We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meticulous restoration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro Tapia

Teatro Tapia
Av. Ponce de Leon, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
787 721 0169
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 103 attractions in San Juan
Type: Theaters, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: If you are part of the theatre crowd, you'll be pleased with this historic theater, which presents a variety of plays, ballets and concerts.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Meticulous restoration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

and attention to detail make this a worthwhile spot to see. The underpinnings were featured on the TV series Ghost hunters.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I wish there were more activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Tapia theater is an icon. I wish more english speaking activities were available there, especially during the high season. It is a lovely theater with great acoustics.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road Town, Tortola
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Architectural jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Closed for repairs, for various years, it was the only theater venue for plays in Old San Juan. Is a small theater in comparison to others in the world, but magnificent and full of history.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

It's been a while since I've been, but I remeber this theater as one of my favorites. My favorite thing has to be the seating arrangements. No matter where you are in the theater you feel inmersed in the play. Very pintoresque too, I love it!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San German, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

ifyou like whats on play show whatever it well retore I had a bad experiens may car was stolen so go to a goo pravet parking place

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Tapia also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Teatro Tapia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teatro Tapia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Teatro Tapia to your Saves list