Rico

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property and we are delighted to read your stay was a pleasant one. Your comments help us improve our product and service and better understand the needs of our guests. We will share with Jodie your great comments about his service.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Large resort hotel with many activities available. On the Atlantic side of PR so it is windy and there is much ocean surf. The main pool and smaller Villa pool were much colder than we expected. The constant music piped out to main pool and the man-made beach was tiresome for us. It was very crowded but it was Feb. school vacation week. Food expensive and good but not great--includes San Juan city tax and some gratuity...so adds up. We preferred the villas--quieter and we liked the view + some have kitchens or kitchenette so could make your own meals. Overall had a good time but too much going on for us, too noisy and everything crowded. Location is good but you do pay for taxis to Old San Juan. Very pretty bridge to walk to Condado etc. Can rent car easily too. It was nice to get away from winter. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice hotel but we prefer a quieter, less crowded, less activity on the Caribbean side of PR. PR itself has much to see and is a wonderful island (e.g., Old San Juan, El Morro/San Cristobal forts, El Yunque Rain Forest, Telescope Observatory, inland caves (can't remember name), other beaches on all sides of island with variety, friendly people, + delicious food from the island etc.) Help the stray/abandoned/abused dogs and cats by supporting Save A Gato (cat) and All Sato Rescue (dogs). Many dogs are left to die on beaches etc. However, beautiful island and beautiful people!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your candid feedback of your stay with us. We grateful for your comments since we are always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

the friendly outgoing people who we Interacted with made it impossible not to enjoy our trip. the restaurant staff made us feel like family. the concierge desk handled all of our needs beyond expectations, and with infectious smiles. Truly nice to be somewhere warm, and still feel at home. Older property, but well maintained. good location for our needs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton while visiting beautiful Puerto Rico

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property and we are delighted to read your stay was a pleasant one.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

the hotel is very beautiful a lot of charm people are very warm and friendly their is a star bucks on the lobby very tranquil and great vibe the beach was beautiful and private, in the other hand the house keeping suck they only clean my room twice on the whole week that i was their. other wise staff was very accommodating to our needs like room services the food was so good, gym ect,,best the beach wow so nice .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you sharing your great experience while in our property. Your feedback helps us better understand what areas of improvement need to be addressed. I will share your comments with our Housekeeping staff. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations with the cleanliness of your room. We hope we can serve again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We extended our vacation by staying another day after our cruise. We stayed in the Lagoon villa condos at a cheaper rate than the main hotel. We were able to use everything at the main hotel. We had a lovely, quiet room overlooking the ocean and the fort. Staff was very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you sharing your great experience while in our property. I am delighted to read our staff was attentive to your needs and we were able to meet your expectations. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the freedom and flexibility offered at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Part of the Caribe Hilton hotel complex, these spacious San Juan villa accommodations offer flexible units perfect for family retreats or large groups or gatherings. Set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, this acclaimed San Juan resort offers a secluded beach and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. The Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton are located just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU). Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton can be can be divided into three separate units or combined into spacious suites with a master bedroom, living room and fully equipped kitchen, many expanding up to 1,800 sq. Ft. Admire the ocean view from your villa with private balcony. Relax with a body massage at Olas Spa or indulge in a full spa package with a combination of treatments like massage, facial, and manicure. Take advantage of all that this Caribbean resort complex has to offer, including beach and water activities and dining at Morton's Steakhouse or just lie in a hammock with a drink, listening to the sound of the waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condado Lagoon Villas At Caribe Hilton Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.