We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rican food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki

Waikiki
1025 Ashford Ave | Condodo, San Juan 00721, Puerto Rico
787-977-267
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #227 of 627 Restaurants in San Juan
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bronx
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Rican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The service is great as well as the food, I loved that they had seatin outside in front of the ocean

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    71
    31
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Decent little beachside casual bite.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Food was pretty darn good for being a little beachside shack. Sit outside if you can, wind be damned. Inside is a bit stuffy.
Had the skirt steak with sauce, yellow rice and, of course, beans. Add a couple Medallias and it came in with tip at $30. Stick to beer, tried the drinks, all pretty weak.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
1 review
“Awesome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Wife had the seared tuna. I had the paella. Both fantastic. Great view from the deck. Ask for Rudy. He was fantastic.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice stop for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We popped in here for lunch- 10 dollar specials. I had a blackened grouper sandwich (good, not great) and husband had shrimp mofongo which was his favorite in San Juan.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Came back for Seconds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Alright…where do I begin! The outside of Waikiki is welcoming and unimposing and I guess that is why we just stopped in one night after a walk down from the La Concha. I forgot what WaiKiki means but in my dialect in means AWESOMELY GOOD FOOD. Our local service experience in San Juan up until our visit to Waikiki had been really poor (excluding high end)……but our waitress Jasmine was top notch. My wife and I sat on the porch over the ocean and watched about a dozen crabs sharing the rocky shoreline w/ some local teenagers. We started off with drinks and the Sampler Appetizer. The sampling was good but the homemade guava sauce really brought it all together into something special. I had the seafood casserole and again the sauce made the perfectly good shrimp, fish and scallops pop. My only con was the leaving of the shrimp tails on while in a prepared dish (pet peeve of mine if no one else’s)
Our dinner here was such a good experience both from the food and service levels we came back our last night in San Juan. In a town of great food that says a lot! The second meal my wife had the Shrimp Mofongo (again tails on ERRR) and the Mofongo itself was not the best but still good. I had the Skirt Steak as was recommended by our waitress who was just as attentive and friendly as the first. The steak was tender and again served with an amazing sauce that just made the entire meal come together…WOW.
You know the food is good when there are local families filling most of the tables. I saw the comments on some of the service levels but our experience from two different waitresses was outstanding. You can spend less down the street, you can spend more up street but to me this was just right.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waikiki also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.