We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and Staff! Great for Business Stay/Cruise Extender...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Juan

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Travelocity
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Juan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Mariano Ramirez Bages | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 44 hotels in San Juan
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel and Staff! Great for Business Stay/Cruise Extender...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was not expecting much after the reviews that I have seen, but I was impressed by the property.
The room that we (a couple) had was great, though small, and very clean. There is not alot of room in the bathroom for counter space, and we had a shower only. There is a coffee maker and hairdryer,toiletries, and nice, comfortable bed.

I do not know if the rooms get any larger as we had an upgrade and it was small (but again, perfect for a couple). I would not say that you would call this a family hotel, though there were some small children at the property (Easter weekend).

Edith, the desk Manager, was great! She was very helpful and had good suggestions for us on places to eat.

The location is great! Right in the zone where there are hotels, nice restaurants, the casino, and if you were inclined, you can walk to many places. There is also a beach very close, about a block away.

I would definitely stay here again. The location is safe and has alot to offer. The staff is great.

Only con: No balconies, not alot of space if you need more than room for 2.

Room Tip: 6th and 7th floor rooms facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alev T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Fjeldbar,
Thank you very much for your review .Whilst we are pleased with the good comments, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Sincerely, Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Express San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel for one night prior to leaving on a cruise. The front staff was very plesent and the check in process went smooth and quick. The room we got was small but recently remodeled, clean and well apointed. The bathroom was modern and functional. We liked the location of the hotel as restaurants, bars and shopping was within walking distance.
We would stay at this hotel again when in San Juan for a stort visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alev T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Michael L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having read prior reviews this property was a real dump. It certainly is a lot better but still more work has to be done. The exterior of the hotel is currently being upgraded. The lobby, breakfast area, and pool area were all recently updated. The floor I was staying on was recently renovated too. The hotel only had 1 elevator operating. It was a mainly a problem during busy times.

The location is very good being right off the main street and walking distance from the beach and many restaurants.

Breakfast was lacking fresh fruit and no yogurt. When breakfast was finished all utensils the tea were put away. Most of other Holiday Inn Express properties leave tea and other utensils out for its guests. I had to keep asking the front desk for items.

The updated rooms are nicely done. The lighting is good, furniture large enough for two people to store their clothing, and the TV had a nice picture with lots of channels. The bed was very comfortable. The closet sliding doors were hard to open and close and easily fell out of the tracks. Also unlike most other Holiday Inn Express properties there was no coffeemaker in the room.

Finally the bathroom was updated very nicely but the lighting is terrible. There needs to be more lighting over the sink by the mirror.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Bruce S,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am delighted to hear that you found our location very good and rooms nicely done. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the inconvenience the breakfast menu and bathroom concerns may have caused you. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ray, the manager made a huge difference to our stay!
We were concerned because of the reviews while the hotel was being renovated, however, Ray made sure we had a room that was finished. The situation was a little quirky because they were bringing in a hairdryer and coffer maker as we were rolling in our bags. Then when we turned on water in the sink, it gushed out under the cabinet but it was fixed immediately. There were no hooks for towels, wet swimsuits etc. yet the bedding and sheets and towels were all new and quite luxurious!
The pool was finished and so was the hot tub, so a lovely area to sit. The breakfast area was not operational until our last day, but then it looked great, fresh, clean, new tile, new tables and chairs.
Once everything is finished this will be an excellent value. Lodging in the area is very expensive and the taxes and resort fees are close to 25%.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had seen some recent negative reviews of this hotel, but the location and price and connection to Holiday Inn Express led me to book here. The location of the hotel is pretty decent, in close proximity to a small beach and to a number of restaurants. The hotel is in the process of becoming a Holiday Inn Express and our room had been renovated. The main lobby was in the midst of being renovated and the breakfast bar opened for the first time on the morning of our departure on March 15th. The small swimming pool was open (previous reviews had said it was closed due to the remodeling)
Without the renovations, I would hesitate to recommend the property, but I think it will continue to take shape and be worth considering.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear JimR8523,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the renovations prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Juan

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Hotel
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Hotel San Juan
Holiday Inn San Juan
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Rico
Address: 1 Mariano Ramirez Bages | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Juan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express San Juan features an excellent location in the exclusive Condado area. Its beauty and splendor overlook Condado Lagoon. Within walking distance, you will enjoy first class shopping, with all major jewelery stores, souvenirs and fashion designer boutiques at hand. Visit the beautiful Condado Beach within walking distance to the hotel. And when the night falls, casinos and exciting nightlife are the name of the game. Take advantage of our free deluxe continental breakfast, 24 hour complimentary coffee & tea in lobby, outdoor pool, fitness room or business centre. San Juan Plaza Hotel offers great value. With highly trained and qualified personnel which guarantees all necessary arrangements for groups, conventions, social activities and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.