We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Under the Trees

Under the Trees
Gallery Plaza | Doubletree Hotel, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
787-728-0237
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 578 restaurants in San Juan
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Latin, Eclectic, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Service was bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Food was ok but service was awful. It was not busy. Drinks took over 15 minutes to get, salads were not brought out even when asked, entrees were brought out at different times, bill took another 20 minutes. An hour dinner ended up over 2 1/2 hours . For a pricey dinner food was so so and too slow. Will not go back in addition they would only validate parking for 1 1/2 hours so we had to pay for the difference too

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    64
    40
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The food was good but we had to wait forever because apparently they were under staffed (that was the excuse they gave us). They even dropped my friend's dish in the kitchen so we had to wait again. The service was slow and mediocre. Luckily, we were not in a hurry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We came here after our disaster as Pamela's.

We waited to be seated outside, but our server was prompt in getting us water and drinks. The outside seating is nice, but there isn't a nice view. They have a number of mimosas, which we enjoyed.

We ordered a number of appetizers and various foods. I had the pancakes and the eggs and hash. Both were well done and I enjoyed them.

They forgot my eggs and hash, but apologized and comped the dish. All in all I'd go back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“good food and service, but atmosphere leaves a lot to be desired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Husband and I had breakfast here on a recent Saturday morning. Since the inside seating area was air conditioned to a freezing temperature, we opted to sit outside. Outside seating is in a strange, dark, open area between the driveway and the covered front walkway to Starbucks and other businesses; the bar is also in this area. People were constantly walking through, a delivery of fresh fruits and vegetables was made to the service door next to our table (food stacked on floor - yeach) and we breathed the exhaust fumes of the cars constantly entering and exiting the parking garage.

Service was fast, friendly and efficient. Freshly squeezed OJ was large and tasty. Omelet/toast/bacon were OK; nothing special; waffle topped with fresh fruit, granola and whipped cream was tasty but stone cold when served.

I would not go out of my way to eat here again, but if I return I'll dress warmly and sit inside. Have eaten here before and it was better and, I believe, in a different (better) location at the Doubletree.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Waffles not so sinful anymore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Went with the family for brunch. Service was a little slow. Food was good but the sinful waffles are not as sinful as the first time we tried them, now they have a little less of everything.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Under the Trees also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Under the Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Under the Trees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.