We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The basics is good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added San Juan Beach Hotel to your Saves list
San Juan Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The basics is good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel has a great location in the heart of the Condado district. Rooms are simple but very ample and clean. The view from the ocean side is spectacular. This property lies at water's edge and close to excellent restaurants, beaches, parks, and stores. Take a walk to either side of this hotel and you will find endless atractions in this tourist district. The reservation and check-in process was smooth and efficient. The pool area sits right on the ocean making it very relaxing. The rates are amazingly low for the amenities and specially the location. If you come to San Juan on a budget, this place is adequate.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    52
    74
    68
    182
See reviews for
54
118
34
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I just arrived and already want to leave... The rooms are terrible, smelly, outdated, carpets are stained and dirty, in one rooms the phone didn't work, in the other there was a brokern door, the floors are also broken, the smell of humidity is overwhelming... I asked to be moved of room 3 times! There is no washing mashines avaliable for guests. The only good thing in here was the service. There was this one employee who did everything he could to make us feel a bit comfortable. I don't recomend it...

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We flew in to San Juan on October 31 for a cruise leaving out November 1. We stayed, overnight, at the San Juan Beach Hotel.

The hotel is older and has a Boutique style charm to it. The rooms were large and clean. It has beach access, and is located in the middle of Ashford so everything is within walking distance. Restaurants are close by. We ate at Waikiki Seafood and Oyster Bar (see review on that there). If you rent a car, the hotel does not have a parking lot. You can pay to park in the lot across the street, or valet at $18-$19 a day. There is a restaurant onsite. While we didn't visit it, it was relatively busy Halloween night.

Towels are stocked at a minimum. Our room was stocked with two large towels, one hand towel and two washclothes. We didn't notice until late and when we went to ask for additional, we were told they didn't have any. The beds are more firm than soft, and the pillows about the same. The room is a little dated, and there were a few stains on the carpet. The room, however, was clean. There was also a mini fridge in our room.

Note: The elevators have a downward sloped entrance. We found that to be a little odd in design and it was a little difficult to maneuver large luggage in and out.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

The shower had mold and broken tiles. There was mildew smell every where. Tiles were broken around pool. Sad that such a lovely location for a low grade hotel. It needs a complete over haul. No towels or soap without asking.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

First of all arriving at the airport in san juan right away the people didnt give good customer service. The puerto ricans in the city everywhere me and my wife went were rude and not friendly. the hotel was ok but the food wasnt. my advice is that DONT GO TO PUERTO RICO.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

After I made my reservation one month before and called again the day before arriving, the day of my arrival they told me that they were sold out. I asked to talk to a supervisor and the employee which said his name was Raymond told me that I have to call reservation department on week days which I explained I did it the day before. Also, they told me that they can't reimburse the money after I call reservation department. I keep calling them and still giving me running around yet. Actually, it happened last weekend. Good location but bad/mediocre administration and customer service.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else. Anything will be better than this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

This place was a rollercoaster for us. We got married here in October 2014 and most of our guests stayed here as recommended by our horrible wedding planner (that's whole another story).
First the good. Alejandro is awesome! He tried so hard to be accommodating and was super friendly and bi-lingual. Unfortunately he has to deal with a facility that is not in very good shape. The reception hall on the second floor was nice and pretty spacious which is where we partied after the wedding. Plus the price was super cheap. We got a great rate of less than $70 a night! But you do get what you pay for.
Which leads me in to the bad. The place is run down, the ocean side is rusty and beat up, the lobby was not mopped very often. The pool was dirty. The place had rolling power outages (we had 4 over the 4 days we were there). The elevators are HORRIBLE! One of the elevator's fell off into the lobby. Yes, I said the door fell off. My bride's uncle got stuck in the other elevator for 45 minutes. My advice is to take the stairs. THERE IS NO BEACH HERE! We were lied to that we were going to be able to have our ceremony on the beach. The tide comes in so high all day that there is no place to do anything, plus there are huge rocks everywhere. Thankfully there is a public park next door to have our wedding.

If you are on a budget then give them a shot. Their staff is friendly but too many things outweigh their friendliness. I wish we would have visited before letting our planner screw us.

Room Tip: There is only one room with a balcony and it's room 311. It's a big balcony but with a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Juan Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Beach Hotel

Address: 1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Juan Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten-story Beachfront Hotel located in The Condado Area and all rooms have a view of the majestic Atlantic Ocean or the romantic Condado Lagoon. The hotel has an intimate setting with friendly staff ready to serve our guests. Here, each guest is an additional member of the family. We are located only minutes from the island’s "Golden Mile" in Hato Rey; the Caribbean’s largest shopping mall, Plaza Las Americas; and the Historic District of Old San Juan. In our area, you can walk to the finest restaurants, casinos, and high end boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Juan Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.