We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Hotel - not worth the cost of $224.00” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Mariano Ramirez Bages | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Noisy Hotel - not worth the cost of $224.00”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our family spent a sinlge night at this hotel a week ago - one night was enough to know that we will never return here.

The room was quite noisy and we were unable to sleep. We tried speaking with the staff at the front desk about the noise and was told that if we turn off all the lights, the noise will disappear.

We tried to explain that the lights were all off (in English Language), but the manager spoke to the assistant in Spanish (this was rude because it was clear that we spoke English only). In the end, both the manager and the assistant told us there was nothing they could do about the noise.

The bathroom was tiny and dirty - not worth $224.00
Will never return to this hotel.

Room Tip: no good - don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Customer744,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We certainly appreciate your feedback and we are very sorry to hear that your experience was not 100% to your satisfaction. Please accept our apologies in this matter and please know that we are taking necessary steps to avoid this issue from reoccurring. Again thank you for choosing us and we hope that you give us another chance. Please do not hesitate to contact with us directly next time you visit our island and we will be happy to accommodate you.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    82
    43
    12
    9
See reviews for
48
62
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We looked at a lot of places to stay before our Carnival cruise and finally decided on this one. Old town and Isle Verde were a lot more expensive and we only needed one night. We got a king suite and it was really great. There's a living room, a half bath, a bedroom, and a full bath with a beautiful tile and glass shower. We could even see the beach a bit through a window in the living room. We didn't really find many affordable family restaurants around which detracted from the location. The beach closest to the hotel isn't swimmable, but we knew that. The second lock on the door was a bit flimsy and coming unscrewed and the a/c in the bedroom wouldn't turn off using the button, had to be unplugged.
These little things didn't bother us much and we had a great time for the amount of time we were there. It's about 15 minutes to the port and 15 to the airport. I think it was 30 bucks for 6 people and their bags for each trip.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear scranton38,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed our Suite and had a wonderful time before your cruise. Please let us know if you have a chance to visit our island again in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Affordable, comfortable accomodations for very reasonable prices! Holiday Inn Express is smaller, and newer renovations make it feel more modern and boutiqe like while just a 2 minute walk to Condado Beach, shops, and delicious local cuisine! If clean and simple is what youre looking for with reasonable stay prices so you have more $$ to spend on local FUN and excursions, Holiday Inn Express is the place for you!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear P. F,
Thanks so much for your review regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments and thank you for noticing our convenient location in Condado. Hope you had an excellent time at our island and we will look forward to have you with us agin.
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was basic but with everything one needs for a quick stay. We had a room with two double beds, pillows were very comfortable, one firm and one soft. WiFi worked very well, no issues there. The only negative is that the safe did not work in our room which was rather inconvenient. They did offer us to store our valuables in a small room behind the reception but we did not feel completely comofortable about this arrangement so just kept everything with us at all times. Check in and check out was nice and quick. Breakfast was basic but did the job. Room was clean, the hallway could have used a bit of vaccuming, but other than that, did not have any concerns with cleanliness. Location very convenient, close to many restaurants, shops and beaches.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Shera86,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and we are glad to hear that your stay was more than enjoyable. I apologize for the safe issue you had to encounter and we are definitely looking into it. Thank you again for staying with us and hope to have you back again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Tiny rooms, extremely tiny bathrooms, terrible breakfast, forgettable pool, average service... all this for a very expensive price. Two old, slow and tiny elevators failing to move clients up and down seven stories... Ridiculous! The stroller of our baby did not fit through the door of any of the rooms! Tried to change rooms three times but it was useless. Only good aspect was the location. Simply not worth it, look for a different option

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear CLV77,
Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our guests feedback is extremely valuable to us. Secondly I apologize that your stay did not go as you expected. We strive to be the best in all areas and I understand your frustration. We have renovated our hotel recently and we are very sorry to hear that you felt your stay was not up to 100%. We certainly hope you give us another chance in the future.
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night before our cruise. The location was very good and we had no problems. Check in was quick and friendly , our room was very small and basic but was clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast was very good and well stocked up. We managed to use the wifi as well. We sat at the pool area and it was small but very clean and tidy. We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear SparkfromEK,
Thanks so much for your 4 star rating and your kind comments. We are glad to hear that your stay was more than satisfactory and hope to see you in the future again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel recently for a one-night stay before a cruise. It was perfectly adequate for our short stay and proved to be a great location. We arrived at about 7 p.m. and check-in was a breeze. We had room 501, which had two double beds. As other reviews have stated, the room was small, but it really was just fine for such a short stay. The room was very clean and had the basic amenities we needed. Also the furnishings were nice and modern.

The location was good and we went to the main drag just a block away. We went a few blocks to Ropa Vieja, which was yummy (see separate review) We all slept well as the room was nice and quiet. We slept a little late and barely made it down for breakfast, but were able to quickly grab something. There was a decent amount of offerings to hold us over until lunch.

We checked out, which went quickly. The lobby was a bit packed with everyone trying to catch taxis to the get on the cruise ships. We decided to take our time and checked our luggage. We then walked a block and a half to Condado Beach. We were pleasantly surprised by the beach and ended up staying for several hours. When we were ready to head out, we gathered our luggage and the staff called us a taxi, which pulled up a few minutes later.

My only real complaint was the wifi was a bit slow. I normally wouldn’t care about this on a non-business trip, but there was an itinerary change on my cruise and I wanted to research what there was to do in the new port. This just made it a bit more challenging; however, there were two computers near the breakfast area and I was able to hop on one for a few minutes to complete my research.

All in all, a good stay and would consider the Holiday Inn Express again if in the area.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Hendersongal,
Thank you so much for your awesome review about our hotel in Condado. We are happy to hear that you have found our location convenient along with our service and complimentary breakfast. Hope you get a chance to travel to our island again in the future and we will be looking forward to having you with us.
Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado

Address: 1 Mariano Ramirez Bages | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado features an excellent location in the exclusive Condado area. Enjoy our recently updated Wi-Fi Internet for fast and speedy connection. Its beauty and splendor overlook Condado Lagoon. Within walking distance, you will enjoy first class shopping, with all major jewelery stores, souvenirs and fashion designer boutiques at hand. Visit the beautiful Condado Beach within walking distance to the hotel. And when the night falls, casinos and exciting nightlife are the name of the game. Take advantage of our free deluxe continental breakfast, 24 hour complimentary coffee & tea in lobby, outdoor pool, fitness room or business centre. With highly trained and qualified personnel which guarantees all necessary arrangements for groups, conventions, social activities and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Hotel San Juan
Holiday Inn San Juan
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.