We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Became home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Centro Cardiovascular San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Centro Cardiovascular San Juan to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Centro Cardiovascular San Juan
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4th Nivel Ave. Americo Miranda | Centro Medico de Rio Piedras, San Juan 00935, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Became home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here the entire month of January due to my son being in the hospital. The staff at the hotel helped to keep us sane, and made our stay the best it could be. Natalie went out of her way to help us find whatever we needed and was always available to translate for us. She was terrific and so was Yaitza who was also always willing to help us out. The hotel was clean, beds were very comfortable, and the only thing missing was a mini fridge. The rest of the staff was also very nice and helpful. There is an ice machine and soda/water machines on the floor and a cafeteria on the bottom floor of the building. The hotel is actually on the 4th floor of the Cardiac hospital and close to Centro Medico. A quick walk will take you to Walgreens, a grocery store, a couple of bars, and a restaurant. (neuronas - good pizza). Although I would not pick to stay here for a vacation as it isn't close to the beaches, for my requirements of being near the hospital, it was perfect. I would also recommend it if you just need to stay somewhere in San Juan for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    19
    13
    17
See reviews for
33
20
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I book this hotel for one day only. I was impressed how clean and comfortable it is. The hotel is located at "Centro Cardiovascular" building in "Centro Medico de San Juan". This is a large area with many hospitals. The hotel is located in one of them.The area is safe and have security 24hrs. They have a "Cafeteria" in the same building with good food in an affordable price. The location is excellent, from there you can go to the Condado, Old San Juan etc...in a few minutes. Also there is a Metro Station. The train can take you to the Hato Rey Area, Coliseo de Puerto Rico or Santurce. It works from 5am until 11:30pm on weekends. I prefer to use a car because the parking is also cheap compared with the major hotels. About the rooms is truth that their are cold but you can set the A/C as you please. I like the place for what it is, a nice and clean place to put your things and go. If you want to go to a Hotel to use it for itself you have to go to Isla Verde or Condado and paid much more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I visit this hotel for medical reasons but is a great location and facility at the Cardiovascular Hospital. The hotel is clean and fresh. The staff is A1, very friendly and excellent service. The hotel is located at the four floor with good security. The hospital have a nice cafeteria at the ground level that open from 7:00AM to 7:30PM this means you have an option for breakfast, lunch and early dinner. The rooms are to cold, but the staff have plenty of comforters to use. Nice showers and hot water is a must. Nice TVs and channel selection. This hotel is a good option and I will stay again if in the area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The place it ok if you have a family member in the hospital but dont stay here other wise. It is near nothing. We had to take an expensive taxi to any where we wanted to go. Our travel agent screwed up and we were stuck for the night, when I tried to change day before we left. Rooms were clean and use to be hospital rooms. Ugh! but what do you expect of a hoptital. Who wants to eat hopital food. We were able to stay in the Condado district on the way home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIALEAH
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in 2 different rooms. Hotel is in the hospital and the rooms used to be hospital rooms. It was freezing both nights. The 1st night our room only had one pillow and the 2nd night we had no comforter. Costs $20-30 to take a taxi from or to Old San Juan or San Juan Airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Centro Cardiovascular San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Centro Cardiovascular San Juan

Address: 4th Nivel Ave. Americo Miranda | Centro Medico de Rio Piedras, San Juan 00935, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Centro Cardiovascular San Juan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Centro Cardiovascular San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Centro Cardiovascular San Juan Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Centro Cardiovascular San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.