We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Milano was a good hotel, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Milano to your Saves list
Hotel Milano
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Hotel Milano was a good hotel, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Milano Hotel for 5 nights. We paid extra for a deluxe room with large windows. Hotel was old, but clean and comfortable. Great location! The staff could not have been any friendlier or more helpful, with what to see and directions to places we wanted to get to. Jose Colon was very helpful in pointing out places not on the normal tourist itinerary. My only negative comment would be the breakfast. It was $5.35 per person per day, for toast, cereal, coffee, juices, milk, small danishes, small muffins, fruit and small rolls. I think they could have included that free with the room rental. But, I must say that it was very convenient. Overall a great stay and would stay there again, if we ever get back to San Juan.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a room with large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    305
    125
    59
    44
See reviews for
98
355
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My companion and I were planning a long weekend trip to San Juan and wanted to stay in the old city. We had our hearts set on staying in El Convento but there was no availability so we chose the Hotel Milano, sight unseen. We were very happy with our choice and plan to return on our next trip.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. The stall shower was immaculate and the water forceful and hot. The building itself safe and secure. Most strikingly was the warmth and graciousness of the hotel staff. Hiram at the front desk was lovely. Jose Colon who attended the lovely rooftop breakfast room was charming and welcoming. He simply could not do enough to make us happy.

If you want an Old San Juan experience, I highly recommend the Hotel Milano. Surrounded by good restaurants and historic sites, travelers are exactly where they want to be in the old city.

Room Tip: Room 308, Queen Standard is a good choice. Overlooks Calle Fortaleza but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The only thing good I can say about this hotel is the location is awesone. The room we had was so dirty, my husband and I were afraid to sleep in the bed. The shower was so gross we refused to shower in it. The air conditioning in the room only has an off setting or on setting. This means the room is either too cold or too hot. And the streets around the hotel are really noisy at night. We only stayed here one night before our cruise but I could never say here again! If you stay here, just be prepared for a dirty room and no sleep at night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a cheap, pretty clean hotel that is located in the middle of old San Juan this is a good place for you. The wifi works pretty good, beds are comfy and the shower gets good hot water. Service is bad, the hotel is tired. I paid $95 a night, but had no window.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a fairly small hotel right in the heart of Old San Juan. It was easy to walk to all the historic sites and to the ferry to get to the Bacardi Rum Distillery. All the workers from reception to breakfast to maids were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was not fancy but certainly adequate and only cost a little over $5 per person. We especially liked having hot milk and Nesquik for making hot chocolate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseau, Saint George, Dominica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great hotel, it feels so warm and welcoming, snuggled on Calle fortaleza I felt like i was part of the community. I shared room 309, 2 beds with a street view with my family of 4. the room was quit comfy. The hotel is walking distance from restaurants, the pier and historical sites.Everyone was friendly & very helpful, I would love to come back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkaska, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great location just minutes away from cruise port, good food, and lots of street vendors. Room was VERY small with small windows near the ceiling. I will have to go with a different choice of rooms next time! I understand that the ones in the front are bigger with actual windows. Although, the room served it's purpose and allowed us a clean area to sleep. We returned and disembarked from our cruise at 11:00 a.m. but room was not ready. The kind elderly gentlemen (same gentlemen who works the roof top restaurant in the a.m.) took our luggage and chained it together to keep it safe and locked while we explored Old San Juan for the day. He was awesome and so were the rest of the staff with the exception of a middle aged gentlemen at the front desk. He never lifted his head until I spoke to him first, then acted as if I were really interupting him by having to check us in or answer a questions. There was a younger gentlemen there in the evening who was very nice-so we waited to ask him questions :) I would have to say that I would stay here again. Location is what makes this hotel wonderful and the price is fair!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Address: Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Milano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, nice hotel centrally located within walking distance of Old San Juan's many tourist attractions and the cruise harbor. Visit El Morro, San Cristobal, Museums, Art Galleries or shop at Calle Cristo and Calle Fortaleza where you will find many designer outlet centers and fine jewelry stores. Breakfast is offered in the hotel's penthouse terrace with a view of San Juan roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Juan
Hotel Milano San Juan Puerto Rico
Milano San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Milano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.