We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Milano to your Saves list
Hotel Milano
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
Hebron, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Nothing to rave about but we would stay there again. Spartan but clean. Great central location in Old San Juan. Warm helpful staff. Not the place to spend your honeymoon but a good place to stretch your travel dollar just two doors away from Pirilo's Rustica Restaurant (arguably the best pizza in PR and most of the US). Unfortunately the roof top restaurant has been closed for years except for breakfast. It is such a wonderful asset that I think they should open it in the evenings just to offer wine etc to the hotel guests.That would make the hotel much more appealing.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bed room on the fourth floor facing the street. Other rooms were cheaper but few had any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    311
    126
    61
    50
See reviews for
105
365
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

If you are going to stay in San Juan Hotel Milano is the place to stay. It is located right in the middle of everything! Plenty of places to shop and the night life is fantastic! I would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fork, Colorado
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have stayed here often and this hotel is very consistent. Clean, good service, inexpensive, and the BEST LOCATION. You'll have no problems in San Juan finding nicer hotels with pools, but if you want to be in the heart of Old San Juan, this one is hard to beat. I usually stay when I'm in town for work and want a quiet dark room to sleep after I've been traveling. This time I upgraded as I had my honey with me. She liked it too.

Room Tip: only the front rooms have big windows overlooking Fortaleza street. They are priced more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

When I called asking for a room for 3 people, I was giving a "special" price (charging for 2), due to the low season. When we got to the hotel, we were charge $50 more dollars than what "Luis" had told us over the telephone. He was not there, and the person behind the desk would not recognized the offer giving to us.
Also, they have extra charges for their breakfast. You think for the room prices they have, breakfast will be included, like at most hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We arrived in San Juan relatively late & as the taxi driver was pulling away, my husband realized he had left a bag next to the passenger seat of the van, which contained almost $2000 in electronics. The driver proceeded to not stop, despite my husband waving, yelling & trying to get his attention. So, needless to say, he was a bit exasperated when we walked into the lobby.

The desk clerk, Luis, offered his assistance to give us phone numbers to call the airport taxi desk. Unfortunately, the numbers he provided were of no help. But, Luis was very kind and sympathetic to our situation. As there was nothing that could be done at this point until morning, my husband & I proceeded to our room.

The room was very clean & quaint, but could have used a little bit of updating. It smelled a bit musty, but that is to be expected in a humid environment. The bed was fairly comfortable, which is very important to me, as I have recently had back surgery.

The next morning, through a series of things my husband was able to do with his iPhone, and with the assistance of the local police, we were able to locate our backpack & recover almost EVERYTHING! We were amazed!

Due to our morning being taken up with all this, we asked the hotel clerk (I did not get his name) if it would be possible to extend our check-out time until a bit later. He asked the room attendants if they would mind not cleaning our room until later, and both affirmed it was fine with them. (We gave them a generous tip for the trouble!)

So, what started out as a horrible way to start our vacation, turned into a very pleasant experience! Thanks to all the hotel staff, if we ever go back to San Juan, we won't consider any other hotel!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotal has a great location and is perfect if you wanted something convienent for San Juan. It has a lot more personality then faceless chains and is family run so no doubt it contributes much to the local economy. The staff were very helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room street facing which wasn't too noisy and did have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a quaint older hotel in Old San Juan that was great for our family. We were able to walk everywhere, and it was clean and very safe. Staff was very hospitable and extremely friendly and helpful. We had a small room with two beds for four of us, but our purpose was to have a convenient location for touring the city. We certainly accomplished a great visit to a beautiful city. Wish we had been there in the winter when we could have spent more time in the restaurant on the top floor. Only downside, the room smelled a bit musty and the air conditioner had only two settings--off (humid) and on (freezing). But, we didn't spend much time there, so no worries.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Address: Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Milano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, nice hotel centrally located within walking distance of Old San Juan's many tourist attractions and the cruise harbor. Visit El Morro, San Cristobal, Museums, Art Galleries or shop at Calle Cristo and Calle Fortaleza where you will find many designer outlet centers and fine jewelry stores. Breakfast is offered in the hotel's penthouse terrace with a view of San Juan roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Juan
Hotel Milano San Juan Puerto Rico
Milano San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Milano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.