We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best kept secret in san juan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best kept secret in san juan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

from the time i checked in, nothing but the best service. although the hotel doesn't have a casino or is not on the beach, the service, hotel staff, amenities, and the value more than makes up for it.
the staff were extremely friendly, courteous, and attentive. the rooms are hip yet comfortable and well kept. if there was anything we needed, like a cab, directions to a attraction, a toothbrush, or even a sewing kit; they made sure to get it for us.
Shouts out to the best staff, especially the Peter, Wanda, Carlos, Elezar, and Primo. (by the way ladies, the male staff here are sexy and muy caliente!)
we had friends that stayed in a " top notch" hotel but when they visited us at the hotel they said they wished they booked here instead. The staff, free breakfast, and amenties won them over.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    500
    109
    22
    13
See reviews for
306
663
125
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

I knew from the other reviews that my stay here would be a good idea and I was right. We checked in around 2 PM and it was smoother than I expected since we arrived earlier than the 3 PM check in. Margarita greeted us with a smile and a warm cookie and she was awesome! We requested a larger room and she took care of our request immediately. Antonio was awesome in giving us the best spots to eat and visit. He was our "GPS on feet". Gilberto was another person that I cannot forget to mention. He's a breathe of fresh air....very polite.
Overall this hotel is comfortable with great customer service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

From the moment I arrived, it was clear that the goal of the staff was to ensure my comfort. Every question was answered pleasantly, help was freely offered, and I even got a call from the manager to make sure that my room was satisfactory. While the room itself was on the small side, it was cleverly appointed to be most comfortable and utilitarian at the same time. The bathroom was a fun surprise---certainly a departure from the ordinary!
Thank you, DoubleTree!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

We only stayed one night before we went to Vieques, we chose the Doubletree because of the reviews on this site and the value.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was small, but very nicely appointed and clean; a most effective use of the space. The courtyard pool and whirlpool looked amazing, but it was raining, so we didn't go in.

When we come back to San Juan, this is on the top of my list for places to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

The hotel is beautiful. Very contemporary. The staff is wonderful. They are helpful, knowledgable and pleasant. They gym was excellent. The pool and spa open 24 hours. Very clean hotel!!!! A 24 hr grocery store across the street. Art museum a 5 min walk. The bristro in the hotel was expensive for the quality. Under the Trees across the lot was a great atmosphere and a good value for the quality. Very close the airport and the cruise ports. Tours booked through the hotel were fantastic. We told them what we wanted they did everything, we just showed up in the lobby at the time they told us. I would stay here again as a family vacation or just as a get away for two. Oh and the warm chocolate chip cookies are great at check in.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

I came to this hotel since year 2002; I stayed here for business purposes at least six to eight times per year (four days minimum, each stay)
As a guest, I supported the entire remodeling of the hotel that took more than two years because the excellent location and great customer service at the front desk that made me feel like at home. When the hotel become Hilton (End of year 2008) I stayed until today’s date four times and I can confirm the reservations process doesn't work good or better said it is not the same as it was in the past. For my last stay I called five times the past week from the states to the Hotel in Puerto Rico to make the reservations and after greeting the person who answered the phone he transfer the call to reservations. Them put me on hold, and after long waiting (more than five minutes), I hung-up and called back again and again. I thought that they were very busy that day and called back the day after and the waiting was the same, so I called back and inform the person who answered the phone what was going on and she transferred my call to the Hilton reservations center in the US, where I finally booked my reservations. Because I felt loyal to the hotel I called back to Puerto Rico asking for the general Manager Mr. Yodil to inform him what was happening, and after confirming that he was at the office I requested one of his assistants to transfer my call to him. He didn't take the call, I called back him twice presuming to speak with him and left a voice message asking for a call back, and he never did. When I checked in on, September 14th, 2009 I asked for him to inform about this but again he IGNORED me. This is the reason why I am writing this review. In general I am satisfied with the hotel, specially I like the location and the front desk customer service is outstanding; but as a person, I don’t feel good when the Manager ignores me not one but more than four times. I will do my research to find a hotel close to this area to switch for next stays and I really recommend the travelers to test the reservation process calling to [--]

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 23, 2009
Dear TripAdvisor User,

We truly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and I am genuinely heartbroken that as a repeat guest you would depart our hotel with the feelings that you have expressed. I personally want to apologize for the inconvenience that you have mention. I try to make my self as accessible possible to all of our guests and actually encourage them to contact my via e-mail yodil.caban@hilton.com to make the arrangements to welcome them to our hotel. I am so sorry that I was not aware of your situation before, as I would have defiantly contacted you and taken the necessary measures to fix or improve the situation.

I am truly sorry that you had this negative experience and hope that you will see this as an isolated incident. I can assure you that this does not represent the efforts and willingness to serve of our entire staff. I thank you for you patience and understanding. When possible please contact me to see how we can offset this feeling.

Always at your service,

Yodil Caban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

Went with my husband for the first 2 nights of our honeymoon. It was an excellent choice. Our check-in was late after the wedding and we had no trouble with the process. Front desk clerk was actually waiting for us. Quick check-in, no hassle. The room was in excellent cleanliness state. Very comfortable. Only thing we thought was that refrigerator would be stocked and it was not. No biggie. Supermarket across the street very handy. Little misshap with the keycard and it was fixed very quickly. Staff very friendly. We didn’t go to pool or restaurants but they looked in good condition. Check out was as quick and easy as check-in. Overall, we loved our stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.