We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Beach - San Juan Condado” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Mariano Ramirez Bages | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Close to the Beach - San Juan Condado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Not bad, compared to the other hotels nearby.. This hotel was much better than the Comfort Inn next door. We had friends who booked in there and we could see the difference. Neater, excellent breakfast selections. Though the rooms were smaller, but it severed the purpose. Would recommend if you are going to take the cruise.

Room Tip: Pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear DubaiMarc,
Thank you so much for sharing your review with us. We appreciate your kind comments about our location in San Juan. Please let us know next time you visit our island and we would love to have you back!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    67
    40
    9
    8
See reviews for
40
51
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel is on a side street with no nearby parking. Rooms are not that bad. The service is terrible. The safe in my room malfunctioned; it took two hours for someone to come unlock it. Breakfast is terrible. There are no sundries for sale. Lots of hangers on hanging out in the lobby or smoking out front.

Room Tip: Rooms are actually fairly nice for a Holiday Inn Express. It's the service of the staff that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Jim W ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. First of all I would like to apologize for the safe not working properly. We will definitely look into it for not to happen again. I do like to mention that our location is prime in Condado,San Juan and it's one of busiest streets and unfortunately we do not have control over the public on the street. Regarding your concern for parking, if the hotel parking is full, we offer a multi-floor parking garage right across the hotel. Again please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had to experience and we certainly hope you give us another chance in the future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was escorting a group of 50 people and we all stayed at the HIE Condado on March 13th. I cannot thank Alev, the manager enough. She was always prompt and extremely helpful with the booking process for the group. She made sure that the rooms and keys were all ready for the group when we arrived so that check-in was a much quicker process.
The hotel was clean and very convenient to the beach, restaurants and shopping. The rooms have been updated recently so they were very nice. It is the perfect hotel for pre and post cruise stays as it is only a 10 minute drive to the cruise terminal. The cost of the room includes a free hot breakfast which my group all enjoyed. I will recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to San Juan. Thanks Again!! Elaine

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear ElaineDoraz,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and 5 star rating. We are delighted to hear that your group had a excellent experience with us. We definitely appreciate your business and it makes us so happy that you have noticed our great location, our recently renovated rooms along with our staff. Thanks so much again and we will see you soon!
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.F. (Ciudad de Mexico), México
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Rates in San Juan can get pricey! For a convenient rate you can stay in Condado in San Juan just two blocks away from the beach. The room I was in was just about the sizw enough to fit a desk and a king bed.

My biggest pet peeve however was the bathroom. The shower has a glass about two thirds (instead of curtain or door). The control for the shower is directly below it so you get wet when you open it with cold water. If you are not big enough like myself to cover the whole water showering out, the water comes out the one third that is open getting all the floor of the bathroom wet. Terrible design in my opinion.

The walls seem to be paper thin as you can hear noises from rooms next door and above.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear PatriciaHuerta,
Thank you so much for sharing your review with us. We value our guests' feedback so that we know the areas that it did not meet your expectations up to 100%. We are definitely taking notes and to see if we can improve. Thank you again for staying with us and hope to have you back to our island in the future.
Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For the price I was shocked on the room size. There are bigger rooms in cruises. The door was so thin we had to enter sideways. Very small rooms. I was not expecting a suite but for the price I expected at least enough space to move. Extremely small, below average small plus, the rooms had no decoration. If you have other options go with the others. For $160 a night you will find something better.

The hotel is well located and staff was nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Bel122,
Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay and for sharing your review with us. Our guests' feedbacks are very important for us. Thank you for noticing our staff's efforts as well. We would like to apologize if we did not meet your expectation on the guest rooms. Please be assured that we are complied with standards on the sizes of our guest rooms. We do have larger rooms as well depending on the availability. Hope you give us another chance in the future to be able to accommodate you in a larger room next time you visit us. Please do not hesitate to contact with us directly at hisanjuan@att.net for future references.
Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is a typical 3 star holiday inn. Rooms were fine and clean and the staff at the desk very helpful. The pool was clean and the lounge was well priced for drinks. The breakfast was ok with breads and so on but they do not have a kitchen so the eggs are a fold over omelette with cheese that comes pre-made and heated...not that great but it's breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Trent T,
Thank you for your 4 star rating and sharing your review with us. Thank you for noticing our staff and cleanliness of our facilities. We are glad to hear that you have also enjoyed our local pastry breads. The hot buffet is our standard breakfast and we have been in the process of improving the variety of other options. Thank you again for staying with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the price I paid for this place it was a complete disappointment. No hot water in the shower & the room had to be the smallest room i have ever stayed in. I would compare it to a poorly designed cabin on a cruise ship. There wasn't even enough room to open my suitcase comfortably or leave my makeup in the bathroom. To top it off the pool had garbage in it. I would avoid this place there has to a better alternative. On the good side the beds were clean and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear valueformoneyToronto,
We appreciate you sharing your experiences with regards to your stay at our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities, services, and guest's comfort are superior. However, it is regrettable if the size of our guest rooms fell below your standards and found the rates to be steep. Your feedback regarding the hot water and cleanliness of our pool have been taken into account and will be addressed to the management for review.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado

Address: 1 Mariano Ramirez Bages | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado features an excellent location in the exclusive Condado area. Enjoy our recently updated Wi-Fi Internet for fast and speedy connection. Its beauty and splendor overlook Condado Lagoon. Within walking distance, you will enjoy first class shopping, with all major jewelery stores, souvenirs and fashion designer boutiques at hand. Visit the beautiful Condado Beach within walking distance to the hotel. And when the night falls, casinos and exciting nightlife are the name of the game. Take advantage of our free deluxe continental breakfast, 24 hour complimentary coffee & tea in lobby, outdoor pool, fitness room or business centre. With highly trained and qualified personnel which guarantees all necessary arrangements for groups, conventions, social activities and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Hotel San Juan
Holiday Inn San Juan
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.