We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service, Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Acacia Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Acacia Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Taft St | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Cincinnati
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service, Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had one night layover in Puerto Rico and stayed at the Acacia Boutique Hotel. We booked it through their website and got a great rate. It was about a $23 cab ride to the airport. We got recommendations for dinner (we walked further into Condado which was a short, nice walk), ate breakfast at the hotel, and got a lot of really helpful advice from the staff, they were very accommodating. The hotel was really nice, our room was really cute, we had a balcony overlooking the pool, we could also see the ocean. It was a very clean property, had lots of neat local artwork around, had a really neat feel to the place. The restaurant offers breakfast that is a nice price, very reasonable and a good selection of food. I wish we were staying in Puerto Rico longer just to stay at this hotel, it was really nice. Be careful if you have a hard time with steps as there are a lot of them throughout the property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    120
    47
    28
    25
See reviews for
38
250
38
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night on December 9, 2012 before heading into the central mountains. The staff was so welcoming and the setting so quaint, stylish, and comfortable, that we immediately wished we had more time to spend there. Beautiful painted tropical-themed murals, a genuinely caring, considerate staff, and perfect location one block from the beach and one block from a main street great for walking day or night to restaurants, cafes, and shopping areas, make this boutique hotel not only a wonderful environment to spend time during a visit to San Juan, but also at a very affordable price. Attention to detail in room decor, paintings and light fixtures, as well as an incredible heated endless-pool style 'hot tub,' evoke an instant feeling of relaxation. We are looking forward to staying here on our next visit!
Theresa and Slava, Boston, MA

Room Tip: Though our room was on the first floor, it was surprisingly quiet. If we visit for longer than one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

What a wonderful place. The ambiance of the hotel is outrageous! Clean, quaint and all amenities are at your fingertips. The location is awesome, right on a pet friendly beach and in the neighborhood of Ocean Park. Walking distance to great food, shops and groceries. The staff, especially Susana were incredible. She helped us with everything we were looking for, interpreted for us, gave us directions, looked up things for us on the internet and just generally made our visit perfect! The restaurant Niche, is top notch and a must if even only for breakfast. Take a walk down the street to the local Kaslata bakery for a yummy pastry and a great cup of cafe con leche. The giant hot tub was a joy in the evening and the pool at the sister hotel is just steps away. We cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: Double bed unit facing the beach and the hot tub has great patio and view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is our first time in San Juan and my husband and I stayed at the Acacia Boutique Hotel on the 24th of November for one night before our cruise. We were initially booked at their other hotel At Wind Chimes Hotel, unfortunately we were told that the AC in the room was not working, so they booked us at the Acacia Hotel, which is a block across the street. This really worked in our favour because it is such a lovely hotel, located almost on the beach, in a residential area and is close to some nice eating places. The hotel also provides you with beach towels and chairs. The hotel has a restaurant, unfortuately we did not get a chance to eat there, nor did we have the chance to try the jacuzzi which really looked inviting . We tried some local cuisine at the hotel recommended place and breakfast too next day was recommed by the staff. Both recommendations were great.

The folks at the reception area Paco and Michelle were really friendly which added much warmth that a five star hotel lacks. We have already recommended San Juan as a tourist destination and the hospitality of Acacia to friends and family. We do hope to return to San Juan and to Acacia .

Room Tip: Room with a balcony, beach and hot tub view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier Ca
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Acacia Boutique Hotel is tucked away on a residential street in the Condado district of San Juan. It is small, quiet and tastefully decorated. The staff was friendly and helpful and answered all of our questions. They even printed our boarding passes for our return trip. The hotel is quiet and 2 minute walk to a lovely beach. The pool was comfortable as was the rooftop sitting area. Acacia is relaxing and inviting.We would return without a doubt. One suggestion: the hotel has wifi, but the signal was very weak. I was able to check email, but other functions were not possible. Would it be too much to ask to invest in a newer, stronger router?
Another plus: it's within walking distance of upscale bars and restaurants on Ashford, but also the funkier district of Calle Loiza.

Room Tip: It's on a very quiet street. The first floor, near the restaurant and lobby might be noisy, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

2 days before hopping on a cruise leaving out of San Juan I stayed at the Acacia Seaside Inn. I had booked a small room for myself, and my travel partner opted for an upper level room with a balcony overlooking the jacuzzi. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty...and like family - at the same time. Michelle was excellent. She gave us a tour of the hotel and set up a rain forest tour through Natural Wonders PR (FANTASTIC!!!!). The rooms are simple, spotless, and the bed was heavenly (I miss the shower too). The craziness of Condado is about a 10 minute walk (I highly recommend Pinky's for breakfast or lunch). The beach is a one minute walk, and it's beautiful. There's a roofdeck for sunning, and the pool at their sister hotel is available for use, and only a block away. Oh, and Niche is EXCELLENT! The service was great, the coconut infused vodka martinis = perfection, and the food (we tried all the appetizers only over 2 nights) was outstanding. The Acacia ROCKS!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We decided to stay at this boutique hotel the night before our cruise. We prefer locally owned hotels vs the big resorts. If you are looking for a hotel with lots of action, casino, etc. this is not your hotel. If you are looking for a small hotel with a local flavor just steps from the beach - this is a great hotel.

First the bad... There were a total of 8 of us - 4 couples. We had reserved the rooms several months in advance and used 2 credit cards to make the reservations. We were assured we could change the credit cards so each couple could pay for their own room once we checked in. (he person taking the reservation was great! She helped us select the right room and sent us all email confirmations.)

When we check in it was quite the ordeal. The printer was not working so the receptionist had to go to the their sister hotel to switch everything out. It was a really looooong process. In the end my credit card was charged for 3 rooms instead of one. They fixed it all before we checked out but it was a hassle.

Second issue is the parking. Be prepared if you rent a car - there is very little space to park. We had a great driver how nimbly parked our large van we rented so we dealt with it.

The great: The rooms are very nice. We had rooms 302, 304, 202 and 204. All had large balconies and we loved the local decor. You could see the ocean if you looked past the building behind the hotel. The hotel was within a block of the beach which was very convenient for a walk along the beach at night. The best part was the hot-tub! It was huge and just great place to relax.

Overall it was a great stay and we plan to stay here again! We did not eat at the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acacia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Boutique Hotel

Address: 8 Taft St | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Acacia Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acacia Boutique Hotel is a restored villa located in Condado, San Juan, literally steps away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. Free WIFI is available in the Rooms. Niche is the restaurant in the hotel that serves breakfast and dinner. It is one of the finest dining experiences in the San Juan area. After dinner enjoy a relaxing soak in Puerto Rico's largest Jacuzzi/Spa while sipping on a mojito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Acacia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Seaside Hotel
Acacia Seaside San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acacia Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.