We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Milano to your Saves list
Hotel Milano
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Miramar, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family only stayed 1 night here as we were leaving out on a cruise. The staff was tremendous, offering advice on what to do and the best way to get there. Extremely friendly and helpful. Special kudos to the gentleman setting up the breakfast buffet. Only negatives we can find are low water pressure (on the top floor) and our taxi driver drove past it. We will definitely come back to San Juan and will DEFINITELY make this hotel our first choice.

Room Tip: 4th floor is the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    298
    120
    56
    41
See reviews for
93
343
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

First time to Old San Juan. The location is very good however the noise level is not. We stayed for one night prior to our cruise and there was a wedding party that pretty much took over the floor we were on. Say no more, (very noisy) which is to be expected. Also the street music on saturday night might as well of been playing in our room. If you want a good sleep this is not the place to stay. Did not find the front desk people very friendly. The rooms are very average. But like most people we aren't there for the room other than a good sleep. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was the third time I've been to Puerto Rico but only the second time I stayed at the Hotel Milano. The first time I visited, I stayed at one of the fancier (and more expensive) hotels in Old San Juan but have since abandoned them. With all the things to see there's no need to spend the extra money for amenities you wont enjoy in a hotel room you wont be in. Hotel Milano is great value.

Room Tip: Don't get a room without a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Awesome location...can walk to everything in Old San Juan. Our room was okay. The shower was kind of dirty. When I opened the door I got black stuff all over my hands. The bed was uncomfortable. We were only in the room to sleep, so we didn't mind it as much. No bugs and the common areas were clean.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for two nights prior to our cruise ship departure.

We wanted something in Old San Juan (rather than the beach) as we figured to see many beaches during our cruise.

Location is great - it is an easy walk to all of the sites in OSJ. It was about a ten minute ride to the cruise pier (Pan American / RCC)

Hotel is basic - but remember it is only billed as a 2.0-2.5 star - so if you want 4-5 star, look elsewhere.

We had two rooms on floor 4, facing the street. On Friday night there was some street noise, I think this is the big "party night" in OSJ....nothing too bad,

Rooms could use a refurbishment, but overall served their purpose. We did the breakfast as well one morning, nice view from the rooftop, typical American/continental style breakfast (pastries, cereal, fruit, coffee)

Front desk staff was helpful, I had seen other reviews stating otherwise - but all four people we interacted with were great.

There are a number of restaurants within a few blocks as well (Parrot Club was good, San Juan Cafe came highly recommended...but we couldn't get in)

We would consider to stay here again if ever in OSJ.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Hotel Milano greets the visitor cordially and has very comfortable rooms that are well furnished with a TV and a refrigerator. I give the hotel a top rating for its location on Fortaleza Street, just a few blocks from the Governor's Mansion in historic "Old San Juan." It is ideally situated to visit the sights by day and enjoy the night--life in the evenings. A plentiful breakfast at the roof-top restaurant prepares you for the day ahead. This fine hotel (no pool) is ably run by an ex-Cuban who I found most attentive to the needs of his guests.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Fortaleza Street would be quiet in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for only one night. came in day early before cruise. walked to pier, to the local sights, ate at the Parrot Club which is in walking distance. Hotel was clean, bed comfortable. breakfast was a little lacking, but view was nice from roof top terrace, People very helpful. would recommend it and would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Address: Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Milano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, nice hotel centrally located within walking distance of Old San Juan's many tourist attractions and the cruise harbor. Visit El Morro, San Cristobal, Museums, Art Galleries or shop at Calle Cristo and Calle Fortaleza where you will find many designer outlet centers and fine jewelry stores. Breakfast is offered in the hotel's penthouse terrace with a view of San Juan roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Juan
Hotel Milano San Juan Puerto Rico
Milano San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Milano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.