We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Puerto Rico!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Atlantic Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Vendig St. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Mission Viejo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sleepless in Puerto Rico!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had an beautiful small Ocean View room on the second floor right above the bar! Our room was small and cold as the A/C Temperature was controlled by the hotel only, there is no thermostat in the room. There is no food or coffee available at the hotel. We are a straight couple and did not mind the gay and lesbian customers as they didn't bother us at all. The bathroom is very small and the drains were clogged, the shower head sprayed water all over the bathroom, as it had a leak. Upon booking our rooms we did not know that the hotel was under construction, it was noisy at times. The lobby and bar area was well kept and clean, if you are in a hurry to get a drink go to the bar, otherwise you will be waiting a long time. The free WiFi only works in the lobby and bar area only. Parking is very limited and the street is overcrowded due to the hotel next door. If you are coming to PR for rest and relaxation this is not the place to go as the hotel next door plays very loud club music. Note: They also charge you a $10.00 cash deposit for a beach towel! When they already charge $100.00 on your credit card for incidentals??? It doesn't make sense, this is a first for me. We went and bought beach towels at the store.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    117
    76
    64
    121
See reviews for
28
164
73
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just got back from PR and stayed at the Atlantic Beach Hotel 6 nights, there was a group of 7. We all had rooms with an ocean view and from what I understand these are the rooms you want to reserve. They are still doing construction but that wasn't an issue for us. The staff were friendly, our rooms were cleaned daily and you can't beat the bar that has happy hour starting at noon. For the money I don't think you could do better, would most definetly stay there again!

Room Tip: Make sure to book room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Nice hotel for ur money but u must know up front im a straight male and this hotel i dont care what they tell its for gay couples and gay locals. the beach gets packs with gay locals so i had to go to the hotel next door beach. u can stay on hotel beach but was not my things but i have to complaint every one was super friendly (gay). now for the rooms i book a 1 bed thinking i could buy a air matters for my uncle what a horrible mistake that thing was so tiny u can barely walk with out crashing into somethings. so $175.00 later upgrade we got an ocean view with 2 beds which was 100% better nicer n larger and clean with a great view of the ocean.

1. hotel is gay not gay friendly like the hotel manager told me when i first ask when i noticed lots of
gay males on vacation and local gays.
2. get ocean view
3. parking is hard to fine and u will get ticked when u go to sleep try parking at least 4 blocks over
its free.
4. hotel at night its loud do to bar and club next door.
5. would i tell my friends that are not gay like me to go there no. my gay friends yes i didnt see not
a hint of any evil eyes towards them and area safe.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean view room other rooms are to tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my girl on our first visit to the island... Check in was very easy (but be aware they ask for $100 deposit) great location! Theres many restaurants, gift stores, a cvs around the corner, even starbucks... Hopefully the'll finish renovating soon because theres no breakfast service thou they have a nice bar with friendly people. Happy hour from noon to 11pm! $3.50 for any mixed drink. easy access to the ocean. Really cant complain about the service overall. The only thing that kinda scared me was the rusty elevator its at least 50 years old "/ so we used the stairways the whole time we were there...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila., Pa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Me, my hubby and my daughter and her hubby booked this hotel for a night before leaving for our cruise. We booked because the price was reasonable. We asked for 2 oceanfront rooms side by side, but got one on the second floor, the other was above us on the 3rd floor. No big deal. The room is small, but we just wanted something on the beach to jump start our vacation. Check in was easy, our room was ready early, the front desk saff were very helpful as to where to eat, and offered to call us a cab the next day to take us to the cruise port. We paid for oceanfront for the view, but the windows are so dirty on the outside from sand and salt, you really had no view. The air conditioning is controlled by the staff, so,it was not very cool, but I always travel with a fan, so we were fine. We were woken up several times late at night/early morning by people banging doors, and talking/laughing in the halls. Luckily we were just staying one night. MmOh, the elevator is tiny,Maslow, dirty and hardly works.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the cruise terminal, or at the casino
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nice location, reasonably priced, this is one of the few hotels that actual have a beach right at your fingertips. The room was very nicely decorated, smaller then the picture, but clean, pillows and bed comfy. Ask at the front desk for tour guides, excellent rates and quite enjoyable. I took my granddaughter with me and we both had a blast! This place is within walking distance to lots of shops, restaurants, casino. We just hopped a bus (very cheap) to old San Juan to see the forts, museums, take a ferry to Bicardi Rum, etc. Expect to see beautiful sunsets.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view rooms, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here for the weekend and had such a fun time. Yea we knew it was a an open spot but while you there it doesn't seem that way. The staff, security, and even the bartenders were awesome. I don't see me taking my kids there cause there's no refrigerator in the room, but I will def recomnd any couple, first time impression to a girlfriend/boyfriend to go there and visit. Looking forward to going back when renovations are done...

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantic Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Beach Hotel

Address: 1 Vendig St. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of San Juan's most popular beach front locations at the Atlantic Beach Hotel on Condado Beach. The Atlantic has become a favorite place for the travel savvy and open minded traveler who enjoys its unpretentious atmosphere and its lively appeal to a wide variety of lifestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Atlantic Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Beach San Juan
Hotel Atlantic Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.