We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can find better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Acacia Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Acacia Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Taft St | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 44 hotels in San Juan
Boston, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You can find better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We arrived at the Acacia for a two night stay in San Juan. Right off the bat, it took us about a half an hour just to check in. There was one attendant at the desk, and he was on the phone the entire time booking rooms for a group tour on a later date. When we were finally recognized, we asked where we could park. We had to fend for ourselves as far as parking our rental car. We were given some tips, and those tips included "don't park here on this street" (Taft) and "don't park one block up because that's a bad neighborhood". Um, thanks? Yup, parking was a nightmare. Another 20 minutes of circling to find a parking spot. Overall, it was an extremely stressful check-in process. Not a good first impression.

We were brought to our room, which was directly across from the "pool" area. It had two glass doors leading right out to the pool, so we had to keep the dark curtains pulled the entire time for some privacy, and there was no other windows or natural light. Our room had two beds, one had sheets with stains. The "king sized" bed was actually two double beds pushed together with king sheets covering both beds (with a noticeable "line" in the center). The bar of soap that was left for us in the bathroom was just filthy, and the wall-mounted hairdryer shot sparks at me when I turned it on. I mean, really.

The only part that we really enjoyed was the downstairs restaurant, with a very nice bartender in the evening (I think his name was Ian) and the breakfast was tasty, too. It's also very close to the beach, and they provide beach towels in the lobby for you to take.

If you are going to enjoy this hotel, you need to go in with a few things in mind:

1. This hotel is a block away from a less than desirable neighborhood.
3. Don't be fooled by the "trendy" reviews. This property is old, and some in-room features are very dated.
2. Don't even think of bring a rental car here, parking is difficult and the staff is unhelpful with this matter.
3. It is a good 15 minute drive from Old San Juan. A $20 cab ride we found since we didn't want to move our rental car from a spot we searched so desperately for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    96
    42
    25
    17
See reviews for
33
217
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paterson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is fantastic! I had never stayed at a boutique hotel before. It combines the charm of unique architecture, located on the beach, near best shopping, central to everything and an amazing view from all angles of the hotel! This hotel is all about relaxing and take it all in.
The building has white walls (Spanish style), unconventional, displaying several levels of designs, like an accordion cascading down to the hot pool/Jacuzzi, where one can warm up, have a mojito or two, while watching the beach with the bluest of oceans! Lovely and relaxing!
The owner of this hotel has 4 or 5 more all in the same area. The advantage of a boutique hotel is that one can get all the great service and attention of a small hotel, have the regal structure and location and not miss anything one would find in a Hilton hotel for example. REALLY! I prefer this hotel for this type of vacation, on the beach. Every corner of the architecture is an object of art. I do appreciate that, especially on vacation. At the front desk they keep at all times a large container of water, mixed with fruits (they changed fruits and spices and water everyday, which tastes fantastically and is very relaxing) and it's free off course. They give you a key (don't loose it it will cost you $150 to replace it) which allows you to enter any outside doors in the hotels in the small chain. There is a porter most of times but doors remain locked. If one goes to the beach, there is a back entry with showers, chairs and gadgets so one does not dirty the rest of the hotel. Hey also keep a large basket full of beach towels one can take to the beach or jacuzzi and return to another basket for used ones; the staff will take care of them. One is allowed to take chairs to the beach, just need to return them. The hotel inside restaurant is the Niche' restaurant, downstairs and serves breakfast/brunch everyday, including Sundays. Very inexpensive and great food. For lunch they are closed but for dinner it's another story. It becomes this amazing gourmet place, rated #3 top restaurant int he country. an it is expensive but worthy.
There are different levels of rooms. Our room was amazing! It was decorated like an Hawaiian theme/jungle combo, with a view to a large private balcony and we could see the beach and wake up with the sound of the ocean...It is all very quiet, no one disturbed us. The decoration and furniture was class A and so was the TV set and service. It s not possible to describe how incredible this hotel was, but I have been around the world and this is right there on top. It is not that expensive either, for about 10 days I paid about $1200. We had any service we needed or wanted we just had to ask (or not, they seemed to know how to please us). The staff was very helpful in setting us up for tours, get taxi cabs for us and provide us with tips on what to see. They were very eager to please. They all speak English which makes it easy to communicate, although we speak fluent Spanish. There is no fitness room, what one has is the beach where a lot of people (locals and tourists) do yoga, tai chi, different exercises including with instructors if you choose that route, right on the beach in front of the hotel)

I was there with my daughter, but this place is fantastic for honeymoons or any romantic getaway without paying the high prices of the Caribbean! A great find I believe.

Room Tip: If you can get room 306, the best with an incredible view and private balcony where you can see both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a beautiful, charming little hotel! But what confusion! We had initially booked the Wind Chimes, but as they were having trouble with their air conditioner, they moved us to the Acacia, which is closer to the beach by a block, and we were told, quite an upgrade. They had a little trouble, moving us to a different room mid-vacation, which was a hassle, as they had overbooked the room we were in, which I thought to be bad customer service and is the reason I don't give the hotel four stars. Other than that, access to the restaurant and beach is nice and the views are pretty, too. I just would have liked to stay in our first room rather than change as this caused a lot of unnecessary stress. Make sure you confirm your dates of booking from hotels.com with the hotel you end up in not just the one you booked because the acacia only had record of our stay at the wind chimes for half of our vacation! Finally, the hotel is very well-connected with local tours and spas so you have the best stay possible. I would book it again but not with hotels.com to avoid the length of stay mishap and having to switch rooms (I still don't see why they couldn't have just moved the other people to our second room rather than uproot someone else's (our) stay, but whatever). Generally clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked here 6 months in advance during the busy San Sebastián Festival weekend. We were anxious to stay here based on the TA reviews.

When we arrived, we were told the hotel had over booked and that we had been moved to their sister property, the Wind Chime, just down the street.

Due to this crazy busy weekend in San Juan, we knew we didn't have much choice but to go with it, since most area hotels were full. We were disappointed when we had to leave the Acacia, and even more disappointed when we saw our new room. You can read my review on the Wind Chime page. We travel often and have stayed in a wide range of hotels- from budget to luxury, and are generally easy to please, but this was the worst we've ever seen.

If you book a room at the Acacia, I would recommend calling a day or 2 before arriving to confirm you have a room there. The hotel is in a great location, just a block or so from a very nice beach and a short walk to the Condado area. I wish we would've gotten to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Acacia 6 months in advance. When we arrived we were told that they were over booked and moved us to the Wind Chime, another hotel they own a block further away from the beach. The Acacia looked really nice, but since we spent less than 5 minutes in the lobby and were then moved to the Wind Chime, I can only base my review on our experience. Trust me when I say, you do not want to stay in the Wind Chime. Ants, standing water, no air, NO GOOD. The only good things about the place are that it's close to the beach and the staff are great. So, book here at your own peril... Look for my review of the Wind Chime on the Wind Chime listing here on TA.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were very happy with our stay in Acacia. Its not right on the beach but its a stone throw away. Staff were very helpful and the accomodation was clean and bed comfortable. It was about a 15-20 min walk from center of Condado where most of the restaurants and bars are. Never once felt unsafe in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed at the Acacia Hotel with my wife in December following a cruise which concluded in San Juan. The hotel was generally clean and we found the service to be very helpful with things like advice on dining and site seeing and had no issues with our check in and check out. The bed was quite comfortable and room amenities, while limited, were ample given the style of hotel this is. Prior to booking the room I read the previous T.A reviews about the check in issues and for this reason I emailed them a week prior to ensure that a room was confirmed and took a copy of the printed reply with us just in case. As it turned out we did not experience any problems other than having to wait for the room to be cleaned. (As we arrived quite early in the morning) We walked most places in the neighbourhood for dinner etc and did not have the concerns of the previous reviewers about crime or safety. Indeed were surprised at the amount of police we saw around but this was just our experience and perspective. We had only one meal at the restaurant, breakfast, which was quite nice. However, the dinner menu did appear quite over priced considering the competition at other restaurants 10 minutes walk up the road.

Problems we did encounter were noise from the pool area and the airconditioner. We stayed in a room that opened up onto the pool. Unfortunately, we had inconsiderate neighbours who decided to taken a drunken swim at midnight keeping us awake for several hours. Simialrly, the airconditioner was quite noisy but certainly not the worst I have experienced. Travellers should also be aware that the hotel is some distance from Old San Juan. You need to be prepared to walk to a bus stop and catch a bus (Which are not the most reliable) or drive there in a rental car.

Overall, I would describe this hotel as a quite good and that it met our expectations - namely a moderately priced alternative to a chain hotel. If you are wanting / expecting a Hilton / Marriott style experience it may not be for you. However, if you are wanting a more reasonably priced smaller hotel with good service I would recommend the Acacia.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acacia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Boutique Hotel

Also Known As:
Acacia Seaside Hotel
Acacia Seaside San Juan
Address: 8 Taft St | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Acacia Boutique Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acacia Boutique Hotel is a restored villa located in Condado, San Juan, literally steps away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. Free WIFI is available in the Rooms. Niche is the restaurant in the hotel that serves breakfast and dinner. It is one of the finest dining experiences in the San Juan area. After dinner enjoy a relaxing soak in Puerto Rico's largest Jacuzzi/Spa while sipping on a mojito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Acacia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acacia Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.