We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would have said the room was ok, but...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Juan Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Juan Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 47 hotels in San Juan
St Thomas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I would have said the room was ok, but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The (very slow) reception made a point of telling me when I checked in that the room I reserved was the best room: "executive"! The "executive ocean view" was all of $2 more than the regular rooms, and the room was far from posh (bits of wall lying on the floor, outlets hanging out of the wall) I would have said the room (shabby as it was) was ok, really, except that the tv didn't work. After a couple days and many visits & phone calls to the reception, I ended up with 3 fuzzy channels (weddings, oprah, and a local PR channel); the crappy response from the reception and poor customer service is inexcusable and the reason for this poor review. The location in Condado, which is very safe day & night, is great, though, and you can wander up to the Conrad to get services (shuttles, taxis, info, food) you won't get here. And the ocean view is terrific. If you can get a room here for a significant discount to all the other Condado hotels, then go for it. Avoid weekends if you don't like very loud techno music in your room all night. I did get a lot of amusement over wondering what the other rooms are like if mine was the best!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    48
    67
    68
    178
See reviews for
53
113
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knox, Indiana, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel is under extensive renovations and as a result may not be perfect. However the staff worked very hard to accommodate us. No hotel can satisfy everyone all the time but at least they try. The service and the restaurant was very good. Unfortunately my wife came down with a cold and the restaurant staff prepared her a wonderful chicken soup even though it was not on the menu. If you are looking for nice rooms, great service on the ocean then this is the place to stay. We were never hindered by the construction crew or renovation activity. We made three trips to San Juan during our vacation to P.R.and stayed at the San Juan Beach Hotel each time. Thank you Gabriel Santiago for your personal attention.

Thom & Sally Morin

Room Tip: Request newly renovated ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you never go beyond the lobby (which is beautiful), you will be fine. Unfortunately I had the misfortune of having to, and it was one of the worst hotel experiences of my life. This property has a lot of potential, and it is in a great location, but the renovations needs to go beyond the lobby. It is interesting looking back at the photos they post on their website, that should be illegal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Rude staff... Outdated furnishings nice lobby but it smells like raw crab....I could understand if they had a decent dinning facility but the elevator smells as bad as the lobby..... Great placement as far as location.... But damn.... Take some pride in your work...... Please......nula bueno!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

It was a last minute booking , just for one night , if I had more time would find out before we arrived that this place is falling apart ... 2 more people around the lobby cancelling their reservation because of the hotel condition ... but location is great and the restaurant inside (not related to the hotel) is great either . Need a complete remodeling .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

The most clean well painted modern and sleekest lobbies in the world!! Lol. My room faced the ocean GREAT! The AC wall unit dripped and DRIPPED!! Soaked the carpet of my room!! No refrigerator or liquor cabinets! Take a stroll down my dark and merky mildew multiplying 8th floor hallway and by the ice machine you'll see microwave. Just in case you wanted to warm that baby's bottle!!
BE WARNED the are gonna charge you $25 per day you stay as a room charge!! But you get it back the day you leave.
My room had a desk a stained refurbed office chair. My room had Drape rods BUT NO DRAPES!! Sad sad hotel!! If you've booked here REBOOK REBOOK !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

By looking at the pictures, me and my girlfriend assumed this hotel would be decent for the price..Booyy were we fooled!!! The staff was not helpful when we asked about nearby attractions, it is impossible to enter any beach nearby as they are dirty and filled with boulders. Also, you cannot find any typical Puerto Rican dish anywhere nearby. The restaurant in the hotel closes super early and they do not serve breakfast.To to it off the people staying at the room across from ours were smoking Pott that filled the air of the entire place!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Juan Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Beach Hotel

Address: 1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Juan Beach Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten-story Beachfront Hotel located in The Condado Area and all rooms have a view of the majestic Atlantic Ocean or the romantic Condado Lagoon. The hotel has an intimate setting with friendly staff ready to serve our guests. Here, each guest is an additional member of the family. We are located only minutes from the island’s "Golden Mile" in Hato Rey; the Caribbean’s largest shopping mall, Plaza Las Americas; and the Historic District of Old San Juan. In our area, you can walk to the finest restaurants, casinos, and high end boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your San Juan Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.