We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place centrally located in OSJ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Milano to your Saves list
Hotel Milano
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
united states
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great place centrally located in OSJ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just left this hotel after two night stay. It was exactly what I had expected. The rooms were adequately sized and very clean. The hotel is located close to every major attraction and we were able to walk to all of them. I am a bit confused by people's negative reviews, it is not a luxury hotel, but I did not expect it to be either. The front desk staff was very helpful, the breakfast was great and well worth the price. It was quiet, yet surrounded by things to do. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    310
    125
    59
    50
See reviews for
104
363
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, NJ
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here the night before we went on a cruise. Wanted to stay at a hotel which was walking distance to the cruise terminal. This hotel is walking distance. The value of the hotel is not good compared to another hotel we saw close by. The room was okay, just very outdated and was in need for an upgrade. We stayed in a city view room with one large queen bed. The bathroom was large enough for us, just in need of updates as well. The staff was friendly and helpful. Especially the man that was in charge of the continental breakfast.

Overall, if you are looking for a hotel room like the higher end major hotel chains, this isn't for you. It was okay just for 1 night. Not sure if I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed at the quaint and pleasant, Hotel Milano (family of four) located in the heart of Old San Juan. I would recommend the room on the 4th floor, overlooking Calle Fortaleza. The room was ample, clean and comfortable and within walking distance to several great eateries and many of the attractions. This is a small family owned hotel -- not a resort, so sure, you may not have all of the amenities offered by the "big guys" but that is what makes this hotel charming and offers a genuine OSJ experience. We stayed four nights and during the week, the street below were very calm and quite; however, on the weekends, OSJ comes alive with its nightlife ambiance (noise was not an issue, actually very faded sounds and nothing that would keep you awake). After all, that is what El Viejo San Juan is all about... live it, experience it and enjoy it. Our stay was a positive one and would book again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for better rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

For seven years, I have been staying in Old San Juan. After testing out almost every hotel, I have stayed exclusively at the Hotel Milano the past 6 years or so. It is EXCELLENT, especially for such a great price. In fact, due to my work, I have brought dozens of guests to join me in Puerto Rico, and all of them have stayed at the Hotel Milano. In every case, they too, have had an excellent experience.

The rooms are clean, and include a refrigerator, microwave, TV with cable channels, and cold air conditioning. There is free wi-fi on every floor, and a rooftop breakfast each morning. Additionally, the staff is professional, friendly, and always willing to accommodate. In fact, Juan, the owner, and his crew have always gone out of their way to ensure special needs are met for me and my groups. It is clear that they have one goal in mind--doing everything possible to make you happy, no matter how unusual your requests may be!

The central location of Milano is absolutely perfect to quickly reach any part of Old San Juan on foot. And, if you're a late-nighter like me, you'll love having numerous bars next door, and Pizza Rustica serving delicious food till midnight or 2am (depending on the day of the week).

Milano is the best value in Old San Juan. Even all the locals know--when you visit Old San Juan, Milano is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I understand that I checked into a 2 star hotel but I was still surprised by the room we were given. The hotel had a low occupancy at the time and there was only one other couple on our floor but we were still given what I would assume is the worst room in the house. The room was roughly 10'x8' and most of the space was taken up by the full sized bed. To top it off, the room didn't have any windows so it felt like sleeping in a closet. The bathroom was small as well with a single corner shower stall. The room also doesn't have room to put your luggage so we put them in the small bistro table only to find all of our clothes soaking wet the next morning due to the dripping AC unit. Look at all the other user pictures because you could end up in this closet as well!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juansan, Owner at Hotel Milano, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear guest, we appreciate your words and we just like to let you know that the room you choosed to reserve is small but also very economic and those are the fastest to go, and nobody ever complained about its size ( it is small but no as a closet for sure) because the price, again we appreciate you took your time to review us, thank you, Juan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linn creek,
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The lobby had no air conditioning and was very humid my glasses would steam when leaving the room the room air was too cold and not adjustable we would have to wake periodically to turn off and on.
Only 4 channels worth watching
Tbs, weather, world news, and something like discovery played gold rush constantly which I liked but too much.
Elevator clunked and seemed scary
The drain stop didn't function so was unable to fill tub for a bath

Now the good:
They room was clean the staff are friendly and accommodating the lobby had museum like furniture and decor and best part was the location 4 blocks to anywhere downtown
I gambled with Hotwire and won the mystery hotel rate of 70 $ a night but would never pay the full price if 134 $ to 174 $ with all those mechanical defects
In spite of the maladies I liked this hotel very much
Just wanted to let you in on what to expect... : )

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family only stayed 1 night here as we were leaving out on a cruise. The staff was tremendous, offering advice on what to do and the best way to get there. Extremely friendly and helpful. Special kudos to the gentleman setting up the breakfast buffet. Only negatives we can find are low water pressure (on the top floor) and our taxi driver drove past it. We will definitely come back to San Juan and will DEFINITELY make this hotel our first choice.

Room Tip: 4th floor is the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Address: Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Milano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, nice hotel centrally located within walking distance of Old San Juan's many tourist attractions and the cruise harbor. Visit El Morro, San Cristobal, Museums, Art Galleries or shop at Calle Cristo and Calle Fortaleza where you will find many designer outlet centers and fine jewelry stores. Breakfast is offered in the hotel's penthouse terrace with a view of San Juan roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Juan
Hotel Milano San Juan Puerto Rico
Milano San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Milano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.