We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware.. they overbook and put you in sister "fleabag" hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Acacia Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Acacia Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Taft St | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Beware.. they overbook and put you in sister "fleabag" hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I booked my room on their own website and when I checked in they acknowledged they had my credit card on file but due to an "overbooking situation" I would be staying at their "sister hotel" a block away. So I roll my bags a block down the street, with no offer of assistance, and am checked into a room that is no larger than 10x10. How do you overbook with a confirmed reservation and credit card on file? I booked the room 3 weeks ago. The sister hotel named the Wind Chimes, is more like a youth hostel. Tiny rooms, a single queen sized bed, a tv and not much else. The walls were paper thin and the front desk person, who was very nice, had no idea if the Internet worked in my room which was no farther than 10 feet from the front desk. I never did get to see the rooms at the Acacia but the room at the Wind Chime was not worth what i was paying at the Acacia. Very disappointed and I got no apology or anything from the front desk person at Acacia who was clearly more than the on-duty clerk. Don't chance this shady operation that preys on guests, stay somewhere else.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    120
    47
    28
    25
See reviews for
38
250
38
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I booked and paid for a room through Expedia at the Acacia Hotel in December for March 1, 2013 for 3 nights. When I got there at 4:00pm the receptionist said a room was not available and that we would have to stay at the nearby At Wind Chimes Hotel.

She mentioned that since I booked through Expedia it was "cruise ship" rates (I paid $170/night) and that they did not have to honour the reservation for a room in the Acacia. She said this was listed under hotel policies when I booked - not true!

I have read of similar complaints for this place and it looks like their policy is to "bait & switch".

Beware of Acacia's questionable business practices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel is near a nice beaches and is 20 minutes from old down town San Juan. The location is perfect is you want to spend time swimming or running on the beach. The hotel has a nice small spa / swimming pool outside very pleasant. If you manage to have one of the room with view and balcony, it will be perfect. The hotel has a small restaurant where there is breakfast and dinner. Price are high ! Fresh water is available in the lobby. WIFI was available in the looby and for the more near place. The place is very good for beach lovers and people who wants to be out the big hotel chain.

Room Tip: Get a room first floor with view on the swimming pool. Two have direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacred Heart
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Acacia is a wonderful little motel in San Juan. The rooms and a bit small but they have a great amount of character. The location could hardly be better with the beach only a half a block away. The staff was always very helpful and corteous. The room was neat and clean and the hot tub was awesome! We would stay at the Acacia next time we visit San Juan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, Colorado
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This may be a decent propery, physically, but it suffers from very poor, and actually adversarial management. Those considering this hotel should beware that it deliberately overbooks and can not be trusted to honor reservations. Case in point: We had made a guaranteed reservation (through Room Key) December 12, 2012, for February 22, 2013 - - and called the hotel meanwhile to confirm. All seemed well; they even guaranteed a balcony room.
Upon arriving on the appointed date, 4:30 pm, we were told they had "overbooked" and would not honor the reservation, despite being presented with the confirmation documents, their booking number, etc.. Moreover, no one at Acacia offered a word of apology. Rather, the Manager, who was not on the premises, argued with us over the phone before grudgingly agreeing to alternate accomodations - - a dirty, under-maintained, cheaper hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel! This has been my first trip to Puerto Rico and this hotel has been great. The staff is extremely helpful and nice. The hotel is very clean and bug free. My room is a little small but is cosy. The WiFi and TV both work great. The hotel is not a block away from the beach despite what other reviews have said. The beach is about 20 yards from the front door. Also this hotel is not in a bad neighborhood whatsoever. It is very safe. There are constantly police cruisers on patrol throughout the whole area and policemen posted on just about every street corner. I feel more safe here than I do back in the states. The people around the area are very friendly and are mostly all bilingual. The hotel only has street parking which can be tough. I desided to rent a car which was a huge mistake and I immediately returned it the following day. The area as a whole is really bad with parking and traffic and to me it was much easier to walk around. The bus system here is very good and only costs $0.75 to ride. The hotel is in the perfect location, your away from all the major conglomerate resorts but close enough to all the attractions. I really feel like I'm home here. I can't say enough about this place and I would highly recommend it to anyone! Definetly comming back again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I were very pleased with our stay at Acacia. No problems with check in, we had to wait about an hour, but enjoyed the afternoon at the beach. Staff (when present), were friendly and accommodating. The location is great, literally, a minute walk to the beach. Chairs and ice machine were nice touches. Room was a bit on the small side, but expected that, but AC, ceiling fan, cable TV all working perfectly. WiFi was spotty, but no big deal.

Some things that may bother others but not us, were the front desk was not always staffed, street noise was a bit loud at times (but we are heavy sleepers, and early risers).

Go to Kalsalta for breakfast in the morning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acacia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Boutique Hotel

Address: 8 Taft St | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Acacia Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acacia Boutique Hotel is a restored villa located in Condado, San Juan, literally steps away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. Free WIFI is available in the Rooms. Niche is the restaurant in the hotel that serves breakfast and dinner. It is one of the finest dining experiences in the San Juan area. After dinner enjoy a relaxing soak in Puerto Rico's largest Jacuzzi/Spa while sipping on a mojito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Acacia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Seaside Hotel
Acacia Seaside San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acacia Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.