We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great resort for a long weekend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton to your Saves list
Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$159 (USD)
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Scarborough, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great resort for a long weekend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Booked this trip through Last Minute Vacations and got a tremendous deal. We were looking for a 4 night respite from the cold that would be easy to get to. Caribe Hilton is about A 15 minute cab ride from the airport. At checkin they had us booked into the tower but immediately moved us to the Villas when shown our paperwork. The difference-the Villas have queen beds, kitchen facilities and decks or patios; the hotel has double beds and a mini fridge. The gentleman who complained about desk closing(open from 7am-11am) must not have been able to handle picking up the phone for the front desk. Jesus and Delores were very prompt to handle any problems. Unfortunately the follow through, was very slow by the affected departments. However the the Front Desk Manager Charilyz, Got the problems corrected and credited our account and delivered wine ,cheese and candy to the room for our inconvenience. They definitely understood service recovery. We spent much of our time at the resort, enjoying the beach, pools and mojitos. Took a beach dive one day and was pleasantly surprised by the variety of fish though not much coral. The gym and the spa were very nice as well. Highly recommend dinner at the Lemongrass, a wonderful outdoor setting next to a tropical garden and pond with white and black swans, mulitple types of ducks/geese, turtles,iguanas and peacocks. Be sure to have a drink at the bar with the bar tender Eddie. His specialty is Dragon Mojitos..
The resort is a 10 minute cab ride to old San Juan, 15 minute work to the Condado. Would definitely stay here again. Of course the trip was made sweeter by missing the 30 inch snow blizzard at home!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to respond to our questionnaire and we are delighted to know your stay was a pleasant one.

We thank you again for staying with us and would be thankful to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    113
    77
    40
    24
See reviews for
102
130
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Well, nice hotel, nice view of the ocean. Great staff...but I was expecting a WHOLE lot more from this condo-hotel. The room are acceptable, but not what you expect for $389 a night plus taxes. After 11 pm, you won't have front desk service, so make sure to have everything's in order. If you ask me if I would stay here again, I will have to tell you that for half the price you will be staying on a better hotel. That's my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton while visiting beautiful Puerto Rico

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. We take your comments seriously. We hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is in pleasant grounds within easy access of old San Juan by bus, taxi or a 30 minute walk.
Our room was spacious, extremely clean and the beds were excellent. There was a lap-top sized safe, fridge, microwave & coffee-maker. The reception staff (Dolores, Jesus & Omar) are professional, friendly and create a very welcoming atmosphere.
Housekeeping service is excellent, and a couple of minor issues (i.e broken light bulb) were dealt with very quickly.
Our package included breakfast in Las Palmeras restaurant, which we enjoyed. There is a good selection of fruit, cereals, pastries and even porridge (oatmeal). The Continental breakfast includes ready-made scrambled eggs, excellent bacon, pancakes & waffles. Made-to-order dishes are included in the dearer Buffet Breakfast, prepared by chefs who are very friendly.
The bad news:
One of the reasons we chose this hotel was the choice of dining venues, which is important as there are no other attractive restaurants within the immediate vicinity. However, we ate dinner once in El Giardino restaurant and it was truly awful (see separate restaurant review).
We asked to speak to the manager, but unfortunately he was not there, so we spoke to the Hilton Duty Manager, who explained that Las Palmeras restaurant is run by Hilton, but the others are independent. After this experience I looked at Trip Advisor reviews for the independents and they are not encouraging.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton while visiting beautiful Puerto Rico

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. We take your comments seriously and do share with all parties involved. Thank you for acknowledging our staff, I will share your comments with them.

I will also share your feedback with the Italian Restaurant management to ensure better service and experience. We hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Well, my friends and I all met up and went to Puerto Rico as we hadn't seen each other in years.

We rented a Suite. 1 bedroom + 1 Wall bed in living; along with 2 bath. 1 bedroom had a king bed, jacuzzi tub and balcony. The living room had a wall bed, full kitchen, and full bath with a shower. The space was VERY NICE... with the exception of STAINS in the light colored berber carbet.. that looked very nasty.

The only thing that annoyed us about this hotel is that one of my friends told a joke, one friend laughed at a medium volume and we got a complaint from the front desk! REALLY!!!!????
Then we turned on our TV to watch HGTV one night and the volume was only positioned at 1/4 of the total volume.... here comes another complaint! Turns out, there was a standard room right next to our suite and it was a family... I was very upset that we made a complaint of THEM making compalints! I know they only paid probably $209 a night and we certainly paid enough at $400 to have one 3 second laugh out loud!

Well, because of that I won't be back..... Only other Plus - STARBUCKS ON SITE!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your input and apologize you were disappointed in your stay. We follow a standard procedure when we receive a noise complaint coming from a room. We apologized for the inconvenience for we were investigating a complaint from the room next to yours.
Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Spent Christmas week at this hotel and was very pleased with the whole experience. The rooms here are slightly larger which is nice because that allows for larger beds. We had 2 queens which the kids enjoyed instead of trying to squeeze 2 kids into a double! The staff was incredible, very attentive with follow-through. This hotel is situated behind the Carribe Hilton and does have its own quite pool and spa, if you would prefer that over the hustle and bustle of the Hilton. So you can have the best of both worlds. We spent time at each pool and enjoyed them both. This hotel is also nicely situated between Condado and Old San Juan, both are walking distance although Old Town is 1.8 miles, but still very doable! I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to check out your room first and make sure its exactly what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
“Would Stay Again!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 NEW Spent Christmas week at this hotel and was very pleased with the whole experience. The rooms here are slightly larger which is nice because that allows for larger beds. We had 2 queens which the kids enjoyed instead of trying to squeeze 2 kids into a double! The staff was incredible, very attentive with follow-through. This hotel is situated behind the Carribe Hilton and does have its own quite pool and spa, if you would prefer that over the hustle and bustle of the Hilton. So you can have the best of both worlds. We spent time at each pool and enjoyed them both. This hotel is also nicely situated between Condado and Old San Juan, both are walking distance although Old Town is 1.8 miles, but still very doable! I can't wait to go back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I hate reading overly dramatized negative reviews on here let alone writing one. I think that those who frequent this site & read this post will understand. My wife & I have been staying here four nights already with smaller issues being taken care of by the staff quickly. That's not the issue now. The problem is who could have authorized maintenance to do repair work at 1:30 in the morning? Are there not "quiet hours" that are generally from 10pm to 6am? Surely we are not the only ones that can hear this noise that the front desk is denying could be taking place. If that's the case then there are two ghosts working on replacing an outside bathroom door on the second floor right below our room. Yes the front desk has given us another room & as we head over we see the "ghosts" packing up their tools & disappearing into the night...at 2:00am. Seriously, who could have thought that this was an appropriate time to do this work? I'm sure there is a logical reason for this but at this time of the morning I certainly can't think of one. This posting is only for this issue. I will submit a full review of our stay later.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your input and apologize you were disappointed in your stay.
We work hard to ensure our guests are safe and comfortable and assure you there are security measures in place to do just that. The noise you refer to was caused by an outside contractor that was not supposed to work in that area at that time. Yet we immediately moved you to another room, and compensated you for the inconvenience. We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa OK USA
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, family of 4--mom, dad and 2 adult sons. We had 2 large bedrooms with full baths, a 3 rd full bath, and a living room, dining area, and kitchen. Larger by far than some apartments I have lived in. Each bedroom and the living room had big balconies, and the view over the lagoon was nice. Only time we noticed any noise was planes early in the am.
Very quiet--hardly ever saw anyone in the halls or elevator. They have a separate check in area with absolutely no waiting.

Negatives--long walk to the pool and beach, but this is a large property, so that was expected and ok. No wifi in rooms is the biggest negative. They need to get this changed.

We did not eat at any of the restaurants. The gym and spa are very nice.

The location is good. We were able to walk to old san juan when we wanted, or taxis are right there and not expensive. Also walked across the bridge to dinner at the Conrad one night.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to respond to our questionnaire and we are delighted to know your stay was a pleasant one. We are currently working on installing Wi-Fi in all our rooms and suites and hope to be completed within the next 90 days.

We thank you again for staying with us and would be thankful to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the freedom and flexibility offered at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Part of the Caribe Hilton hotel complex, these spacious San Juan villa accommodations offer flexible units perfect for family retreats or large groups or gatherings. Set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, this acclaimed San Juan resort offers a secluded beach and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. The Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton are located just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU). Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton can be can be divided into three separate units or combined into spacious suites with a master bedroom, living room and fully equipped kitchen, many expanding up to 1,800 sq. Ft. Admire the ocean view from your villa with private balcony. Relax with a body massage at Olas Spa or indulge in a full spa package with a combination of treatments like massage, facial, and manicure. Take advantage of all that this Caribbean resort complex has to offer, including beach and water activities and dining at Morton's Steakhouse or just lie in a hammock with a drink, listening to the sound of the waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condado Lagoon Villas At Caribe Hilton Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.